ARCHIVED – Land Matters Group Steering Committee – Conference Call Summary – 12 December 2013

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Conference Call SUMMARY
Land Matters Group Steering Committee (LMGSC)
Thursday, 12 December 2013
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Teleconference Call

  • Isabelle Bouffard – Union des producteurs agricoles du Québec (UPA)
  • Pierre Lemieux – Union des producteurs agricoles du Québec (UPA)
  • Deborah Eastlick – Alberta Energy Regulator (AER)
  • Elvin Gowman – Farmers' Advocate Office (BC)
  • Jamie Kereliuk – National Energy Board
  • Beth  Lau (for Barry Jardine) – Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
  • Greg Northey – Canadian Federation of Agriculture
  • Gavin Smith – Westcoast Environmental Law
  • Zeeshan Syed – Alberta Energy Regulator
NEB support:
  • Lorna Patterson, Thea Wingert, Marie McKenney, Carol Mullet
  • Shirley Benson – Metis National Council
  • Jason Laronde – Union of Ontario Indians
  • Jeff Paetz – The Canadian Energy Pipeline Association (CEPA)
  • Gary Redmond – Synergy Alberta
  • Philippe Reicher – The Canadian Energy Pipeline Association (CEPA)
Agenda Item, Decisions / Actions / Messages, Updates on Decisions/Actions




1. Welcome / Introductions

New Steering Committee members:

  • Gavin Smith replacing Brenda Belak (West Coast Environmental Law)
  • Tim Church will be replacing Deborah Eastlick (AER)
    Zeeshan Syed will be Tim’s back-up


2. Confirm proposed agenda

Agenda confirmed


3. Round table updates

Updates received from SC members

Message – NEB to continue to work with LMG SC members in testing the Application to Participate form.


4. Approval of 2013/14 Workplan

Decision – Steering Committee approved 2013-14 Workplan with one minor edit.

Action – NEB to post 2013-14 Workplan on NEB website.


5. Proposed meeting schedule for 2014

Decision – 2014 meeting schedule will be confirmed at the 9 January 2014 LMG SC meeting in Calgary.


6. Proposed items for 9 January 2014 meeting

Decision – A working session on the NEB Proposed Changes to Regulations for Damage Prevention to be part of the agenda.

Decision – A working session on the Land Agent Code of Conduct to be part of the agenda.


7. Review Action Items

See items 6 and 8


8. Closing

Decision – NEB will provide the most current links for Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMPS) to the LMG SC.

Message – LMG SC members would like more information on how AMPS will be communicated to the public.

Message – SC would like an updated briefing on abandonments and Company accountability and commitment.

Message – SC would like to know if Companies have committed to bilingual filings requests. For example, pan- Canadian projects and SAM COMS.

Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations (National Energy Board)

Decision – the NEB will follow-up with the LMG SC on AMPS questions.

Meeting notes prepared by Thea Wingert and Marie McKenney

Date modified: