Land Matters Group Advisory Committee (LMG AC) Minutes – 30 September 2020

Videoconference Meeting
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
10:00 am to 11:30 am (MST)

1. In Attendance

In Attendance

Amy Jarek, Chair and VP, Communications and Engagement
Dana Cornea, Director, Stakeholder Engagement
Carole Léger-Kubeczek, LMG Project Manager

Canadian Federation of Agriculture

Lynn Jacobson
Frank Annau

Canadian Energy Pipeline Association

Alisha Bhura
Tim Robillard (Pembina Pipeline Corporation)
Graeme Wright (TC Energy Corporation)

International Right of Way Association

Brodie Allen

Alberta Farmers’ Advocate Office

Michelle Del Colle

Natural Ressources Canada

Renée Bazinet

Alberta Energy Regulator

Fiona LeBlanc

Canada Energy Regulator

Gitane De Silva
Lisa Zaplachinski
Anne-Marie Erickson
Marc Boucher
Paul Georgison
Céline Sirois

Meeting Items

1. Welcome/Introductions

2. Review of May 26, 2020 Meeting Minutes and Agenda for this meeting

  • March 18, 2020 Meeting Minutes approved
  • Agenda approved

3. Gitane De Silva, the CER’s new CEO

  • Following her introduction, the CEO shared brief remarks pertaining to her priorities for the organization, including the relevance of the LMG and the importance for its members to work collaboratively towards the resolution of common challenges facing landowners and energy companies.

4. Members Roundtable Updates

  • Frank Annau and Lynn Jacobson will be meeting with CER staff to review and discuss elements of the CFA Standing Policy with regards to energy infrastructure.
  • Renée Bazinet mentioned that NRCan is reviewing the 2021 NGTL System Expansion submission.

5. CER Updates

  • Dana Cornea is moving to a new position and Paul Georgison will be acting in the interim.
  • The CER put in place COVID-19 safeguards to protect CER inspection staff and on-site company workers.
  • The Indigenous Advisory Committee held its first meeting last month.
  • The Keystone XL Construction Project got underway this summer and the engagement plan and Indigenous Monitoring Program are being implemented.
  • The CER will be launching its updated website on Wednesday, October 1st, 2020.

6. Recruitment to the LMG AC

  • The candidacies of Larry Yurkiw and Sarah McKenzie from Enbridge (a single membership within the Industry category), and Tim Marsh from the Nova Scotia Federation of Agriculture and Drew Spoelstra from the Ontario Federation of Agriculture (a membership each within the Landowner Association and Landowner Advocacy category) were unanimously approved.

7. LMG AC 2020-2021 Work Plan

  • Lisa Zaplachinski presented the Land Matters Guide, a publication that replaces the former Landowner Guide.
  • Anne-Marie Erickson facilitated a discussion about the approaches to address the Work Plan (WP) issues with the support of Michael Benson and Céline Sirois.

8. Follow up items and next meeting

  • The members agreed to bring the revised Land Matters Guide and WP back to their respective organization for review. Members will share their views on the WP at a subsequent meeting in a month time. Industry members committed to provide a preliminary list of best practices with the LMG AC. The objective is to more clearly define each element of the WP with concrete examples illustrating the different perspectives.
  • The CER will provide a set of questions and a list of relevant documents for members to use in their discussions with respective organizations.
  • The CER will set a meeting date one month from when a discussion with the missing and new members can be completed.

9. Adjournment

  • Meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m. MST.
Date modified: