Safety Culture

The National Energy Board puts safety and environmental protection at the forefront of its responsibilities in protecting Canadians. The Board achieves this by taking a leadership role to improve awareness and drive fundamental change when and where it is needed. Safety Culture is a discipline in both the onshore and offshore oil and gas sectors that requires greater understanding and consideration in order to build robust defenses against serious incidents.

Culture influences what people see, hear, feel, and say. Perhaps most importantly, it influences the decisions and actions (behaviors) of people in an organization, and these behaviors ultimately drive safety outcomes and performance.

North American Regulators Working Group on Safety Culture

The North American Regulators Working Group on Safety Culture is a group of oil and gas regulators (offshore, onshore, and pipeline transmission) that is interested in advancing safety culture as an essential aspect of oil and gas exploration, production and transportation activities, and as a catalyst to improved safety and environmental protection.

The Working Group is currently comprised of the United States’ Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement, the United States’ Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Agency, the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board, the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board, the Alberta Energy Regulator, the British Columbia Oil and Gas Commission, and Canada’s National Energy Board.

Communiqué

 

Date modified:

Culture de la sécurité

L’Office national de l’énergie met la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses responsabilités. Pour ce faire, il montre la voie vers une plus grande sensibilisation et l’adoption de changements de fond là où ils sont requis. La culture de sécurité est une discipline des secteurs pétrolier et gazier, sur la terre ferme et au large des côtes, qui exige une compréhension et une considération plus grandes sont nécessaires afin de se prémunir vigoureusement contre les incidents graves.

La culture de la sécurité influence ce que les personnes voient, entendent, ressentent et expriment. Elle influe, par-dessus tout peut-être, sur les décisions et actions (comportements) des personnes dans une organisation, ces comportements déterminant les résultats et le rendement en matière de sécurité.

Le groupe de travail des organismes de réglementation nord-américains sur la culture de sécurité

Le groupe de travail des organismes de réglementation nord-américains sur la culture de sécurité réunit des organismes de réglementation du secteur pétrolier et gazier (exploration et production extracôtières ou sur la terre ferme ainsi que transport par pipeline) qui souhaitent que la culture de sécurité devienne un aspect inhérent aux activités précitées, un catalyseur de l’amélioration de la sécurité et de la protection de l’environnement.

À l’heure actuelle, le groupe de travail réunit le Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement et la Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Agency, deux organismes américains, alors que du côté canadien y sont présents l’Office Canada – Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers, l’Office Canada – Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador des hydrocarbures extracôtiers, l’Alberta Energy Regulator, la British Columbia Oil and Gas Commission et l’Office national de l’énergie.

Communiqué

Date de modification :