National Energy Board Safety Advisory – NEB SA 2016-01A2 – Pipeline Fitting Materials Quality Assurance

National Energy Board Safety Advisory – NEB SA 2016-01A2 – Pipeline Fitting Materials Quality Assurance [PDF 160 KB]

File OF-Surv-Gen 11
12 May 2017

To:

All companies under National Energy Board jurisdiction
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
Provincial and Territorial Regulators

National Energy Board Amended Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2016-01A2
Pipeline Fitting Materials Quality Assurance

The attached, Safety Advisory SA 2016-01A2 is an amendment to SA 2016-01A that was issued 12 April 2016. This amendment provides additional detail on measures taken by manufacturers to improve quality assurance for fittings.

The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) expects regulated companies to demonstrate a proactive commitment to continual improvement in safety, security and environmental protection, and to promote a positive safety culture as part of their management systems.

Safety Advisories are issued periodically in order to improve the oil and gas industry’s awareness of an identified safety or environmental concern with the goal of preventing incidents from occurring. A Safety Advisory also serves to further highlight NEB requirements, and conveys the Board’s expectation that regulated companies take appropriate action to mitigate any potential impacts to people or the environment.

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Pipeline Integrity personnel at the Board through our toll free number at 1-800-899-1265.

Yours truly,

Original signed by

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment


SAFETY ADVISORY

Pipeline Materials Quality Assurance

Background

The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) is aware of instances of pipe and componentsFootnote 1 not meeting material specifications on pipelines under NEB or other regulatory bodies’ jurisdiction. In the cases examined, documentation from the manufacturers indicated that the materials met the required specifications when received by companies. Subsequent testing indicated that some of the pipe and fittingsFootnote 2 did not meet all of the required material specifications. In some instances, the materials were determined to have been a contributing factor to pipeline failure during pressure testing.

Although the cases described below appear to have been isolated, the Board has subsequently identified additional cases on pipelines in Canada and the United States (US). The issue of substandard pipe and fittings entering the market place, and subsequently being installed on pipeline systems, is an industry wide concern, which must be addressed through improved quality assurance (QA) practices.

US Advisory Bulletin on Inconsistent Pipe Material Properties

In 2008, the United States (US) Department of Transportation, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) observed hydrostatic test failures and excessive expansions on a number of pipelines under construction in the US. Upon investigation, PHMSA attributed the cause of the incidents to the installation of pipe with material properties that did not meet specifications.

In 2009, PHMSA issued an advisory bulletin (ADB-09-01) warning of the potential for micro-alloyed high strength line pipe to exhibit inconsistent chemical and mechanical properties, with yield strengths below specified requirements. The advisory also warns that in some cases, the pipe materials may successfully pass a hydrostatic test but still present a future concern.

Canadoil Asia Fitting Case

In December 2010, the NEB was notified of a steel fitting (elbow) that had expanded following a hydrostatic test at a pipeline facility in the US. PHMSA attributed the cause of the elbow expansion to the fitting having a yield strength lower than the specified minimum yield strength. The pipeline operator removed a number of other fittings at the facility for mechanical testing and identified additional fittings with similar characteristics.

The suspect fittings were traced to a manufacturer identified as Canadoil AsiaFootnote 3 with production originating from Thailand. The fittings were manufactured to the Manufacturers Standard Society (MSS) SP-75 Specification for High-Test, Wrought, Butt-Welding Fittings and were documented as having met the specified material requirements on the Material Test Report (MTR). However, due to inadequacies in some processes at the manufacturing plant, not all fittings met the specified material requirements.

Ezeflow Fitting Case

In 2013, a pipeline rupture occurred on a NEB-regulated natural gas pipeline in Alberta. The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its Pipeline Investigation Report on the incident (P13H0107) on 3 November 2015.

Investigations by the TSB, the NEB, and the pipeline operator indicated the pipeline was operating beyond its temperature design limits at the time of failure, thus subjecting the pipe and fittings to a thermal load beyond that used in the pipeline design.

Although low yield strength was not determined to be a contributing cause to the failure, subsequent investigation by the pipeline operator indicated that certain fittings on the pipeline might have yield strengths lower than required. These fittings were reinforced or replaced before the pipeline was put back into service. Although the fitting that failed appears to have met design requirements, it was substandard in that it did not meet the yield strength or thickness specified by the pipeline operating company. Prior to being put into service, the fittings had successfully passed two hydrostatic tests.

Since this incident, the pipeline operating company has increased its manufactured fitting specifications beyond the manufacturing standards acceptable under the current Canadian Standards Association (CSA) Z662-15 Oil and Gas Pipeline Systems to prevent a similar incident from occurring. The fitting manufacturer, Ezeflow, has made improvements to both its manufacturing procedures and its quality assurance (QA) programs. The quality issue appears to be limited to Grade&Nnbsp;550 elbows manufactured for a single customer.

Additional Cases Identified Following Safety Advisory SA 2016-01:

TK Corporation Fittings Case

In September 2012, a fitting manufactured by TK Corporation (TK) was deformed during a hydrostatic test conducted by a pipeline operator at a pump station on a provincially regulated pipeline. As a result, further testing was conducted on additional TK manufactured fittings which resulted in the pipeline operator being unable to identify which fittings potentially did not meet specifications. An engineering assessment was conducted to determine the criteria for replacing over 400 of the fittings.

The pipeline operator that discovered the issue advised other pipeline operators and instituted revisions to internal engineering standards as well as quality assurance procedures. In addition, manufacturers and distributors were provided with improved guidance on the operator’s requirements for materials.

The Board has been informed by TK that once it learned of the hydrostatic test failure, it conducted an investigation into the manufacturing process of its high strength welded fittings and, based upon its findings, it made improvements to its equipment, starting materials and quality assurance programs. TK also confirmed to the Board that it is committed to protecting public safety.

Tecnoforge Fitting Case

In August 2016, the Board was notified by one of its regulated pipeline companies that a fitting (elbow) manufactured by Tecnoforge was found to not meet minimum strength requirements. The fitting was discovered to not meet specifications before being installed. The pipeline operating company proceeded to inspect several hundred similar fittings installed since 2011. All fittings passed hydrostatic testing, so the risk of failure is considered low.  However, all related fittings in pipe assemblies were put under a temperature and pressure hold until fittings were replaced, mitigated or engineering assessments were performed to demonstrate suitability for continued service.

The fitting had been over-tempered due to a QA process issue. Subsequent testing identified localized lower than specified yield strength locations. This localized issue appears to be related to contact of the fittings with other fittings or pallets during the heat treatment process. Preliminary analysis of manufacturing processes indicates that this issue may occur at other manufacturers.

Tecnoforge has confirmed with the Board that safety is its top priority and that it has conducted a joint investigation with the pipeline operator to understand the root cause of any low yield strength areas, to mitigate it and to confirm that it has not impacted the structural integrity of its fittings. Both the pipeline operator and Tecnoforge have advised the Board that in their view, fitness for service and safety of Tecnoforge’s fittings have not been compromised.

Preventive Actions

The Board holds pipeline operators, which includes processing plant operators, responsible for assuring that the pipe and fittings they purchase meet the specifications requested and required for the intended service.

As part of the NEB’s mandate to promote safety and security of pipelinesFootnote 4, a more widespread and proactive approach is being taken. The NEB may issue additional guidance to operators on what changes are expected to be made to operators’ internal specifications and QA programs as more information on the issue is acquired.

Existing industry standards such as CSA Z245.11, CSA Z245.1, ASME B16.9, and MSS SP-75 are essential in preventing the manufacture of pipe and fittings that do not meet required material properties. These standards are living documents that are updated as needed. All standards bodies are receptive to making any required updates to the standards and the Board will continue to communicate with them on this issue. In the interim, the Board expects pipeline operators to develop or enhance their own fitting specifications beyond the current standards, to ensure that the fittings they acquire and install meet material property requirements.

Ongoing safety measures for pipeline companies regulated by the NEB include a requirement for companies to develop specifications for the pipe and components to be used in a pipeline. Companies shall submit specifications to the Board when required to do so, as per section 14 of the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR). In addition, companies must have QA programs in place to ensure that the pipe and components meet the specifications developed by the company, as required by section 15 of the OPR and section 10 of the National Energy Board Processing Plant Regulations. In this case, reviewing MTRs, without independent onsite verification, may not provide sufficient protection against the introduction of components that do not meet specifications. Companies are also expected to exert greater oversight in the manufacturing process directly and/or indirectly through third party QA.

Further Information

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Pipeline Integrity personnel at the Board through a toll free number at 1-800-899-1265.

 

Date modified:

Avis de sécurité modifié SA 2016-01A2 de l’Office national de l’énergie – Assurance de la qualité des matériaux utilisés dans les raccords de pipelines

Avis de sécurité modifié SA 2016-01A2 de l’Office national de l’énergie – Assurance de la qualité des matériaux utilisés dans les raccords de pipelines [PDF 167 ko]

Dossier OF-Surv-Gen 11
Le 12 mai 2017

Destinataires :

Toutes les sociétés du ressort de l’Office national de l’énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Organismes de réglementation provinciaux et territoriaux

Avis de sécurité modifié SA 2016-01A2 de l’Office national de l’énergie
Assurance de la qualité des matériaux utilisés dans les raccords de pipelines

Madame, Monsieur,

L’avis de sécurité SA 2016-01A2 ci-joint est une version modifiée de l’avis SA 2016-01A émis le 12 avril 2016. Cette modification renferme des renseignements supplémentaires sur les mesures prises par les fabricants pour améliorer l’assurance de la qualité des raccords.

L’Office national de l’énergie attend des sociétés réglementées qu’elles démontrent, dans leurs systèmes de gestion, leur engagement proactif à constamment améliorer la sécurité, la sûreté et la protection de l’environnement, ainsi qu’à promouvoir une culture de sécurité positive.

Des avis de sécurité sont publiés périodiquement pour informer le secteur pétrolier et gazier de préoccupations connues en matière de sécurité ou d’environnement, et prévenir les incidents. Les avis de sécurité servent également à faire ressortir les exigences de l’Office et à communiquer ses attentes à l’égard des mesures que doivent prendre les sociétés réglementées pour atténuer les effets potentiels sur les personnes ou l’environnement.

Pour toute question au sujet du présent avis, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel de l’intégrité des pipelines de l’Office au numéro sans frais 1-800-899-1265.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes sincères salutations.

La secrétaire de l’Office,

Original signé par

Sheri Young

Pièce jointe


AVIS DE SÉCURITÉ

Assurance de la qualité des matériaux des pipelines

Mise en contexte

L’Office national de l’énergie est conscient que des conduites et des élémentsNote de bas de page 1 qui ne satisfont pas aux exigences techniques relatives aux matériaux sont installés sur des pipelines assujettis à sa réglementation ou à celle d’autres autorités réglementaires. Dans les cas examinés, les documents émanant des fabricants indiquaient que les matériaux étaient conformes aux exigences quand les sociétés en ont pris possession. Des essais ultérieurs ont démontré que certaines conduites et certains raccordsNote de bas de page 2 ne satisfaisaient pas à toutes les exigences techniques concernant les matériaux. Dans certains cas, il a été déterminé que les matériaux avaient été un facteur contributif de la défaillance du pipeline lors d’essais sous pression.

Même si les cas décrits ci-dessous semblent avoir été isolés, l’Office a par la suite découvert d’autres cas liés à des pipelines au Canada et aux États-Unis. L’introduction sur le marché de conduites et de raccords de qualité inférieure, qui sont ensuite installés sur des réseaux de pipelines, est une préoccupation qui touche l’ensemble de l’industrie et qui doit être corrigée par de meilleures pratiques en matière d’assurance de la qualité.

Avis aux États-Unis sur les propriétés irrégulières des matériaux de conduites

En 2008, l’administration de la sécurité des produits dangereux et des pipelines (PHMSA) du département américain des Transports a constaté l’échec à des essais hydrostatiques et la dilatation excessive d’un certain nombre de pipelines en construction aux États Unis. Après enquête, la PHMSA a attribué les incidents à l’installation d’une conduite dont les propriétés des matériaux ne respectaient pas les exigences techniques.

En 2009, la PHMSA a émis un avis (ADB-09-01) mettant en garde contre la possibilité que des conduites en micro-alliage à forte résistance aient des propriétés chimiques et mécaniques irrégulières et que leur limite d’élasticité soit inférieure aux exigences. L’avis signale également que, dans certains cas, les matériaux des conduites, tout en résistant à un essai hydrostatique, peuvent tout de même être une source de préoccupation.

Raccord de Canadoil Asia

En décembre 2010, l’Office a été informé de la dilatation d’un raccord en acier (coude) après un essai hydrostatique à une installation pipelinière aux États-Unis. Selon la PHMSA, cette dilatation tenait à un raccord dont la résistance était inférieure à la limite d’élasticité minimale précisée. L’exploitant du pipeline a retiré un certain nombre de raccords additionnels dans l’installation pour les soumettre à des essais mécaniques; il a alors décelé d’autres raccords ayant les mêmes caractéristiques.

Les raccords en question avaient été produits en Thaïlande par un fabricant appelé Canadoil AsiaNote de bas de page 3. Ils avaient été fabriqués selon la norme SP-75 de la Manufacturers Standard Society (MSS) visant les raccords en acier à grande résistance soudés bout à bout et avaient été déclarés conformes aux exigences relatives aux matériaux, ce dont faisait état le rapport sur les essais des matériaux. Toutefois, en raison de lacunes dans certains procédés à l’usine, certains raccords ne respectaient pas les exigences concernant les matériaux.

Raccord d’Ezeflow

En 2013, il y a eu une rupture d’un gazoduc réglementé par l’Office en Alberta. Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié son rapport d’enquête de pipeline (P13H0107), le 3 novembre 2015.

Les enquêtes menées respectivement par le BST, l’Office et l’exploitant du gazoduc ont révélé qu’au moment de la rupture, le gazoduc était exploité à une température qui excédait la limite maximale de conception, ce qui a soumis la conduite et les raccords à une charge thermique supérieure à celle utilisée pour la conception du pipeline.

Même si une faible limite d’élasticité n’était pas du nombre des facteurs contributifs de la défaillance, une enquête ultérieure menée par l’exploitant du gazoduc a établi qu’il était possible que la limite d’élasticité de certains raccords sur le gazoduc ait pu être inférieure aux exigences. Ces raccords ont été renforcés ou remplacés avant la remise en service du gazoduc. Bien que le raccord en cause semble avoir satisfait aux exigences de conception, il était de qualité inférieure parce qu’il ne respectait pas les exigences de l’exploitant du gazoduc concernant la limite d’élasticité et l’épaisseur. Avant d’être mis en service, les raccords avaient subi avec succès deux essais hydrostatiques.

Depuis cet incident, l’exploitant du gazoduc a adopté des exigences techniques visant la fabrication des raccords qui sont supérieures aux normes de fabrication acceptables selon la norme Z662-15 de l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) intitulée Réseau de canalisations de pétrole et de gaz, afin d’empêcher qu’un incident similaire ne se reproduise. Le fabricant du raccord, Ezeflow, a apporté des améliorations à ses procédés de fabrication et à ses programmes d’assurance de la qualité. Le problème de qualité semble être limité aux coudes de nuance 550 fabriqués pour un seul client.

Autres cas constatés après la publication de l’avis de sécurité SA 2016-01 :

Raccords de TK Corporation

En septembre 2012, un raccord fabriqué par TK Corporation (TK) s’est déformé durant un essai hydrostatique mené par un exploitant de pipelines, dans une station de pompage reliée à un pipeline sous réglementation provinciale. En dépit d’autres essais réalisés sur d’autres raccords fabriqués par TK, l’exploitant du pipeline n’a pas été en mesure de déterminer quels raccords pouvaient ne pas satisfaire aux exigences techniques. Une évaluation technique a été effectuée pour établir les critères en vue du remplacement de plus de 400 de ces raccords.

L’exploitant du pipeline qui a fait la découverte du problème a informé les autres exploitants de pipelines de la situation et a entrepris une révision de ses normes techniques internes et de ses méthodes d’assurance de la qualité. De plus, des lignes directrices sur ses exigences plus sévères à l’égard des matériaux ont été communiquées aux fabricants et aux distributeurs.

TK a informé l’Office qu’aussitôt informée de l’essai hydrostatique échoué, elle a mené une enquête sur le procédé de fabrication de ses raccords soudés à haute résistance mécanique et qu’au terme de celle-ci, elle a apporté des améliorations à son équipement, notamment aux matériaux et aux programmes d’assurance de la qualité. TK a aussi confirmé à l’Office son attachement à garantir la sécurité de la population.

Raccord de Tecnoforge

En août 2016, une société pipelinière réglementée a informé l’Office qu’elle avait découvert un raccord (coude) fabriqué par Tecnoforge qui ne respectait pas les exigences minimales de résistance. Le constat avait été fait avant d’installer le raccord. La société exploitant le pipeline a alors entrepris d’inspecter plusieurs centaines de raccords semblables installés depuis 2011. Tous les raccords avaient subi avec succès des essais hydrostatiques; on estime donc que le risque de défaillance est faible. Toutefois, tous les raccords connexes des assemblages de pipeline ont été mis en veilleuse relativement à la température et à la pression jusqu’à leur remplacement, l’instauration de mesures d’atténuation ou la réalisation d’évaluations techniques pour confirmer leur aptitude à demeurer en service.

Le raccord avait subi un durcissement excessif en raison d’un problème lié à la méthode d’assurance de la qualité. Des essais ultérieurs ont révélé que la limite d’élasticité était inférieure aux exigences à certains endroits précis. Ce problème localisé semble être attribuable à un contact entre raccords ou avec les palettes durant le procédé de traitement thermique. Une analyse préliminaire du procédé de fabrication indique que ce problème pourrait se produire chez d’autres fabricants.

Tecnoforge a réitéré à l’Office que la sécurité constitue sa priorité et qu’elle a pris part à une enquête mixte avec l’exploitant du pipeline pour comprendre la cause fondamentale des faiblesses d’élasticité, atténuer celles-ci et confirmer qu’elles n’avaient pas d’incidence sur l’intégrité structurale de ses raccords. L’exploitant du pipeline et Tecnoforge ont indiqué à l’Office qu’à leur avis, l’aptitude fonctionnelle et la sécurité des raccords fabriqués par Tecnoforge n’ont pas été compromises.

Mesures préventives

L’Office tient les exploitants de pipelines, ce qui comprend les exploitants d’usines de traitement, responsables de s’assurer que les conduites et les raccords qu’ils achètent respectent les exigences techniques et qu’ils sont aptes à l’utilisation prévue.

Dans le cadre de son mandat qui consiste à promouvoir la sûreté et à la sécurité des pipelinesNote de bas de page 4, l’Office a adopté une approche plus large et proactive. À mesure que d’autres renseignements seront disponibles, l’Office pourrait donner d’autres directives aux exploitants sur les modifications à apporter à leurs exigences techniques et à leurs programmes d’assurance de la qualité.

Les normes existantes dans l’industrie, CSA Z245.11, CSA Z245.1, ASME B16.9 et MSS SP-75, sont essentielles pour prévenir la fabrication de conduites et de raccords dont les propriétés des matériaux ne sont pas conformes. Ces normes sont des documents évolutifs qui sont mis à jour au besoin. Tous les organismes de normes sont disposés à faire les modifications nécessaires à leurs normes, et l’Office demeure en communication avec eux concernant le problème mentionné précédemment. Entre-temps, l’Office compte sur les sociétés exploitant des pipelines pour qu’elles établissent leurs propres exigences techniques relativement aux raccords, ou les rehaussent, pour qu’elles surpassent les normes actuelles, afin d’assurer que les raccords qu’elles achètent et installent respectent les propriétés exigées pour les matériaux.

Au nombre des mesures permanentes que doivent prendre les sociétés pipelinières réglementées par l’Office en matière de sécurité, on compte celle de mettre au point des exigences techniques visant les conduites et les éléments utilisés dans les pipelines. Conformément à l’article 14 du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (RPT), elles doivent présenter à l’Office ces exigences techniques lorsqu’il leur en fait la demande. Par ailleurs, les sociétés doivent mettre en œuvre des programmes d’assurance de la qualité afin de s’assurer que les conduites et les éléments respectent les exigences techniques établies par la société, comme l’exigent l’article 15 du RPT et l’article 10 du Règlement sur les usines de traitement. Dans le cas présent, l’examen des rapports sur les essais auxquels sont soumis les matériaux, sans une vérification indépendante sur place, peut ne pas constituer une protection suffisante contre l’introduction d’éléments ne satisfaisant pas aux exigences techniques. L’Office compte aussi sur les sociétés pour qu’elles surveillent mieux, directement ou indirectement, le procédé de fabrication au moyen d’un processus d’assurance de la qualité effectué par une tierce partie.

Complément d’information

Pour toute question au sujet du présent avis, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel de l’intégrité des pipelines de l’Office au numéro sans frais 1-800-899-1265.

 

Date de modification :