Order JFB-001-2018 to Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission pursuant to section 51.1 the National Energy Board Act

INSPECTION OFFICER ORDER NO. JFB-001-2018

IN THE MATTER OF THE NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD ACT,
AN ORDER UNDER SECTION 51.1

Information not available

is employed by Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission, and/or is a person conducting a ground disturbance or construction on or near a facility located in Chetwynd, British Columbia.

On or about 26 July 2018, the undersigned National Energy Board Inspection Officer conducted an inspection of the High Pine Expansion Project, South Loop, Watercourse Crossings (WCS) 22 (KP 23.5) and 23 (KP 24.1), both tributaries to Shangweshi Creek.

The Inspection Officer has determined that a hazard is being or will be caused based on the following facts: WCS 23 observations (14:22):

  • A retaining wall on the east edge of the right-of-way (RoW) has failed, and sediment has migrated off-RoW a distance of approximately 30 m into the tributary.
  • On the north side of the watercourse crossing, sediment fencing was not installed according to specification or maintained, and sediment has migrated through a large gap in the fence into the tributary.
  • Deficiencies in watercourse reclamation design were identified, including timber sills improperly tied into the bank and unstable coir wraps. WCS 22 observations (15:55):
    • A diversion channel crossed the RoW through three rock check dams on the south slope above WCS 22, and drained off of the west side of the RoW. Sediment has migrated along the channel off-RoW approximately 40 m into the tributary.
    • Sediment has migrated around a sediment fence on the south side of the WCS 22 crossing into the tributary.

Based on the above mentioned, the inspection officer has reasonable grounds to believe that a hazard to the safety or security of the public or of employees of a company or a detriment to property or the environment is being or will be caused by the construction, operation, maintenance or abandonment of the pipeline, or any part of a pipeline, an abandoned pipeline or any part of it, or a ground disturbance or the construction of a facility.

Therefore, Information not available is HEREBY ORDERED, pursuant to subsections 51.1(1) and 51.1(2) of the National Energy Board Act, to

 X take measures specified below for guarding the safety or security of the public or employees or protecting property or the environment
 X  SuSuspend work until the hazard or detrimental situation has been remedied to the satisfaction of the inspection officer; or the order is stayed or rescinded by the Board

Specified Measures: Clean-up and stabilize the areas of sediment migration observed at WCS 22 and WCS 23 and correct deficiencies noted in the erosion and sediment control measures. Provide the Inspection Officer with photographs demonstrating completion of erosion and sediment control measures as well as a plan to clean-up and stabilize the areas with an estimated timeline for completion by Friday 3 August 2018.

Inspection Officer
Inspection Officer 2507


Information not available
__________________________________
Signature
IO Designation
26 July 2018
Date
Suite 210, 517 10th Avenue SW Calgary AB  T2R 0A8
Date modified:

Ordre JFB-001-2018 à Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission en vertu de l’article 51.1 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie

Ordre d’inspecteur no JFB-001-2018

RELATIVEMENT À LA LOI SUR L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE,
ORDRE DÉLIVRÉ CONFORMÉMENT À L’ARTICLE 51.1

Information non disponible

est un employé de Westcoast Energy Inc., exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission, ou une personne effectuant des travaux qui perturbent le sol ou des travaux de construction près d’une installation située à Chetwynd, en Colombie-Britannique.

Vers le 26 juillet 2018, l’inspecteur soussigné de l’Office national de l’énergie a inspecté les franchissements de cours d’eau 22 (BK 23,5) et 23 (BK 24,1), tous deux tributaires du ruisseau Shangweshi, du doublement sud du projet d’agrandissement High Pine.

L’inspecteur juge que les travaux posent un danger compte tenu des faits décrits ci-après. Observations sur le franchissement de cours d’eau 23 (14 h 22) :

  • Un mur de soutènement sur la bordure est de l’emprise a cédé, et des sédiments ont migré hors de l’emprise sur une distance d’environ 30 m, jusque dans le cours d’eau tributaire.
  • Du côté nord du franchissement de cours d’eau, la clôture anti-érosion n’a pas été installée selon les spécifications ou maintenue, et les sédiments se sont infiltrés dans le cours d’eau tributaire par une large ouverture dans la clôture.
  • Des lacunes ont été relevées dans la conception de la réhabilitation du cours d’eau, telles que des semelles mal insérées dans la rive et des gaines en fibre de coco instables.
  • Observations sur le franchissement de cours d’eau 22 (15 h 55) :
    • Un chenal de dérivation traversait l’emprise en passant par trois barrages submersibles rocheux sur la pente sud au-dessus du franchissement de cours d’eau 22, et se déversait du côté ouest de l’emprise. Des sédiments ont migré hors de l’emprise, le long du chenal, jusqu’à environ 40 m dans le cours d’eau tributaire.
    • Des sédiments ont migré autour d’une clôture anti-érosion du côté sud du franchissement de cours d’eau 22 jusque dans le cours d’eau tributaire.

En se fondant sur ce qui précède, l’inspecteur a des motifs raisonnables de croire que la construction, l’exploitation, l’entretien ou la cessation d’exploitation du pipeline ou de toute partie du pipeline (en exploitation ou non), ou encore la perturbation du sol ou la construction d’une installation, représentent un danger pour la sécurité ou la sûreté du public, des employés de la société, des biens matériels ou de l’environnement.

Par conséquent, IL EST ORDONNÉ PAR LA PRÉSENTE à Information non disponible, conformément à l’article 51.1 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, de

 X prendre les mesures exposées dans le présent ordre afin d’assurer la sécurité ou la sûreté du public ou des employés de la société, et la protection des biens ou de l’environnement.
 X suspendre les travaux jusqu’à ce que la situation à risque ait été corrigée d’une manière jugée satisfaisante par l’inspecteur ou jusqu’à ce que l’ordre ait été suspendu ou annulé par l’Office.

Mesures précises : Nettoyer et stabiliser les endroits où ont migré les sédiments qui ont été observés aux franchissements de cours d’eau 22 et 23, et corriger les lacunes relevées dans les mesures de contrôle de l’érosion et des sédiments. Fournir à l’inspecteur des photos montrant l’achèvement des mesures de contrôle de l’érosion et des sédiments, de même qu’un plan pour le nettoyage et la stabilisation des endroits mentionnés, y compris un échéancier estimatif jusqu’à l’achèvement des travaux d’ici le 3 août 2018.

Inspecteur
Inspecteur 2507


Information non disponible
__________________________________
Signature
No de désignation de l’ordre de l’inspecteur
26 juillet 2018
Date
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210 Calgary (Alberta) T2R 0A8
Date de modification :