Canada Energy Regulator’s Enforcement Approach Overview

The Canada Energy Regulator (CER)’s approach to enforcing regulatory requirements under its mandate is based on the principle of a compliance and enforcement continuum. This includes ensuring compliance with regulatory requirements, and escalating matters of non-compliance for appropriate action when required, using a Graduated Enforcement Response Model.

When non-compliances are observed, enforcement action is taken to correct the situation and ensure compliance. Enforcement is undertaken to:

  • promote compliance;
  • address non-compliance;
  • deter future non-compliance; and
  • prevent harm to people and the environment.

When selecting the most appropriate enforcement action, responses to non-compliances will be fair, predictable, consistent, timely and transparent based on the following considerations:

  • nature of the non-compliance;
  • achieving the desired outcome; and
  • applying consistent enforcement.

Graduated Enforcement Response Model

The Graduated Enforcement Response Model includes a variety of escalating tools, typically implemented in a step-by- step approach. However, enforcement tools are not mutually exclusive (except for AMPs and prosecution) and more than a one tool may be used as required. When selecting the most appropriate action to take, the CER will consider the nature and severity of the harm, or potential harm, to the public and the environment, the most appropriate tool(s) to use to achieve regulatory compliance within the shortest timeframe, and previous compliance history.

Graduated enforcement response model

Graduated enforcement response model
  • Corrected/Notice of Non-Compliance
  • Inspection Officer Order
  • Warning Letter
  • AMP
  • Board Order
  • Revoking or Suspending Authorization
  • Prosecution

The CER’s Enforcement Tools

Corrected Non-Compliance (CNC) and Notice of Non-Compliance (NNC)

A CNC and NNC are issued when a non-compliance is observed during a compliance verification activity. If corrected during the course of the inspection, and addressed to the officer’s satisfaction at the time of the inspection close-out meeting, this will be documented in the inspection report as a CNC. If more time is required, effective corrective action and a due date are issued in an NNC pursuant to section 108 of the CER Act.

Inspection Officer Order

An Officer, on reasonable grounds, may issue an order: a tool pursuant to CER Acts. An order is used to ensure necessary action is taken to address a contravention or a hazard to safety or security of persons, or damage to property or the environment. An order may also require that work be stopped until specified measures have been undertaken to the satisfaction of the officer.

Warning Letter (WL)

A Warning Letter (WL) is a non-statutory administrative tool used to elevate matters to the attention of senior company officials (typically, the designated Accountable Officer) or third parties, in order to elevate the seriousness of the issue, and inform of possible escalation of further enforcement action should the non-compliance re-occur.

Administrative Monetary Penalty (AMP)

An Administrative Monetary Penalty (AMP) is a statutory financial penalty pursuant to the CER Act and Canadian Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA). An AMP is issued when compliance has not been obtained, harm is caused or is likely to be caused by the non-compliance, or in any other situation where it is deemed the best way to promote compliance by deterring future non-compliance.

Commission Orders or Directions

Commission or Designated Officer Orders are statutory and may be issued at any time to direct the company to take any measure(s) the Commission feels is necessary to address safety and/or environmental issues or non-compliances.

Revocation or Suspension of Authorization

If the Commission has lost confidence in a company’s ability to operate safely, or if any term or condition of a certificate, permit, or operating license is not complied with or has been contravened, the Commission may vary, revoke or suspend the company’s authorization to operate, in whole or in part.

Prosecution and Court options

Orders or decisions may be made a rule, order or decree of the Federal Court or of a superior court of a province, for the purposes of enforcement. It is also an offence to contravene certain provisions of the CER Acts and associated regulations, for which any person found guilty of such contraventions could be subject to fines and/or imprisonment.

For more information, the Enforcement Policy is available on our website.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu de la démarche d’exécution de la Régie de l’énergie du Canada

L’approche de la Régie de l’énergie du Canada (la Régie) pour ce qui est de veiller au respect des exigences réglementaires conformément à son mandat se fonde sur le principe d’un continuum de conformité et d’application de la loi. À ce titre, il s’assure de la conformité aux exigences réglementaires et, en cas de non-respect, impose la prise de mesures selon un modèle d’intervention progressive en matière d’exécution.

Lorsqu’une situation de non-respect est observée, des mesures sont prises pour corriger la situation. Ces mesures visent à :

  • favoriser la conformité;
  • corriger les situations de non-respect observées;
  • dissuader tout comportement non conforme à l’avenir;
  • prévenir tout préjudice aux personnes et à l’environnement.

Lorsque la Régie décide des mesures d’exécution appropriées, ses interventions sont justes, prévisibles, cohérentes, opportunes et transparentes en fonction des facteurs suivants :

  • la nature de la non-conformité;
  • le résultat souhaité;
  • la mise en œuvre uniforme des mesures d’application.

Modèle d’intervention progressive en matière d’exécution

Le modèle d’intervention progressive comprend divers outils auxquels la Régie a habituellement recours par étape. L’utilisation d’un outil particulier n’exclut toutefois pas l’utilisation d’un autre (sauf dans le cas des sanctions administratives pécuniaires et des poursuites). Il est donc possible d’employer plus d’un outil à la fois, au besoin. Au moment de décider de la mesure à prendre, la Régie tient compte de la nature et de la gravité du préjudice, effectif ou potentiel, pour le public et l’environnement, des outils les plus appropriés pour faire respecter la réglementation dans les plus brefs délais et des antécédents de conformité de la société en cause.

Modèle d’intervention progressive en matière d’exécution

Modèle d’exécution progressif
  • Non conformité corrigée et avis de non-conformité
  • Ordonnance de l'inspecteur
  • Lettre d'avertissement
  • Sanction administrative pécuniaire
  • Ordonnance de la Régie
  • Annulation ou suspensation d' une autorisation
  • Poursuite

Outils d’exécution de la Régie

Non-conformité corrigée et avis de non-conformité

Les outils que sont la « non-conformité corrigée » (la « NCC ») et l’« avis de non-conformité » (l’« ANC ») sont utilisés lorsqu’une non-conformité est observée au cours d’une activité de vérification de la conformité. Si la situation est corrigée au cours de l’inspection et réglée à la satisfaction de l’inspecteur lors de la réunion de clôture de l’inspection, elle sera consignée dans le rapport d’inspection comme une NCC. Lorsque plus de temps est requis, la mesure corrective attendue et une échéance sont indiquées dans un ANC tel que prévue par l’article 108 de la Loi de la Régie canadienne de l’énergie (« LRCE »).

Ordonnance d’un inspecteur

Un inspecteur de la Régie peut, pour des motifs raisonnables, émettre une ordonnance : un outil d’exécution prévu par la LRCE. Il sert à assurer la prise de mesures nécessaires pour contrer une contravention ou une situation de risque à la sécurité ou à la sûreté du public, ou aux biens matériels ou à l’environnement. Il peut aussi être utilisé pour sommer une société d’interrompre ses travaux jusqu’à ce que des mesures précises aient été prises à la satisfaction de l’inspecteur.

Lettre d’avertissement

La lettre d’avertissement est un outil administratif non prévu par la loi qui permet de porter une question à l’attention des hauts dirigeants d’une société (habituellement, le dirigeant responsable désigné) ou de tiers, afin de les sensibiliser à la gravité d’une situation et de les informer de l’intensification possible des mesures d’exécution si la non-conformité se reproduit.

Sanctions administratives pécuniaires

Les sanctions administratives pécuniaires sont des amendes prévues par la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie et la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada. La Régie y a recours lorsqu’une situation de non-conformité subsiste, ou est à l’origine d’un préjudice ou susceptible de l’être, ainsi que dans toute autre situation où il est jugé que ces sanctions constituent le meilleur moyen d’assurer la conformité ou de dissuader de tout écart subséquent.

Ordonnance ou directive de la Commission

La Commission peut en tout temps rendre des ordonnances en vertu de la loi afin d’ordonner à une société de prendre toute mesure qu’elle estime nécessaire pour corriger une situation de non-conformité ou un problème lié à la sécurité ou à l’environnement.

Annulation ou suspension d’une autorisation

Si la Commission n’a plus confiance dans la capacité d’une société de poursuivre ses activités de façon sécuritaire, ou advenant le non-respect d’une modalité ou d’une condition d’un certificat, d’une licence ou d’un permis d’exploitation, la Commission peut modifier, annuler ou suspendre l’autorisation d’exploitation d’une société, en tout ou en partie.

Poursuites et recours aux tribunaux

Les ordonnances ou les décisions de la Régie peuvent être assimilées à des ordonnances, jugements ou règles de la Cour fédérale ou de toute cour supérieure d’une province, aux fins de leur application. Le fait d’enfreindre certaines dispositions de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie et de ses règlements d’application constitue une infraction, et toute personne reconnue coupable d’une telle infraction s’expose à des amendes ou à une peine d’emprisonnement.

Pour en savoir plus sur la Politique d’application de la loi, vous pouvez consulter le site Web.

 

Date de modification :