Crown Consultation

The Canada Energy Regulator (CER) strives to build meaningful relationships with Indigenous Peoples across the country who are potentially impacted by the infrastructure we regulate. Crown Consultation is just one part of our relationship with Indigenous peoples.

Where the CER has Crown consultation responsibilities, the CER will engage with potentially affected Indigenous Peoples early in the process.

The scope and nature of the Crown Consultation activities will be tailored to the complexity of the proposed project and its potential effects, and the needs of affected Indigenous Peoples.

The CER conducts consultation with Indigenous Peoples recognizing the ten Principles Respecting the Government of Canada’s Relationship with Indigenous Peoples.

When Crown Consultation occurs

The duty to consult and, when required accommodate, is triggered when there is potential impact to Indigenous or treaty rights and where a decision of the Government might adversely affect the exercise of those rights. The scope of consultation is proportionate to:

  • the strength of the Indigenous or Treaty rights involved and
  • the potential impact on those rights.

The CER has Crown consultation responsibilities as part of project reviews for new pipeline, powerline or offshore renewable energy projects, as well as for activities it regulates over the lifecycle of energy infrastructure.

Project reviews under the Canadian Energy Regulator Act (CER Act)

The CER reviews a variety of types of proposed energy projects ranging from a single meter station addition on an existing pipeline through to proposals for new pipelines with a total new right of way up to 75 kilometers in length. They could also include powerline projects with a voltage of less than 345kV or less than a total of 75 km of new right of way.

For certain projects the CER is the decision-maker while in others the CER is responsible for making recommendations to the cabinet for decision. For these projects the CER is responsible for Crown consultation.

Project reviews under the Impact Assessment Act

Large pipeline projects are jointly reviewed by the CER and the Impact Assessment Agency (Agency). Large projects are those with more than 75 kilometers of new pipeline right of way or international powerlines projects with a voltage of 345kV or more than 75 km of new right of way.

For these projects the Agency will lead the project review hearing, including Crown Consultation for the duration of the review, and the CER will provide support to the Agency throughout.

Lifecycle oversight for CER regulated pipelines

If a project is approved and the company proceeds to construction, the CER is responsible for any Crown Consultation that may be required during the construction, operations and eventual decommissioning and/or abandonment phases of the project. In addition to any Crown Consultation responsibilities that could arise during these phases, the CER will engage with Indigenous communities while we carry out our project oversight role.

How Crown Consultation is conducted

The review processes used by the CER to make decisions or recommendations on proposed projects form an essential part of meeting the Crown’s consultation responsibilities. The CER encourages Indigenous Peoples that may be affected by a proposed project to participate in the review processes.

The CER will identify Indigenous groups whose rights and interests may be impacted by a project. To do so, the CER looks at multiple information sources, including:

  • Information submitted by companies in their applications;
  • Publically available information about the traditional territories of Indigenous Peoples; and,
  • When necessary, information from other federal departments.

The CER will reach out to those potentially affected Indigenous Peoples early in the review process. In early engagement, the CER will offer to meet with Indigenous groups to understand the potential impacts to their rights and interests and to explain the CER’s regulatory process, how to participate in it and provide information on the CER’s Participant Funding Program. Where it is possible that an issue or concern could be addressed early in the review process, CER staff will assist. This may involve arranging meetings with the company or considering collaborative options for resolution.

Where issues or concerns cannot be addressed early in the review process, the CER encourages Indigenous Peoples to bring them forward to a review process where they can be considered by Commissioners.

Depending on the complexity of the project and its potential effects, the review process may include opportunities for Indigenous groups to bring forward their issues or concerns orally as well as in writing. The CER will also make efforts to incorporate Indigenous ceremony into a hearing process, where appropriate and schedule hearings in locations that are convenient to Indigenous participants, where possible.

The CER will use the review process, to the extent possible, to meet the Crown’s duty to consult. All relevant issues and concerns that are brought forward by Indigenous groups will be considered by Commissioners and mitigated or accommodated, where possible. To ensure Commissioners have all the information needed to address issues and concerns raised, it is important for Indigenous groups to participate in available review processes.

In project review processes where there are early meetings with Indigenous groups, CER staff will provide Commissioners with a report of those discussions. All this information will help ensure that the CER panel reviewing the project application, has access to relevant information about the interests and concerns of potentially affected Indigenous Peoples and can effectively mitigate or accommodate, as appropriate.

This approach to Crown consultation provides transparency to the Consultation process since the information that hearing participants provide to the review panel is generally made publically available through the online record. If there are issues or concerns raised that are outside of the mandate of the CER to address, CER staff will work with other federal departments to determine how these can be addressed.

At the end of a project review, if a project is approved and the company proceeds to construction, the CER will continue to engage with Indigenous communities as part of our lifecycle oversight role and in support of building meaningful relationships.

Company Engagement with Indigenous Groups

The CER expects that companies will engage with potentially impacted Indigenous groups about their projects early in the project design and throughout the life of the project.

Companies should provide information about the proposed project or activity, how the project or activity may impact the rights and interests of potentially impacted Indigenous groups and address those concerns through changes to the design of the project or activity.

During operations of a facility, companies are expected to keep Indigenous groups in the area of their facilities informed of operation and maintenance activities. These expectations are outlined in the Early Engagement Guide, the CER’s Filing Manual and the Onshore Pipeline Regulations.

Date modified:

Consultation de la Couronne

La Régie de l’énergie du Canada s’efforce d’établir des relations constructives avec les peuples autochtones partout au pays qui peuvent être touchés par l’infrastructure qu’elle réglemente. Les consultations ne représentent qu’un aspect de nos relations avec les peuples autochtones.

Pour s’acquitter de ses responsabilités de consultation de la Couronne, la Régie mobilise les peuples autochtones dès le début du processus.

La portée et la nature des activités de consultation de la Couronne dépendent de la complexité du projet envisagé, des effets éventuels et des besoins des peuples autochtones.

La Régie consulte les peuples autochtones, car elle reconnaît les 10 principes régissant la relation du gouvernement du Canada avec les peuples autochtones.

Quand la consultation de la Couronne a-t-elle lieu?

L’obligation de consulter, et de prendre des mesures d’adaptation au besoin, est déclenchée par les incidences potentielles sur les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, et par la possibilité qu’une décision rendue par le gouvernement nuise à l’exercice de ces droits. La portée de la consultation est proportionnelle à ce qui suit :

  • la force des droits autochtones ou issus de traités en cause;
  • l’incidence éventuelle sur ces droits.

La Régie a des responsabilités de consultation de la Couronne lorsqu’elle examine des projets visant de nouvelles installations, soit des pipelines, des lignes de transport d’électricité ou l’énergie renouvelable extracôtière, ainsi que pour les activités qu’il réglemente tout au long du cycle de vie de l’infrastructure énergétique.

Projets examinés sous le régime de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

La Régie examine divers types de projets énergétiques, allant de l’ajout d’une station de comptage à un pipeline existant jusqu’à la construction de nouveaux pipelines avec nouvelle emprise d’une longueur maximale de 75 km. Les projets peuvent inclure également des lignes de transport d’électricité d’un voltage inférieur à 345 kV ou moins de 75 km de nouvelle emprise.

Pour certains projets, c’est la Régie qui rend la décision alors que pour d’autres, elle fait des recommandations au cabinet. Pour ces projets, la Régie est responsable de la consultation de la Couronne.

Projets examinés sous le régime de la Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact

Les projets pipeliniers d’envergure sont examinés conjointement par la Régie et l’Agence d’évaluation d’impact. Les projets d’envergure sont ceux qui comprennent plus de 75 km de nouvelle emprise de pipeline ou de ligne internationale de transport d’électricité d’un voltage de 345 kV ou plus de 75 km de nouvelle emprise.

L’Agence mène l’audience visant à examiner ces projets, y compris la consultation de la Couronne tout au long de l’examen; la Régie lui fournit du soutien.

Surveillance tout au long du cycle de vie des pipelines réglementés par la Régie

Lorsqu’un projet est approuvé et que la société entame la construction, la Régie est responsable de toute consultation de la Couronne pouvant être nécessaire pendant la construction, l’exploitation et la désaffectation ou la cessation d’exploitation des installations. En plus d’assumer les responsabilités de consultation de la Couronne qui peuvent se présenter au cours de ces étapes, la Régie mobilise les communautés autochtones et assure la surveillance des projets.

Comment la consultation de la Couronne est-elle menée?

Les processus d’examen utilisés par la Régie pour rendre des décisions ou formuler des recommandations sur les projets envisagés constituent une partie essentielle de l’exécution des responsabilités de consultation de la Couronne. La Régie encourage les peuples autochtones susceptibles d’être touchés par un projet envisagé à prendre part au processus d’examen.

La Régie recense les groupes autochtones dont les droits et les intérêts pourraient être touchés par un projet. Pour ce faire, elle utilise plusieurs sources d’information, dont les suivantes :

  • les renseignements fournis par les sociétés dans leurs demandes;
  • l’information accessible au public sur les territoires traditionnels des peuples autochtones;
  • au besoin, l’information provenant d’autres ministères fédéraux.

La Régie prend contact avec ces peuples autochtones susceptibles d’être touchés dès le début du processus d’examen. Pendant cette mobilisation précoce, la Régie offre de rencontrer les groupes autochtones pour comprendre les incidences possibles sur leurs droits et leurs intérêts, pour expliquer le processus de réglementation et la façon d’y participer, et pour donner de l’information sur le Programme d’aide financière aux participants. S’il est possible de régler une question ou une préoccupation dès le début du processus d’examen, le personnel de la Régie prête son concours. Cela peut consister à organiser des réunions avec la société ou à envisager des méthodes de collaboration en vue d’obtenir une résolution.

Si les questions ou préoccupations ne peuvent pas être réglées dès le début du processus d’examen, la Régie encourage les peuples autochtones à les soumettre aux commissaires dans le cadre d’un processus d’examen.

Selon le degré de complexité du projet et les effets éventuels, le processus d’examen peut donner aux groupes autochtones l’occasion de présenter leurs questions ou préoccupations oralement et par écrit.

La Régie s’efforce aussi d’intégrer les cérémonies autochtones au processus d’audience, s’il y a lieu, et de tenir les audiences à des endroits facilement accessibles aux participants autochtones, si possible.

La Régie utilise le processus d’examen, autant que possible, pour s’acquitter de l’obligation de la Couronne de consulter. Toutes les questions et préoccupations soulevées par les groupes autochtones sont étudiées par les commissaires, puis des mesures d’atténuation ou d’adaptation sont prises, lorsque cela est possible. Afin que les commissaires aient toute l’information nécessaire pour traiter les questions et préoccupations soulevées, il importe que les groupes autochtones participent aux processus d’examen disponibles.

Dans les processus d’examen de projets où des réunions ont lieu dès le début avec les groupes autochtones, le personnel de la Régie procure aux commissaires un rapport des discussions tenues. Toute cette information permet à la commission de la Régie qui étudie une demande visant un projet d’avoir accès à tous les renseignements pertinents sur les intérêts et les préoccupations des peuples autochtones susceptibles d’être touchés, et de prendre des mesures d’atténuation ou d’adaptation efficaces, selon le cas.

Cette démarche de consultation de la Couronne assure un processus transparent puisque l’information présentée à la commission d’examen par les participants à l’audience est accessible au public dans le dossier en ligne. Si les questions ou préoccupations soulevées dépassent le mandat de la Régie, le personnel travaille avec d’autres ministères fédéraux pour déterminer comment elles peuvent être résolues.

À la fin de l’examen, si le projet est approuvé et que la société entreprend la construction, la Régie continue de mobiliser les communautés autochtones dans le cadre de son rôle de surveillance tout au long du cycle de vie des installations et afin d’établir des relations constructives.

Mobilisation des groupes autochtones par les sociétés

La Régie s’attend à ce que les sociétés mobilisent les groupes autochtones susceptibles d’être touchés par leurs projets dès l’étape de la conception et tout au long de leur vie utile.

Les sociétés doivent fournir de l’information sur les projets ou activités proposés, expliquer les conséquences possibles sur les droits et intérêts des groupes autochtones susceptibles d’être touchés, et régler les préoccupations en modifiant la conception des projets ou des activités.

Pendant l’exploitation des installations, les sociétés doivent tenir les groupes autochtones de la région au courant des activités d’exploitation et d’entretien. Ces attentes sont décrites dans le Guide de mobilisation précoce, le Guide de dépôt de la Régie et le Règlement sur les pipelines terrestres.

Date de modification :