Chapter 11: Compliance and Landowner Complaints

For the entire life of a project, landowners are welcome to contact the NEB if they have concerns or issues to address or even to make a request for information. Landowners may choose to contact the NEB by telephone, e-mail, fax or mail. Full contact information for the NEB can be found in Appendix C: The Steps in Constructing a Pipeline.

How does the NEB monitor the construction and operation of a pipeline?

The NEB can monitor the construction and operation of the pipeline in several ways. One way is through field inspections carried out by NEB Inspection Officers and specialized staff who monitor the company's activities to make sure it is meeting the conditions that the NEB has set. Inspections may happen on a set schedule or occur as a result of a complaint or issue. Environmental inspections may be done to ensure the proper reclamation techniques have been applied and the land has been restored to its original state. Sometimes this occurs in response to a formal request from the landowner. The NEB's Landowner Complaint Process can be used once a project is in the construction or operation phase.

What happens if an inspector finds a problem?

If an Inspection Officer finds that a condition is not being followed or there is a situation that needs to be addressed for safety or environmental reasons, he or she may try to resolve the problem in one of three ways:

  • address the issue by talking with the company;
  • request an Assurance of Voluntary Compliance (AVC) - an AVC is a written commitment from the company to the Inspection Officer that the company will correct the non-compliance problem within a given period of time; or
  • issue an order to the company or any person(s) involved with the pipeline either to stop work or take specific actions.

What other activities are possible after the pipeline is constructed?

Anytime after a pipeline is built, the company may decide to make additions or modifications to the pipeline. For example, the company may want to build an additional pipeline in the same right-of-way, add more pumps or compressors along the route, or put an additional right-of-way beside the first. The company may also want to sell the pipeline to another company. All of these activities require NEB approval. The company may also be required to negotiate with the landowners for any additional land rights it may need for the project. For more information, please see Chapter 3: Other Projects.

What is the Landowner Complaint Process?

A formal complaint from a landowner must be received by the NEB in writing and the company will be contacted for follow-up. Generally, complaints are dealt with on a case-by-case basis. The NEB facilitates discussion on ways to resolve the issue or may order an inspection if it is related to compliance with a condition of approval. If parties fail to come to an agreement, the NEB can be asked to intervene by way of a written request to resolve the problem. It is possible that further processes may occur to settle landowner complaint disputes.

What types of Landowner Complaints does the NEB usually deal with?

The NEB receives a variety of complaints with respect to reclamation, crop damage, water drainage, noise, damage caused by construction, concerns with representatives from the company or other organizations, and so on. Compensation issues will be referred to the NRCan process (see Chapter 7: Compensation for Land Use).

Do you have templates I can follow?

Yes, templates can be found on the NEB's website by going to "Land Matters" and then "Templates for Public Participation".

LANDOWNER COMPLAINT PROCESS

Landowner Complaint Process
Text description of this graph

Landowner Complaint Process

Complain may be resolved at any stage in the process

  • NEB receives Complailnt Informally
  • NEB determines if Complaint is under its jurisdiction
  • Complaint formally submitted (in writing)
  • Tools to Settle Dispute
    • Informal - ADR - site visit
    • Formal - condition compliance - inspections
  • Board Determination - formal Decision or other recommendation
  • Complaint Resolved

How do I contact the NEB to make a Landowner Complaint?

To initiate a Landowner Complaint or for Land Matters questions, please contact the Board:

Mailing address:

National Energy Board
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta  T2R 0A8
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telphone - Toll Free: 1-800-899-1265
Fax: 403 292-5503
Fax - Toll Free: 1-877-288-8803
TTY: 1-877-288-8803
E-mail: landsinfo@neb-one.gc.ca

A lot of information can be found on the NEB's website at:

www.neb-one.gc.ca
Click on "Land Matters"

You can also access our online contact form
by going to "Land Matters"
and then selecting "Contact the NEB".

Date modified:

Chapitre 11 : Conformité et plaintes des propriétaires fonciers

Les propriétaires fonciers peuvent communiquer avec l’Office en tout temps au cours de la durée de vie d’un projet pour lui faire part de leurs préoccupations, soulever des questions à régler ou même pour demander des renseignements au sujet d’un pipeline ou de leur propriété. Ils peuvent communiquer avec l’Office par téléphone, par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste. La couverture arrière fait état des coordonnées complètes de l’Office.

Comment l’ONÉ assure-t-il la surveillance des activités de construction et d’exploitation d’un pipeline?

L’Office a recours à plusieurs moyens pour assurer la surveillance des activités de construction et d’exploitation d’un pipeline, notamment des inspections sur le terrain effectuées par les inspecteurs et le personnel spécialisé de l’Office. Ces personnes surveillent de près les activités de la société pour veiller à ce que les conditions établies par l’Office soient respectées. Les inspections peuvent avoir lieu à intervalles réguliers ou à la suite d’une plainte ou d’une question soulevée. Des inspections de l’environnement peuvent être faites pour s’assurer que les méthodes adéquates de remise en état sont appliquées et que le terrain a été restauré. Ces inspections ont parfois lieu en réponse à la demande officielle d’un propriétaire foncier. Il est possible de recourir au processus de règlement des plaintes des propriétaires fonciers une fois que le projet se trouve à l’étape de la construction ou de l’exploitation.

Qu’arrive-t-il si un inspecteur décèle un problème?

Si un inspecteur détermine qu’une condition n’est pas respectée ou qu’une situation nécessite la prise de mesures pour des raisons liées à la sécurité ou à l’environnement, il peut tenter de résoudre le problème de l’une des trois façons suivantes :

  • aborder la question avec la société;
  • demander une promesse de conformité volontaire (PCV); la PCV est une garantie écrite par laquelle la société s’engage à corriger le problème de non-conformité dans un délai prescrit;
  • donner un ordre à la société ou à toute personne effectuant des travaux sur le pipeline pour faire cesser les travaux ou exiger que des mesures particulières soient prises.

Quelles autres activités sont possibles après la construction du pipeline?

À tout moment après la construction du pipeline, la société peut décider d’y faire des ajouts ou des modifications. La société pourrait par exemple, construire un pipeline supplémentaire dans la même emprise, ajouter des pompes ou des compresseurs, ou aménager une deuxième emprise à côté de la première. Elle pourrait également décider de vendre le pipeline à une autre société. Chacune de ces activités doit être approuvée par l’Office. Il se peut en outre que la société en question soit tenue de négocier tout droit foncier supplémentaire requis avec les propriétaires. Pour plus de renseignements sur les autres types de projet, consulter le chapitre 3.

Quel est le processus de règlement des plaintes des propriétaires fonciers?

L’Office doit recevoir une plainte officielle écrite d’un propriétaire foncier avant de communiquer avec la société pour assurer un suivi. Les plaintes sont habituellement traitées au cas par cas. L’Office facilite la discussion entre les parties pour trouver des moyens de résoudre la question. Il peut aussi ordonner la tenue d’une inspection si la plainte a trait à la conformité à une condition d’approbation. Si les parties n’arrivent pas à s’entendre, l’Office peut intervenir en demandant par écrit à la société de régler le problème. Il se peut que d’autres processus soient nécessaires pour régler le différend entre le propriétaire et la société.

Quel genre de plaintes l’Office reçoit-il habituellement des propriétaires fonciers?

L’Office reçoit des plaintes de toutes sortes sur des questions : remise en état, dommages causés aux cultures, drainage des eaux, bruit, dommages causés par la construction, problèmes avec les représentants de la société ou d’autres organisations, etc. Les questions d’indemnisation en suspens seront renvoyées à RNCan (voir le chapitre 7).

Existe-t-il un modèle que je pourrais utiliser?

Oui, des formulaires pour la participation du public se trouvent sur le site Web de l’Office, dans la section « Participation et questions foncières ».

PROCESSUS DE PLAINTE DES PROPRIÉTAIRES FONCIERS

Processus de plainte des propriétaires fonciers
Version textuelle de ce graphique

Processus de plainte des propriétaires fonciers

La plainte peut être réglée à n’importe quelle étape du processus.

  • L’ONÉ reçoit une plainte de manière non officielle
  • L’ONÉ détermine si la plainte est de son ressort
  • Une plainte officielle est déposée
  • Outils de règlement des différends
    • Non officiels - MRD - Visite des lieux
    • Officiels - Conformité aux conditions - Inspection
  • Décision de l’ONÉ - Décision officielle ou autre recommandation
  • Plainte réglée

Comment communiquer avec l’Office pour déposer une plainte?

Pour lancer le processus de règlement des plaintes des propriétaires fonciers ou pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les questions foncières, veuillez communiquer avec l’Office.

Adresse postale :

Office national de l’énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta) T2R 0A8

Téléphone : 403-292-4800 ou
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur sans frais : 1-877-288-8803
Courriel : info@neb-one.gc.ca

Vous trouverez beaucoup d’information
dans le site Web de l’Office :

www.neb-one.gc.ca

Dans la section « Participation
et questions foncières
»

Date de modification :