Confidential Indigenous Knowledge

Transparency is a cornerstone of project reviews and regulatory decisions. Information considered by the CER in its decision making is generally readily available to the public and Indigenous Peoples. This helps to ensure procedural fairness and robust consideration of all the information before decisions are made. While the CER acknowledges that Indigenous Knowledge is important for making good decisions, the CER recognizes that some Indigenous Knowledge requires confidential treatment. Some examples of the type of Indigenous Knowledge that may require confidential treatment include specific locations of sacred sites (e.g., burial sites), information regarding a species’ habitat, or information that could reveal hunting or fishing camps.

Protections for confidential Indigenous knowledge

The Canadian Energy Regulator Act (CERA) requires the CER to consider Indigenous Knowledge when it is provided. The CERA also requires that Indigenous Knowledge provided in confidence is to be treated as confidential.

What does confidential mean?

It is the decision of the individual or group who provides the Indigenous Knowledge to determine if it is confidential. When the CER receives confidential Indigenous Knowledge we will not make it publically available. Only those staff or Commissioners who need to review the information to make a regulatory decision will be granted access.

How to provide confidential Indigenous Knowledge

Before submitting confidential Indigenous Knowledge, consider if the confidential aspects of the information could be removed. This could mean filing a copy of a document with certain portions blacked out or providing a summary of the information without specific details. This could apply whether in writing or in verbal communication.

Before you provide confidential Indigenous Knowledge, inform CER staff, or make it clear in your written document what is to be kept confidential. This way, CER staff can ensure that it is handled appropriately. For written material you can send the confidential information or documents by by fax or mail (paper copy). Mark them very clearly as “CONFIDENTIAL”.

Potential disclosure of confidential Indigenous Knowledge

The CER recognizes the significance of Indigenous Knowledge and will treat it with the utmost respect.

The CER will not disclose, without written consent, any Indigenous Knowledge that is provided in confidence, except as authorized or required by CERA. The information will be maintained in a secure manner to ensure that unauthorized disclosure does not occur.

CERA provides certain exceptions that may permit confidential Indigenous Knowledge to be disclosed. Those are:

  • If the Indigenous Knowledge is publically available; or
  • If disclosure is necessary for the purposes of procedural fairness and natural justice or for use in legal proceedings.

The procedural fairness exception would be used when the CER was required to take an action that affects another party and relies on confidential Indigenous Knowledge to do so. The CER must consult with the provider of the confidential Indigenous Knowledge on the terms and conditions to be imposed on disclosure (The CER is required to impose conditions that would prohibit further disclosure). This would happen before disclosing the confidential Indigenous Knowledge to the other party. This type of disclosure would be limited to one or more parties, and would not result in the confidential Indigenous Knowledge being publically available.

Date modified:

Connaissances autochtones confidentielles

La transparence constitue l’une des pierres angulaires des examens de projets et des décisions réglementaires. L’information examinée par la Régie avant de rendre une décision est généralement facilement accessible au public et aux peuples autochtones. Cela contribue à assurer l’équité procédurale ainsi que l’examen rigoureux de toute l’information avant qu’une décision soit rendue. Bien que la Régie reconnaisse que les connaissances autochtones sont importantes pour pouvoir rendre une décision éclairée, elle avoue que certaines de ces connaissances doivent être protégées. Cela comprend notamment celles qui font état de l’emplacement de sites sacrés (p. ex., lieux de sépulture), de l’habitat de certaines espèces ou de camps de chasse ou de pêche.

Protection des connaissances autochtones confidentielles

La LRCE exige de la Régie qu’elle tienne compte des connaissances autochtones qui lui sont communiquées. Elle exige également que la confidentialité des connaissances transmises à titre confidentiel soit préservée.

Qu’entend-on par « confidentiel »?

Il incombe au particulier ou au groupe qui transmet les connaissances autochtones de déterminer si celles-ci sont confidentielles. Lorsque de telles connaissances sont transmises à la Régie, celle-ci ne les rendra pas accessibles au public. Seuls les membres du personnel ou les commissaires qui doivent examiner l’information afin de rendre une décision réglementaire seront autorisés à y accéder.

Communication de connaissances autochtones confidentielles

Avant de communiquer des connaissances autochtones confidentielles, il faut déterminer si les passages confidentiels de l’information peuvent être retirés. Un document dont certaines parties ont été caviardées ou un résumé de l’information ne renfermant aucun détail pourrait ainsi être déposé. Cela pourrait s’appliquer tant aux communications écrites qu’orales.

Avant de communiquer des connaissances autochtones confidentielles, informez le personnel de la Régie ou précisez dans votre document quelle information doit être protégée. Le personnel de la Régie pourra ainsi en assurer un traitement adéquat. Dans le cas des communications écrites, vous pouvez envoyer l’information ou les documents confidentiels par télécopieur ou par courriel (copie papier), en y indiquant clairement la mention « CONFIDENTIEL ».

Communication potentielle de connaissances autochtones confidentielles

La Régie reconnaît l’importance des connaissances autochtones et les traitera avec beaucoup de respect.

Elle ne communiquera pas, sans consentement écrit, de connaissances autochtones transmises à titre confidentiel, sauf si elle y est autorisée ou tenue aux termes de la LRCE. L’information sera protégée de sorte qu’elle ne puisse pas être communiquée sans autorisation.

La LRCE prévoit certaines exceptions permettant la communication de connaissances autochtones confidentielles, notamment les suivantes :

  • si le public a accès aux connaissances autochtones;
  • si la communication est nécessaire à des fins d’équité procédurale et de justice naturelle ou pour usage dans des poursuites judiciaires.

La Régie peut s’appuyer sur l’exception relative à l’équité procédurale si elle doit prendre des mesures qui auront une incidence sur une autre partie ou se servir des connaissances autochtones confidentielles pour le faire. La Régie doit consulter la personne ou l’entité qui a communiqué les connaissances autochtones confidentielles relativement aux conditions à la communication qui doivent être imposées (la Régie doit imposer des conditions interdisant la communication par le destinataire). Cela aura lieu avant la communication des connaissances autochtones confidentielles à l’autre partie. Ce type de communication sera limité à une partie ou plus, et les connaissances ne seront pas accessibles au public.

Date de modification :