Frequently Asked Questions – Trans Mountain Expansion Project Reconsideration Report

  1. What is the NEB recommending in its Reconsideration Report?
  2. What are the significant adverse effects?
  3. Why are the significant adverse effects justified?
  4. What are the next steps?
  5. When can the company re-start construction?
  6. Why did this hearing follow this timeline?
  7. Was the process fair?
  8. What did the NEB consider in this reconsideration hearing?
  9. How many conditions are required for the Project?
  10. How would the recommendations be incorporated?
  11. How does this reconsideration report relate to/impact the Government of Canada’s ongoing consultation with Indigenous peoples?
  12. How were Indigenous peoples involved in the reconsideration hearing?
  13. Why were marine impacts not included in the scope of the NEB’s initial assessment?
  14. Explain the NEB’s decision to include Project-related marine shipping between the Westridge Marine Terminal and the “12-nautical-mile territorial sea limit” as part of the designated project?

1. What is the NEB recommending in its Reconsideration Report?

In its Reconsideration Report, the National Energy Board’s (NEB) overall recommendation is that the Government of Canada approve the Trans Mountain Expansion Project (Project), subject to 156 conditions. The NEB has also made 16 recommendations to the Government of Canada. 

Under the National Energy Board Act , the NEB is of the view that the Project is in the Canadian public interest. Under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 , the NEB is of the view the Project is likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects and recommends the Government of Canada find that they can be justified in the circumstances.

2. What are the significant adverse effects?

The NEB identified that Project-related marine shipping is likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects on the Southern resident killer whale and on Indigenous cultural use associated with the Southern resident killer whale.  The Board also identified that greenhouse gas emissions from Project-related marine vessels are likely to be significant.  Lastly, while a credible worst-case spill from the Project or a Project-related vessel is not likely, if it were to occur, the environmental effects would be significant.

3. Why are the significant adverse effects justified?

The NEB recommends that, in light of the considerable benefits of the Project and measures to mitigate the effects, the Government of Canada find that the likely significant adverse effects can be justified in the circumstances.

The benefits of the Project include increased access to diverse markets for Canadian oil; jobs created across Canada; the development of capacity of local and Indigenous individuals, communities, and businesses; direct spending on pipeline materials in Canada; and considerable revenues to various levels of government.

4. What are the next steps?

The NEB’s Reconsideration Report has now been submitted to the Government of Canada. The report is one of the factors that the Government of Canada will consider when making the final decision on whether or not the Project should proceed.

5. When can the company re-start construction?

Construction can only re-start if the Government of Canada approves the Project and instructs the NEB to issue a certificate under the National Energy Board Act authorizing its construction and operation. Should the Project be approved, the NEB will regulate it throughout its full lifecycle. The NEB will oversee Project construction and operation, and will hold Trans Mountain accountable for meeting its commitments and applicable regulatory requirements (including the 156 conditions), keeping its pipelines and facilities safe and secure, and protecting people, property, and the environment.

6. Why did this hearing follow this timeline?

On September 26, 2018, the NEB announced that it would hold a public hearing to carry out the Reconsideration as directed by the Government of Canada [Filing A94111]. The NEB was given 155 days to complete the Reconsideration.  The Reconsideration was focused on Project-related marine shipping – a relatively narrow scope to the original NEB hearing for the Project.

7. Was the process fair?

Yes, the NEB is of the view that the Reconsideration hearing offered a fair and meaningful opportunity for Parties to participate and to fully present their case and represent their diverse points of view. This included an opportunity to comment on the scope of the environmental assessment and the design of the hearing process, file evidence, present Indigenous oral traditional evidence, question the evidence of other parties, comment on the draft conditions and recommendations, and present final argument.

8. What did the NEB consider in this reconsideration hearing?

As per the direction provided by the Government of Canada, the Reconsideration took into account the environmental effects of Project-related marine shipping in view of the requirements of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012, and the adverse effects of Project-related marine shipping on species at risk in view of any requirements of the Species at Risk Act.

9. How many conditions are required for the Project?

If approved, the Project would be subject to 156 conditions. Of the original 157 conditions, the NEB converted one into a recommendation to the Government of Canada, and revised six other conditions. The NEB made a total of 16 new recommendations to the Government of Canada.

10. How would the recommendations be incorporated?

The NEB has made 16 recommendations to the Government of Canada related to Project-related marine shipping. The recommendations fall outside of the Board’s regulatory mandate and are generally beyond the control of Trans Mountain to implement. The Government of Canada will consider the NEB’s recommendations and will decide whether to implement them and, if so, how.

11. How does this reconsideration report relate to/impact the Government of Canada’s ongoing consultation with Indigenous peoples?

The NEB’s Reconsideration forms part of the overall consultation process with Indigenous peoples with respect to their constitutionally protected rights. The NEB’s Reconsideration may also inform the additional “Phase III” consultations being carried out separately by the Government of Canada with respect to the Project. The NEB considered those aspects of consultation which are relevant to the Reconsideration and for which evidence was filed on the record.

12. How were Indigenous peoples involved in the reconsideration hearing?

There were 52 Indigenous intervenors in the Reconsideration hearing, out of a total of 118 intervenors. Understanding that Indigenous peoples have an oral tradition for sharing knowledge and that this information cannot always be shared adequately or appropriately in writing, the NEB extended an invitation to all Indigenous intervenors to provide oral traditional evidence (OTE). This offer was in addition to the opportunities for intervenors to participate in all written steps of the hearing, which included filing evidence, making information requests, and presenting argument. OTE of Indigenous intervenors was heard in sessions held over approximately three weeks in Calgary, AB and Victoria and Nanaimo, B.C.

13. Why were marine impacts not included in the scope of the NEB’s initial assessment?

Project-related marine shipping was considered in the NEB’s initial regulatory review and report, but only under the National Energy Board Act – not under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012. On August 30, 2018, the Federal Court of Appeal set aside the Project approval in part because, in the Court’s view, the NEB unjustifiably excluded Project-related marine shipping from the scope of the “designated project” reviewed under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012.

14. Explain the NEB’s decision to include Project-related marine shipping between the Westridge Marine Terminal and the “12-nautical-mile territorial sea limit” as part of the designated project?

On September 26, 2018, the NEB sought comments on whether Project-related marine shipping should be included in the “designated project” to be assessed under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 . The NEB then sought further comments on the limited issue of whether the “designated project” should extend to Canada’s territorial sea limit (12–nautical-miles) or to Canada’s exclusive economic zone (200–nautical-miles).

The NEB decided, on a principled basis, to include Project-related marine shipping between the Westridge Marine Terminal and the 12-nautical-mile territorial sea limit in the “designated project”. Reasons for this decision can be found here: [Document A6J4X5]

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Foires aux questions – Rapport de réexamen du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain

  1. Qu’est-ce que recommande l’Office dans son Rapport de réexamen?
  2. Quels sont les effets négatifs importants?
  3. Pourquoi les effets négatifs importants sont-ils justifiés?
  4. Quelles sont les prochaines étapes?
  5. À quel moment la société pourra-t-elle relancer le chantier?
  6. Qu’est-ce qui a mené à l’adoption du calendrier appliqué à l’audience?
  7. Ce processus a-t-il été équitable?
  8. Quelles ont été les questions examinées par l’Office pendant l’audience?
  9. Le projet est assorti de combien de conditions?
  10. De quelle façon les recommandations seraient-elles incorporées?
  11. Quel est le lien entre ce Rapport de réexamen et les consultations en cours menées auprès des peuples autochtones par le gouvernement du Canada? Quelles sont les répercussions à cet égard?
  12. Quel a été le degré de participation des peuples autochtones à l’audience de réexamen?
  13. Pourquoi les incidences maritimes n’ont-elles pas été incluses dans la portée de l’évaluation initiale de l’Office?
  14. Pouvez-vous expliquer la décision de l’Office d’inclure le transport maritime connexe au projet entre le terminal Westridge et « la limite des eaux territoriales de 12 miles nautiques » dans le contexte du projet désigné?

1. Qu’est-ce que recommande l’Office dans son Rapport de réexamen?

En gros, dans son Rapport de réexamen, l’Office national de l’énergie recommande au gouvernement du Canada d’approuver le projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain, sous réserve de 156 conditions. L’Office a en outre soumis 16 recommandations au gouvernement du Canada.

L’Office a conclu, aux termes des dispositions de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, que le projet est dans l’intérêt public canadien. Dans le contexte de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012), il est d’avis que le projet n’est pas susceptible d’entraîner des effets environnementaux négatifs importants et soumet au gouvernement du Canada que ces effets peuvent être justifiés dans les circonstances.

2. Quels sont les effets négatifs importants?

L’Office a trouvé que le transport maritime associé au projet serait susceptible d’entraîner des effets environnementaux négatifs importants sur l’épaulard résident du sud ainsi que sur l’utilisation que font les Autochtones de cet animal au plan culturel. L’Office a aussi constaté que les émissions de gaz à effet de serre découlant du transport maritime associé au projet sont vraisemblablement importantes. En dernier lieu, bien qu’un déversement représentant le pire scénario crédible causé par le projet ou un navire lié au projet soit peu probable, les effets environnementaux seraient importants en cas d’un tel événement.

3. Pourquoi les effets négatifs importants sont-ils justifiés?

L’Office recommande, à la lumière des avantages considérables et des mesures proposées pour réduire au minimum les incidences, que le gouvernement du Canada considère justifiés, dans les circonstances, les effets négatifs importants probables.

Au nombre de ces avantages figurent l’accès à de nouveaux marchés pour le pétrole canadien, la création d’emplois partout au pays, le renforcement des capacités à l’échelle des personnes, des collectivités et des entreprises, locales et autochtones, les dépenses directes engagées au Canada à l’achat des matériaux nécessaires pour le pipeline et les recettes fiscales considérables pour les divers ordres de gouvernement.

4. Quelles sont les prochaines étapes?

L’Office a maintenant remis son Rapport de réexamen au gouvernement du Canada. Il s’agit d’un des éléments dont ce dernier tiendra compte avant de prendre sa décision finale quant à l’acceptation ou au rejet du projet.

5. À quel moment la société pourra-t-elle relancer le chantier?

Les travaux ne pourront être repris que si le gouvernement du Canada approuve le projet et donne instruction à l’Office de délivrer un certificat aux termes de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie autorisant la construction ainsi que l’exploitation du projet. Si le projet est approuvé, il sera soumis, tout au long de son cycle de vie, à la réglementation de l’Office, qui en surveillera la construction et l’exploitation et tiendra Trans Mountain responsable de remplir les engagements pris et de satisfaire aux exigences réglementaires applicables (dont les 156 conditions), de veiller à la sécurité de ses pipelines et de ses installations et de protéger les personnes, les biens et l’environnement.

6. Qu’est-ce qui a mené à l’adoption du calendrier appliqué à l’audience?

Le 26 septembre 2018, l’Office a annoncé qu’il tiendrait une audience publique pour le réexamen ordonné par le gouvernement du Canada [Dépôt A94111]. On avait accordé 155 jours à l’Office pour procéder au réexamen, qui portait sur le transport maritime connexe au projet et avait donc une portée relativement moindre que l’audience initiale.

7. Ce processus a-t-il été équitable?

Oui, l’Office estime que l’audience MH-052-2018 a procuré aux parties une véritable occasion équitable de participer et de faire valoir complètement leurs points de vue variés. Elles ont entre autres pu s’exprimer sur la portée de l’évaluation environnementale et le format du processus d’audience, déposer des éléments de preuve, présenter une preuve traditionnelle orale autochtone, poser des questions sur la preuve des autres parties, soumettre des commentaires sur l’ébauche des conditions et recommandations en plus de faire une plaidoirie finale.

8. Quelles ont été les questions examinées par l’Office pendant l’audience?

Conformément à la directive du gouvernement du Canada, le réexamen a pris en compte les effets environnementaux du transport maritime associé au projet selon les exigences de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) ainsi que les effets nocifs de ce même transport maritime selon les exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

9. Le projet est assorti de combien de conditions?

En cas d’approbation, le projet serait assujetti à 156 conditions. L’Office a transformé en recommandation une des 157 conditions présentées au gouvernement du Canada à la suite de la première audience en plus d’en réviser six autres. Il a en outre soumis en tout 16 nouvelles recommandations au gouvernement.

10. De quelle façon les recommandations seraient-elles incorporées?

Les 16 recommandations que l’Office a formulé à l’intention du gouvernement du Canada portent sur le transport maritime connexe au projet. Elles débordent de son propre mandat et échappent généralement au contrôle de Trans Mountain quant à leur mise en œuvre. Le gouvernement se penchera sur ces recommandations et décidera dans un premier temps si elles doivent être mises en œuvre, puis, dans un second, le cas échéant, de la façon de faire.

11. Quel est le lien entre ce Rapport de réexamen et les consultations en cours menées auprès des peuples autochtones par le gouvernement du Canada? Quelles sont les répercussions à cet égard?

Le réexamen de l’Office s’inscrit dans le processus plus vaste de consultation des peuples autochtones au regard de leurs droits protégés par la Constitution. Il peut aussi servir à orienter la « phase III » des consultations supplémentaires que le gouvernement du Canada tient parallèlement et séparément en ce moment. L’Office a pris en compte les aspects des consultations qui étaient utiles au réexamen et pour lesquels des éléments de preuve avaient été versés au dossier.

12. Quel a été le degré de participation des peuples autochtones à l’audience de réexamen?

L’audience de réexamen a accueilli un total de 118 intervenants, dont 52 de peuples autochtones. Ceux-ci ont une tradition orale par laquelle ils transmettent leur savoir de génération en génération, mais cette information peut être difficile à communiquer correctement par écrit. L’Office a donc transmis une invitation spéciale à tous les intervenants autochtones afin de leur permettre de produire une preuve traditionnelle orale. Cela n’excluait nullement la possibilité de prendre part à toutes les étapes de l’audience sur pièces, soit le dépôt de la preuve, les demandes de renseignements et la plaidoirie. L’Office a entendu la preuve traditionnelle orale à l’occasion des intervenants autochtones sur environ trois semaines à Calgary, en Alberta, ainsi qu’à Victoria et à Nanaimo, en Colombie-Britannique.

13. Pourquoi les incidences maritimes n’ont-elles pas été incluses dans la portée de l’évaluation initiale de l’Office?

Le transport maritime associé au projet avait été étudié dans le cadre de l’examen réglementaire initial de l’Office, mais uniquement selon les dispositions de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et non selon celles de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012). Le 30 août 2018, la Cour d’appel fédérale a infirmé l’approbation du projet en partie parce que, selon elle, l’Office avait exclu de façon injustifiable le transport maritime connexe de la portée du « projet désigné » examiné aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012).

14. Explain the NEB’s decision to include Project-related marine shipping between the Westridge Marine Terminal and the “12-nautical-mile territorial sea limit” as part of the designated project?

Le 26 septembre 2018, l’Office a sollicité des commentaires sur la question à savoir si le transport maritime connexe au projet devait être incluse dans le contexte du « projet désigné » à évaluer aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012). Il a par la suite sollicité d’autres commentaires, cette fois quant à l’étendue à privilégier, soit la limite des eaux territoriales de 12 miles nautiques ou la zone économique exclusive de 200 miles nautiques du Canada.

Après analyse fondée sur certains principes, l’Office a décidé d’inclure le transport maritime connexe au projet entre le terminal Westridge et la limite des eaux territoriales de 12 miles nautiques dans le contexte du « projet désigné ». Les motifs de cette décision sont présentés dans le [document 3643299].

Date de modification :