Summary of Recommendation - Trans Mountain Expansion Project

Trans Mountain Expansion Project

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) finds that the Trans Mountain Expansion Project (Project) is in Canada’s public interest and recommends that Governor in Council (GIC) approve the Project, subject to 157 conditions. Should GIC approve the Project, it would direct the Board to issue a new Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN) and amended CPCNs. The associated regulatory instruments (Instruments) issued by the Board would only come into effect if GIC approves the Project.

The Project

The Project proposes to expand the existing Trans Mountain pipeline system between Edmonton, AB and Burnaby, B.C., nearly tripling the capacity to ship oil from 300,000 barrels per day (bpd) to 890,000 bpd.

Almost 90 per cent of the pipeline route for the Project parallels existing disturbance, including the right-of-way for Trans Mountain’s existing pipeline. This is appropriate, as it reduces the requirements for new right-of-way disturbance, minimizes the potential impacts of construction, and reduces effects on nearby residents and communities.

The Project includes approximately 987 km of new pipeline, new and modified facilities, such as pump stations and tanks, and the reactivation of 193 km of existing pipeline. The Westridge Marine Terminal (WMT) would also be expanded. Oil would be loaded onto tankers at the WMT for Washington State, California and Asia.

A full description of the Project is provided in Chapter 1 of the National Energy Board Report (Report).

Environmental Assessment

The Board completed a full and comprehensive environmental assessment. The Board’s environmental assessment fulfils the requirements of both the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act) and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012). The Board is of the view that overall, with the implementation of Trans Mountain’s environmental protection procedures and mitigation and the Board’s recommended conditions, the Project would not likely cause significant adverse environmental effects. While the Board recommends there be no findings of significant adverse environmental effects pursuant to the CEAA 2012, the Board found significant effects related to increases in marine shipping assessed under the NEB Act. These are described in Chapter 14 of the Report.

While marine shipping is not part of the Project, and is not regulated by the NEB, the Board, as part of its overall public interest determination, considered the potential environmental effects and socio-economic effects of increased marine shipping activities. This included the potential effects of accidents or malfunctions.

Benefits of the Project

In considering whether the Project is in the public interest, the Board concluded there would be a number of important benefits for Canada. These benefits would be considerable and include:

  • increased access to diverse markets for Canadian oil;
  • thousands of construction jobs and hundreds of long-term jobs directly related to the Project across Canada;
  • the development of capacity of local and Indigenous individuals, communities and businesses;
  • considerable benefit from direct spending on pipeline materials in Canada; and
  • considerable government revenues from the Project.

Indigenous Interests

The Board considered the concerns expressed by Indigenous groups, how the Project and related tanker traffic could impact Indigenous interests, and the appropriate means of mitigating such impacts. The Board’s process is designed to be thorough and accessible to Indigenous groups so that they may make their concerns known to the Board and have those concerns considered and addressed.

Should the Project proceed, Trans Mountain would be required to continue its consultation with potentially affected Indigenous groups throughout the life of the Project. As part of the Board’s conditions, Trans Mountain would report to the Board on its consultation with Indigenous groups during construction and through the first five years of operations. Consultation would include the development of a number of plans related to, among other things, environmental protection and emergency response programs.

Commitments and conditions

Trans Mountain has formally committed to specific mitigation measures and should GIC approve the Project, the Board would attach 157 conditions to the CPCNs and Instruments that cover a wide range of matters, including:

  • emergency preparedness and response
  • protection of the environment
  • consultation with those affected, including Indigenous communities
  • socio-economic matters
  • safety, and integrity of the pipeline
  • commercial support for the Project prior to construction
  • financial responsibility

Residual Burdens of Project-related marine shipping

Even with Trans Mountain’s commitments and the Board’s conditions, some impacts or residual burdens would remain, and were fully considered and weighed by the Board in coming to its recommendation. The full description of how the Board balanced the benefits and burdens can be found in Chapter 2 of the Report.

In regard to residual burdens from Project-related marine vessels, the Board kept in mind that Project-related vessels would follow a route that currently has high levels of vessel traffic, and that, even if the Project does not proceed, the level of traffic is predicted to increase in the future. While the effects from Project-related marine vessels would be a small fraction of the total cumulative effects, the Board found that the operation of Project-related marine vessels would further contribute to cumulative effects that are already jeopardizing the recovery of the Southern resident killer whale. Therefore, the Board finds that the operation of Project-related marine vessels would likely result in significant adverse effects to the Southern resident killer whale, and on Indigenous cultural use associated with the Southern resident killer whale.

Furthermore, the current and predicted future vessel traffic, even if the Project does not proceed, would contribute to an increase in Canadian greenhouse gas emissions. While the Board recognizes that emissions from Project-related marine vessels would be a small percentage relative to Canadian greenhouse gas emissions, given that there are no regulatory reporting thresholds or specific requirements for marine greenhouse gas emissions in Canada, the Board finds the greenhouse gas emissions from Project-related marine vessels would likely be significant.

The Board also took into consideration the likelihood and potential consequence of a large spill from the Project or from a Project-related tanker. The Board finds that both of these events would be of very low probability given all of the mitigation and safety measures being implemented, but nonetheless, would have a significant effect in the event of a large spill. This factored into the Board’s assessment of burdens.

Balancing the benefits and residual burdens to reach its public interest recommendation

The Board weighed the totality of the benefits and residual burdens to come to its public interest recommendation under the NEB Act. In making its recommendation, the Board focussed on the overall Canadian public interest. On the whole, taking into account all of the evidence in the hearing, considering all relevant factors, and given that there are considerable benefits nationally, regionally and to some degree locally, the Board found that the benefits of the Project would outweigh the residual burdens. Accordingly, the Board concludes that the Project is in the Canadian public interest.

Lifecycle Regulation

Should the GIC approve the Project, it is important to keep in mind that approval of the Project, through the issuance of the CPCNs and Instruments, is just one phase in the Board’s lifecycle regulation. Throughout the lifecycle of the Project, the NEB would hold Trans Mountain accountable for meeting its regulatory requirements in order to keep its pipelines and facilities safe and secure, and protect people, property and the environment.

What’s next?

As required by the NEB Act, the Board has submitted its recommendation to the Minister of Natural Resources Canada. The Government of Canada announced in January 2016 an interim approach for reviewing major natural resource projects.

Additional information regarding the Interim Measures for Pipeline Reviews can be found at:

Date modified:

Résumé de la recommandation - Projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain

Projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain

L’Office national de l’énergie conclut que le projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain (le projet) est dans l’intérêt public du Canada et recommande au gouverneur en conseil d’approuver le projet sous réserve de 157 conditions. Si le gouverneur en conseil approuve le projet, il donnerait instruction à l’Office d’émettre un nouveau certificat d’utilité publique et des certificats modifiés. Les textes de réglementation connexes que l’Office a publiés prendraient uniquement effet si le gouverneur en conseil approuvait le projet.

Projet

Le projet propose l’agrandissement du réseau pipelinier de Trans Mountain entre Edmonton, en Alberta, et Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique, pour presque tripler la capacité de transport de pétrole, qui passerait de 300 000 à 890 000 barils par jour (b/j).

Près de 90 % du tracé du pipeline pour le projet longe des perturbations existantes, y compris l’emprise du pipeline actuel de Trans Mountain. Cet emplacement est jugé approprié, car il réduit la nécessité de nouvelles perturbations liées à l’emprise, les incidences éventuelles de la construction et les effets sur les résidents et les collectivités à proximité.

Le projet prévoit la construction d’un nouveau pipeline d’environ 987 kilomètres, l’ajout et la modification d’installations telles que stations de pompage et réservoirs, ainsi que la remise en service d’un pipeline long de 193 kilomètres. Le terminal maritime Westridge serait lui aussi agrandi. Le pétrole serait chargé dans des navires-citernes au terminal maritime Westridge pour être transporté jusqu’à l’État de Washington en Californie, et en Asie.

Une description complète du projet est présentée au chapitre 1 du rapport de l’Office national de l’énergie (le rapport).

Évaluation environnementale

L’Office a effectué une évaluation environnementale exhaustive. Celle-ci satisfait aux exigences de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012). L’Office est d’avis que, dans l’ensemble, le projet ne serait pas susceptible d’entraîner des effets environnementaux négatifs importants si les procédures de protection de l’environnement et d’atténuation de Trans Mountain sont mises en œuvre et les conditions de l’Office respectées. Bien que l’Office recommande qu’il n’y ait pas de constatations au chapitre des effets environnementaux négatifs importants aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012), il a observé des effets importants liés à l’accroissement du transport maritime évalué en vertu de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie. Ces effets sont présentés au chapitre 14 du rapport.

Le transport maritime ne fait pas partie du projet et n’est pas assujetti à la réglementation de l’Office, mais l’Office, dans l’établissement général de la conformité à l’intérêt public, a tenu compte des effets environnementaux et socioéconomiques éventuels d’activités accrues de transport maritime, notamment des éventuelles répercussions d’accidents ou de défaillances.

Avantages du projet

En évaluant si le projet est dans l’intérêt public, l’Office a conclu qu’il comporterait de nombreux avantages pour le Canada. Ceux-ci seraient considérables et comprendraient, entre autres :

  • un accès accru aux divers marchés pour le pétrole canadien;
  • la création de milliers d’emplois dans le domaine de la construction et de centaines d’emplois à long terme, qui seraient directement reliés au projet, et ce, partout au Canada;
  • le renforcement de la capacité des entreprises, des collectivités et des résidents locaux et autochtones;
  • les dépenses directes engagées relativement aux matériaux pour les pipelines au Canada;
  • la génération d’importantes recettes pour les gouvernements.

Intérêts autochtones

L’Office a tenu compte des préoccupations exprimées par les groupes autochtones, de la façon dont le projet et la circulation de navires-citernes qui y sont associés pourraient avoir une incidence sur les intérêts autochtones, et de la façon appropriée d’atténuer de telles répercussions. Le processus de l’Office est conçu pour être exhaustif et accessible aux groupes autochtones pour leur permettre d’exposer leurs préoccupations de sorte qu’elles soient connues de l’Office, prises en considération et réglées.

Si le projet devait aller de l’avant, Trans Mountain serait tenue de poursuivre tout au long du projet sa consultation auprès des groupes autochtones susceptibles d’être touchés. Parmi les conditions qu’exigerait l’Office, Trans Mountain déposerait auprès de l’Office des rapports sur sa consultation auprès des groupes autochtones durant la construction et au cours des cinq premières années d’exploitation. La consultation porterait notamment sur l’élaboration de certains plans liés, entre autres, à la protection de l’environnement et aux programmes d’intervention d’urgence.

Engagements et conditions

Trans Mountain s’est formellement engagée à adopter des mesures d’atténuation particulières et si le gouverneur en conseil approuve le projet, l’Office inclurait 157 conditions aux certificats d’utilité publique et aux textes de réglementation, qui portent sur un éventail de questions, dont :

  • la préparation et l’intervention d’urgence;
  • la protection de l’environnement;
  • la consultation des personnes touchées, dont les collectivités autochtones;
  • les questions socioéconomiques;
  • la sécurité et l’intégrité du pipeline;
  • le soutien commercial du projet avant les travaux de construction;
  • la responsabilité financière.

Inconvénients résiduels du transport maritime lié au projet

Malgré les engagements de Trans Mountain et les conditions de l’Office, quelques répercussions ou inconvénients résiduels persisteraient, et l’Office les a entièrement examinés et soupesés pour en venir à sa recommandation. La description complète de la façon dont l’Office a soupesé les avantages et les inconvénients se trouve au chapitre 2 du rapport.

En ce qui concerne les inconvénients résiduels découlant des navires liés au projet, l’Office s’est rappelé que ces derniers suivraient un tracé actuellement très achalandé et que la circulation devrait augmenter dans les années à venir, même si le projet ne va pas de l’avant. Bien que les effets des navires liés au projet ne représenteraient qu’une petite fraction des effets cumulatifs, l’Office a constaté que l’exploitation de ces navires contribuerait davantage aux effets cumulatifs qui menacent déjà le rétablissement des épaulards résidents du sud. Par conséquent, l’Office conclut que l’exploitation de navires liés au projet serait susceptible d’avoir des effets négatifs importants sur les épaulards résidents du sud et sur l’utilisation qu’en font les Autochtones à des fins culturelles.

De plus, la circulation actuelle et future prévue des bateaux, même si le projet ne va pas de l’avant, contribuerait à l’augmentation des émissions de gaz à effet de serre au Canada. Bien que l’Office reconnaisse que les émissions provenant des navires liés au projet ne représenteraient qu’un faible pourcentage comparativement aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre au Canada, et puisqu’il n’existe pas de seuils de déclaration réglementaire ou d’exigences particulières en ce qui concerne les émissions de gaz à effet de serre découlant des activités maritimes au Canada, l’Office estime que les émissions de gaz à effet de serre provenant des navires liés au projet risqueraient d’être considérables.

L’Office a également tenu compte de la possibilité et des conséquences éventuelles d’un important déversement découlant du projet ou provenant d’un navire-citerne lié au projet. Il juge que ces deux éventualités seraient peu probables en raison de toutes les mesures d’atténuation et de sécurité mises en œuvre, mais estime néanmoins qu’elles auraient des conséquences considérables dans le cas d’un déversement important. Il en a tenu compte dans l’évaluation des inconvénients.

Comparaison des avantages et des inconvénients résiduels menant à recommandation dans le contexte de l’intérêt public

L’Office a soupesé la totalité des avantages et des inconvénients résiduels pour en venir à formuler sa recommandation relative à l’intérêt public en vertu de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie. En faisant sa recommandation, il s’est concentré sur l’intérêt public général des Canadiennes et des Canadiens. Dans l’ensemble, en tenant compte de tous les éléments de preuve de l’audience, de tous les facteurs pertinents et du fait qu’il y a des avantages considérables à l’échelle nationale, régionale et, dans une certaine mesure, locale, l’Office a jugé que les avantages du projet l’emporteraient sur les inconvénients résiduels. Par conséquent, il conclut que le projet est dans l’intérêt du public canadien.

Réglementation tout au long du cycle de vie

Si le gouverneur en conseil approuve le projet, il est important de se rappeler que son approbation, par l’émission des certificats d’utilité publique et des textes de réglementation, ne constitue qu’une étape de la réglementation axée sur le cycle de vie de l’Office. Tout au long du projet, l’Office tiendrait Trans Mountain responsable de satisfaire aux exigences réglementaires de façon à tenir ses pipelines et ses installations sécuritaires et à protéger les personnes, les biens et l’environnement.

Et maintenant?

Comme l’exige la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, l’Office a présenté sa recommandation au ministère des Ressources naturelles. Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé en janvier 2016 l’approche provisoire qu’il entend adopter pour les examens des projets majeurs liés aux ressources naturelles.

D’autres renseignements concernant les mesures provisoires pour l’examen des projets de pipelines se trouvent à l’adresse suivante : http://bggp.gc.ca/mesures/255.

Date de modification :