On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

NEB requests additional information from TransCanada regarding Keystone XL

The National Energy Board (Board) has issued an Information Request (IR) for additional information from TransCanada’s Keystone Pipeline GP Ltd. The IR has been issued in response to updates provided to the NEB by Keystone with the intent of beginning construction of the Keystone XL Pipeline in early 2019.

On August 29, 2018, Keystone submitted a portion of its Environmental Protection Plan to the Board, regarding condition 13(b). Further updates were provided by Keystone for conditions 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 12 on September 28, 2018, with the intent of beginning construction in early 2019.

The Board has requested additional information from Keystone, as set out in the IR.

On March 11, 2010, the Board approved the Keystone XL Pipeline Project, subject to 22 conditions. This followed a careful consideration of the evidence, and a rigorous, science-based and thorough review of the Keystone XL Pipeline Project.

Most of the conditions imposed require Keystone to file documentation with the Board to demonstrate compliance. In some cases, the Board needs to review and approve the documentation before Keystone can move forward.

Keystone is directed to file responses to Board IR No. 2 by noon, Calgary time, on January 4, 2018. Keystone is also reminded, in the covering letter for the IR, that Conditions 7, 8 and 13 state that construction of any project component shall not commence until the associated condition filings are approved by the Board.

Quick Facts

  • On February 27, 2009 TransCanada Keystone Pipeline GP Ltd. applied to the Board to build and operate the Keystone XL Pipeline. The Canadian portion of the pipeline would stretch for 529 kilometres from Hardisty, Alberta to the Canada/US border at Monchy, Saskatchewan.
  • The 914 millimetre outside diameter or nominal pipe size 36 pipeline would ship approximately 111 300 m³/d (700,000 barrels per day) of crude oil.
  • The Keystone XL Pipeline would be an addition to Base Keystone, a pipeline which already runs from Hardisty, AB to Haskett, Manitoba. The Base Keystone Pipeline was approved by the NEB in 2007 and began operation in 2010. The Base Keystone system includes the Keystone Pipeline and the Cushing expansion, which went into operation in 2014. The Base Keystone pipeline, together with the Keystone XL Project, is referred to as the Keystone system.
  • The Board carried out a rigorous, science-based and thorough review of the Keystone XL Pipeline Project. After careful consideration of the evidence, the Board approved the Keystone XL Pipeline Project, subject to 22 conditions, on 11 March 2010.
  • Governor-in-Council directed the NEB to issue a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity on April 22, 2010.
Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Nouvelle demande de renseignements de l’Office adressée à TransCanada au sujet de Keystone XL

L’Office national de l’énergie a présenté une nouvelle demande de renseignements à TransCanada Keystone Pipeline GP Ltd. après avoir pris connaissance de l’information mise à jour par la société dans le but d’entreprendre la construction du pipeline Keystone XL au début de 2019.

Le 29 août 2018, Keystone a remis à l’Office une partie de son plan de protection de l’environnement en rapport avec la condition 13b). Des mises à jour ont suivi le 28 septembre 2018 au sujet des conditions 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 et 12 en vue d’une mise en chantier souhaitée au début de 2019.

L’Office a présenté une nouvelle demande de renseignements à Keystone.

Le 11 mars 2010, l’Office a approuvé le projet de pipeline Keystone XL, sous réserve de 22 conditions. Cette approbation a été le fruit d’un examen exhaustif et rigoureux de la preuve, fondé sur la science, du projet de pipeline Keystone XL.

Pour la plupart, les conditions imposées exigent de Keystone qu’elle dépose devant l’Office des documents démontrant qu’elles sont satisfaites. Dans certains cas, l’Office doit examiner et approuver les documents ainsi déposés avant que Keystone ne puisse aller de l’avant.

L’Office ordonne à Keystone de répondre à sa demande de renseignements no 2 au plus tard le 4 janvier 2018 à midi, heure de Calgary. Il rappelle aussi à la société, dans la lettre qui accompagne sa demande, que les conditions 7, 8 et 13 stipulent que la construction de toute composante du projet ne peut être entreprise tant que les documents requis n’ont pas été approuvés.

En bref

  • Le 27 février 2009, TransCanada Keystone Pipeline GP Ltd. a présenté une demande à l’Office en vue de construire et d’exploiter le pipeline Keystone XL. La partie en sol canadien du pipeline s’étendrait sur 529 km, de Hardisty, en Alberta, jusqu’à la frontière canado-américaine à Monchy, en Saskatchewan.
  • Le pipeline, d’un diamètre extérieur de 914 mm, ce qui correspond à un diamètre nominal de 36 po, transporterait environ 111 300 m³/j (700 000 b/j) de pétrole brut.
  • Le pipeline Keystone XL serait un ajout au pipeline Keystone d’origine, qui s’étend de Hardisty, en Alberta, jusqu’à Haskett, au Manitoba. Ce dernier a été approuvé par l’Office en 2007 et son exploitation a débuté en 2010. Il comprend aussi le prolongement Cushing, qui a été mis en service en 2014. Le tout porte le nom de réseau Keystone.
  • L’Office a mené un examen exhaustif, rigoureux et fondé sur la science du projet de pipeline Keystone XL. Ayant soigneusement examiné la preuve, il a approuvé le projet de pipeline Keystone XL, sous réserve de 22 conditions, le 11 mars 2010.
  • Le gouverneur en conseil a donné instruction à l’Office de délivrer un certificat d’utilité publique le 22 avril 2010.
Date de modification :