Frontier Information Office Services

Notice: On 1 April 2014, the Government of the Northwest Territories assumes responsibility for the regulation of onshore oil and gas activities in the NWT outside of the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and the Norman Wells Proven Area and other miscellaneous federal lands. More information and a link to the Service Agreement can be found on our website under North / Offshore > NEB Regulatory Oversight in NWT Post-Devolution.

The Frontier Information Office (FIO) provides services to the public and the oil and gas industry. Companies or individuals seeking technical information about oil and gas activities on NEB-regulated frontier lands can contact the Regulatory Data Analyst (403-292-4800 or 1-800-899-1265 toll-free) to make an appointment to view and copy information. The room is only available to one party at a time in order to protect the confidentiality of the users.

Services available through the FIO include:

  • referrals to appropriate organizations for authorizations related to oil and gas operations and activities on frontier lands;
  • access to well and geophysical data;
  • a private viewing room available by appointment for researching reports;
  • self-serve printing of paper copies from microfilm; and
  • information packages for oil and gas land rights issuance (Call for Bids) from Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) - Northern Petroleum Resources.

The FIO is open to the public (by appointment) Monday to Friday, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., and is located at:

2nd Floor, 517 Tenth Avenue SW Calgary, Alberta

A variety of geophysical, sampling and well history reports are available for viewing and copying at the Frontier Information Office. For information on Newfoundland and Labrador wells, contact the Canada-Newfoundland Offshore Petroleum Board or 709-778-1400. Nova Scotia well information is held by the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board or at 902-422-5588.

Description of Reports

At this time, all reports are only available only on microfiche at the NEB. Printed copies of the data can be made in the FIO.

Geophysical reports generally include a discussion of the operation, interpretation of results and seismic processing parameters.

Sampling reports cover a variety of subject fields such as geological, paleontological and geochemical sampling reports. Specific analysis of core and cutting samples may also be available.

Well history reports include operational information, logs, tour sheets, test results and geological descriptions of samples.

Northern cores, cuttings and fluid samples are stored on behalf of the NEB at the Geological Survey of Canada in Calgary, Alberta while East Coast materials are at the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board Core Storage and Laboratory in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia.

Date modified:

Services du Bureau d'information sur les terres domaniales

Avis : Le 1er avril 2014, le Bureau de l’organisme de réglementation des opérations pétrolières et gazières (le « BOROP »), du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (« TNO »), est devenu responsable de la réglementation des activités pétrolières et gazières sur la terre ferme à l’intérieur des limites des TNO, sauf pour la région désignée des Inuvialuit, la réserve prouvée de la région de Norman Wells et diverses autres terres de compétence fédérale. On peut trouver plus d’information dans notre site Web sous Nord / En mer > Surveillance réglementaire de l'Office après le transfert de responsabilités aux T.N.-O.

Le Bureau d'information sur les terres domaniales (BITD) donne des services au public et à l'industrie pétrolière et gazière. Les sociétés et les particuliers qui désirent obtenir des renseignements techniques sur les activités pétrolières et gazières menées sur les terres domaniales relevant de l'ONÉ peuvent communiquer avec l'Analyste des données de réglementation (403-292-4800 ou, sans frais, 1-800-899-1265) pour prendre rendez-vous afin de consulter et de copier ces renseignements. À l'heure actuelle, une seule personne à la fois peut consulter les documents, afin de protéger l'identité des utilisateurs.

Le BITD offre les services suivants :

  • aiguillage vers les organismes pouvant accorder des autorisations pour des opérations pétrolières et gazières sur les terres domaniales;
  • accès aux données sur les puits et aux données géophysiques;
  • salle de visionnement privée disponible sur rendez-vous, afin de consulter des rapports;
  • libre-service d'impression sur papier des microfilms;
  • trousse d'information sur l'attribution de droits fonciers aux fins d'activités pétrolières et gazières (appels d'offres) d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) - Ressources pétrolières du Nord.

Le BITD est accessible au public (sur rendez-vous), du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h à 16 h. Le bureau est situé au :

2e étage, 517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., Calgary (Alberta)

On y trouve une foule de rapports géophysiques, de rapports d'échantillonnage et de rapports sur l'historique des puits pour consultation et reproduction. En ce qui a trait aux puits qui se trouvent à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, veuillez communiquer avec l'Office Canada–Terre-Neuve des hydrocarbures extracôtiers [anglais seulement] ou appeler au 709-778-1400. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les puits en Nouvelle-Écosse, consultez le site Web de l'Office Canada-Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers [anglais seulement] ou appelez au 902 422-5588.

Description des rapports

À l'heure actuelle, les rapports ne sont disponibles que sur microfiches au bureau de l'ONÉ. Il est possible d'imprimer ces rapports au BITD.

Les rapports géophysiques comprennent généralement une analyse des opérations et une interprétation des résultats ainsi que les paramètres de traitement des données sismiques.

Les rapports d'échantillonnage portent sur de nombreux domaines, notamment la géologie, la paléontologie et la géochimie. On y trouve également des analyses de carottes et des déblais de forage.

Les rapports sur l'historique de puits renferment des renseignements opérationnels, des diagraphies, des rapports de forage, les résultats des essais et des descriptions géologiques des échantillons.

Les carottes, les déblais de forage et les échantillons liquides du Nord sont conservés pour l'ONÉ par la Commission géologique du Canada à Calgary (Alberta), tandis que ceux provenant de la côte Est sont conservés au Centre de stockage et laboratoire de l'Office Canada-Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers à Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse).

Date de modification :