Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape – Energy Market Analysis

Aerial view of Niagara Falls on a sunny, clear day

Ontario

Ontario generated more than one third of its electricity from renewable sources in 2015, up from 23% in 2005. Hydroelectric generation, which accounts for most of that power, remained relatively unchanged between 2005 and 2015.

However, generation from biomass more than tripled, and generation from wind and solar went from almost nothing in 2005 to 6% and 2% of generation, respectively.

Ontario leads Canada in wind and solar capacity. In the last decade, wind capacity increased by 4 359 MW, reaching 4 374 MW in 2015. Solar capacity increased from 17 MW in 2005 to 2 119 MW in 2015. Most of the province’s solar installations are small systems connected to local distribution networks, but the first commercial transmission-connected solar farms were built in 2015.

Power generation in Ontario is publicly and privately owned. Ontario Power Generation, a provincial Crown corporation, is one of the largest electricity producers in North America. At the end of 2015, it had 17 055 MW of hydroelectric, nuclear, biomass and other thermal generating capacity.

Ontario’s remaining power plants are owned by private entities, such as Bruce Power, TransCanada, Brookfield Renewable Power, and various independent power producers.

Ontario phased out the use of coal in 2014. The Lakeview coal-fired plant was shut down in 2005, followed by Atikokan in 2012, Lambton and Nanticoke in 2013, and Thunder Bay in 2014. In 2013, The Ending Coal for Cleaner Air Act was introduced to ensure no future coal plants are built in Ontario.

Most of the growth in renewable project development has occurred within the last seven years through the FIT Program which promotes the use of renewable energy sources including on-shore wind, hydro, biomass, biogas, landfill gas, and solar PV. The FIT Program was introduced as part of the 2009 Green Energy and Economy Act and is open to projects between 10 kW and 500 kW. Projects with a capacity of 10 kW or less may qualify under the microFIT program. Both programs are administered by the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO).

In June 2016, the combined capacity contracted through four waves of the FIT Program totaled 4 864 MW; of which 67 MW were bio-energy, 1 672 MW solar, 2 964 MW wind and 162 MW hydroelectricity. In addition, 177 MW of combined contract capacity from solar generation was in commercial operation under the microFIT Program.

The procurement of renewable projects continues. In 2016, the IESO awarded contracts for over 450 MW under the first phase of the Large Renewable Procurement program.

The 2013 Long Term Energy Plan sets a long-term conservation target of 30 TW.h by 2032 which represents a 16% reduction in forecasted electricity demand compared to what was forecast in the absence of the program. It also outlines a goal to use Demand Response to meet 10% of peak demand by 2025, equivalent to approximately 2 400 MW. Demand Response occurs when consumers reduce their electricity consumption in response to price signals and system needs, shifting demand from peak to off-peak times.

The Ontario government is committed to increasing the amount of renewable energy to 20 000 MW by 2025. This equals almost half of Ontario’s current installed capacity. The amount of wind, solar and bioenergy capacity would gradually increase to 10 700 MW by 2021. Hydroelectric capacity would reach 9 300 MW by 2025.

In April 2015, the Ontario government announced plans to introduce a cap and trade program by becoming part of the carbon trading market with Quebec and California. This was followed by the Climate Change Mitigation and Low-carbon Economy Act 2016 which sets targets for the reduction of GHGs and establishes the framework for Ontario’s cap and trade program.

TABLE 7 Renewable Electric Capacity and Generation in Ontario
  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2005 2015
Hydro 8 505 8 768 35 480 37 300
27% 22% 22% 23%
Wind 15 4 374 26 10 200
0% 11% 0% 6%
Biomass 209 574 1 252 3 899
1% 1% 1% 2%
Solar 17 2 119 0 3 001
0.1% 5% 0% 2%
All renewable sources 8 745 15 835 36 757 54 400
  28% 40% 23% 34%
All sources 31 575 39 345 159 335 159 999

This table shows Ontario's electric capacity and generation from renewables in 2005 and 2015. The share of hydro in total capacity decreased from 27% to 22% while the share of wind increased from 0% to 11%, the share of biomass remained stable at 1% and the share of solar increased from 0.1% to 5%. The share of hydro in total generation increased from 22% to 23% while the share of wind increased from 0% to 6%, the share of biomass from 1% to 2% and the share of solar from 0% to 2%.

FIGURE 13 Renewable Resources and Capacity in Ontario

FIGURE 13 Renewable Resources and Capacity in Ontario

Text version of this map

This map shows the location and approximate capacity of renewable power plants with a capacity of at least 10 MW across Ontario. Hydroelectric plants are concentrated in the Niagara region and along the Quebec border. The majority of wind and solar resources are located near the south and east coasts of lakes Ontario, Erie and Huron, while biomass resources are concentrated in the north.

FIGURE 14 Electric Generation Capacity in Ontario

FIGURE 14 Electric Generation Capacity in Ontario

Text version of this graphic

This bar graph shows Ontario’s total electric capacity in 2005 and 2015 for all fuel sources. Capacity increased from 31 575 MW to 39 345 MW, with renewables increasing from 28% to 40% of total capacity.

A distant view of Parliament from the Ottawa River

 

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Vue aérienne des chutes du Niagara par une belle journée ensoleillée

Ontario

L’électricité produite en Ontario provenait de sources d’énergie renouvelable dans une proportion de plus d’un tiers en 2015 alors que c’était le cas pour 23 % de cette production en 2005. Quand on parle d’énergie renouvelable ici, on parle surtout d’hydroélectricité, tant en 2015 qu’en 2005.

Pendant ce temps toutefois, la production tirée de la biomasse a plus que triplé alors que, de presque nulle, l’énergie solaire est passée à 2 % de la production totale et l’éolienne à 6 %.

C’est en Ontario où la capacité éolienne et solaire est la plus élevée au Canada. Dans le premier cas, elle a augmenté de 4 359 MW en dix ans pour atteindre 4 374 MW en 2015. Dans le second, elle est passée de 17 MW à 2 119 MW pendant le même intervalle. Pour la plupart, les installations solaires de la province sont petites et reliées à des réseaux de distribution locaux, mais les premiers parcs solaires commerciaux de plus grande envergure ont été construits en 2015.

L’électricité en Ontario est produite tant par des sociétés privées que des entreprises publiques. Ontario Power Generation [anglais seulement], une société d’État provinciale, compte parmi les plus gros producteurs d’électricité en Amérique du Nord. À la fin de 2015, sa capacité de production à partir de centrales hydroélectriques ou nucléaires, de la biomasse ou d’autres installations thermiques totalisait 17 055 MW.

Les centrales restantes de la province appartiennent à des entités privées comme Bruce Power [anglais seulement], TransCanada [anglais seulement], Brookfield Renewable Power [anglais seulement] et divers producteurs d’électricité indépendants.

L’Ontario a abandonné le recours au charbon en 2014 avec la fermeture de la centrale de Thunder Bay, qui avait suivi celle des centrales Lakeview en 2005, Atikokan en 2012 ainsi que Lambton et Nanticoke en 2013. Cette même année, le projet de loi sur l’élimination du charbon pour purifier l’air avait été adopté, interdisant toute nouvelle construction de telle centrale dans la province.

La croissance enregistrée au cours des sept dernières années à la suite de l’aménagement de projets ciblant des sources d’énergie renouvelable est principalement due au programme de tarif de rachat garanti [anglais seulement], qui fait la promotion de telles énergies, notamment les éoliennes côtières, l’hydroélectricité, la biomasse, le biogaz, les gaz d’enfouissement et le PV. Ce programme a suivi l’adoption de la Loi de 2009 sur l’énergie verte et vise les projets allant de 10 à 500 kW. Sous cette barre, le programme pour micro-projets [anglais seulement] pourrait s’appliquer. Les deux programmes sont administrés par la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité [anglais seulement] (SIERE).

En juin 2016, la capacité de production attribuable à quatre séries de contrats au titre du programme de tarif de rachat garanti totalisait 4 864 MW, dont 67 MW pour la bioénergie, 1 672 MW pour le solaire, 2 964 MW pour l’éolien et 162 MW pour l’hydroélectricité. En outre, des contrats accordés aux termes du programme pour micro-projets ont débouché sur une capacité totale de production de 177 MW d’énergie solaire.

Les projets d’énergie renouvelable continuent de se succéder et en 2016, la SIERE a accordé des contrats représentant plus de 450 MW à la première étape du programme d’appel d’offres concurrentiel pour de grands projets d’énergie renouvelable [anglais seulement].

La version 2013 du Plan énergétique à long terme définit des cibles d’économies de 32 TWh d’ici 2032, ce qui représente une régression de 16 %, pour ce qui est des prévisions de la demande d’électricité, comparativement à ce que cette demande serait en l’absence du programme précité. Le plan précise aussi un objectif pour le passage à une consommation adaptée à la demande, qui est de 10 % pour les périodes de pointe d’ici 2025, soit l’équivalent de quelque 2 400 MW. Dans un tel contexte, les utilisateurs réduisent leur consommation d’électricité en fonction des prix et des besoins du réseau, faisant basculer la demande au profit des périodes hors pointe.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’est engagé à faire passer la quantité d’énergie renouvelable à 20 000 MW d’ici 2025, ce qui représente presque la moitié de la puissance installée actuelle dans la province. Alliée à la bioénergie, la capacité en énergie éolienne et solaire atteindrait, par paliers, 10 700 MW d’ici 2021, tandis que celle de l’hydroélectricité se situerait à 9 300 MW en 2025.

En avril 2015, le gouvernement ontarien a rendu publique son intention d’adopter un programme de plafonnement et d’échange de droits, indiquant qu’il s’associera ainsi à un marché réunissant déjà le Québec et la Californie. A suivi la Loi de 2016 sur l’atténuation du changement climatique et sur une économie sobre en carbone, laquelle établit des cibles de réduction des GES en plus de présenter le cadre du programme de plafonnement et d’échange de droits de l’Ontario.

TABLEAU 7 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables en Ontario
  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2005 2015
Hydroélectricité 8 505 8 768 35 480 37 300
27 % 22 % 22 % 23 %
Éolien 15 4 374 26 10 200
0% 11% 0% 6%
Biomasse 209 574 1 252 3 899
1 % 1 % 1 % 2 %
Solaire 17 2 119 0 3 001
0,1 % 5 % 0 % 2 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 8 745 15 835 36 757 54 400
  28 % 40 % 23 % 34 %
De toute source 31 575 39 345 159 335 159 999

Ce tableau compare la capacité de production et la production d’électricité à partir de ressources renouvelables en Ontario en 2005 et 2015. La part de l’hydroélectricité de la capacité totale a diminué de 27 % à 22 %, tandis que celle de l’énergie éolienne a augmenté de 0 % à 11 %, celle de la biomasse est demeurée stable à 1 % et celle de l’énergie solaire est passée de 0,1 % à 5 %. La part de l’hydroélectricité de la production totale a augmenté de 22 % à 23 %, tandis que celle de l’énergie éolienne est passée 0 % à 6 %, celle de la biomasse, de 1 % à 2 % et celle de l’énergie solaire, de 0 % à 2 %.

FIGURE 13 Ressources renouvelables et capacité de production en Ontario

FIGURE 13 Ressources renouvelables et capacité de production en Ontario

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte indique l’emplacement et la capacité approximative centrales à énergies renouvelables d’au moins 10 MW en Ontario. Les centrales hydroélectriques se trouvent principalement dans la région de Niagara ainsi que le long la limite du Québec. Les ressources éoliennes et solaires se trouvent en majorité près des rives sud et est des lacs Ontario, Érié et Huron. Les ressources de biomasse sont concentrées dans le nord de la province.

FIGURE 14 Capacité de production d’électricité en Ontario

FIGURE 14 Capacité de production d’électricité en Ontario

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique compare la capacité totale de production d’électricité en Ontario en 2005 et 2015 pour toutes les sources de combustibles. Cette capacité a augmenté de 31 575 MW à 39 345 MW, et la part des énergies renouvelables est passée de 28 % à 40 % de la capacité totale.

Parlement au loin sur la rivière des Outaouais

 

 

Date de modification :