Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape – Energy Market Analysis

An Inuit woman carries her infant on her back as they traverse the snowy tundra

Nunavut

Virtually all Nunavut’s electricity is generated from diesel. A 3 kW PV system is currently installed and other small PV system additions are planned, but this represents a small portion of total capacity.

Plans to replace some diesel generation with LNG and, to a limited extent, biomass, are in the initial stages. A transmission power line from Manitoba has also been proposed. The line would transport electricity generated from Manitoba Hydro plants to the Kivalliq region in southern Nunavut.

The Qulliq Energy Corporation (QEC), owned by the Nunavut government, is responsible for the generation, transmission and distribution of electricity in Nunavut. QEC operates 26 diesel plants in 25 communities which are not connected by roads or power lines.

In 2007, Nunavut released its Ikummatiit Energy Strategy, with the goal of reducing dependence on fossil fuels through energy conservation and increased use of renewables.

Nunavut also considered an Independent Power Purchase Policy to allow private individuals to generate renewable energy and sell it back to the QEC.

Although Nunavut currently has no wind generation, it has piloted three wind projects since 1994. Developing and maintaining the required infrastructure is difficult due to the QEC’s inability to recover the costs from Nunavut’s small communities. Similarly, plans for an Iqaluit hydroelectric facility were delayed in 2013.

A young caribou traverses the tundra

FIGURE 29 Renewable Resources and Capacity in Nunavut

FIGURE 29 Electric Generation Capacity in Nunavut

Text version of this map

This map shows the location and approximate capacity of renewable power plants with a capacity of at least 1 MW across Nunavut. Currently, there are no renewable power plants with a capacity larger than 1 MW in Nunavut.

FIGURE 30 Electric Generation Capacity in Nunavut

FIGURE 26 Electric Generation Capacity in Yukon

Text version of this graphic

This bar graph shows Nunavut’s total electric capacity in 2005 and 2015 for all fuel sources. Capacity remained stable at 54 MW, with oil accounting for close to 100% of total capacity in both years.

Snow covered mountain tops recede into the horizon as the sun sets

 

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Femme inuite portant un enfant sur son dos pour traverser la toundra enneigée

Nunavut

Le diesel sert à produire presque toute l’électricité consommée au Nunavut. Des cellules PV d’une capacité de production de 3 kW sont installées et d’autres petits ajouts du genre sont prévus, mais tout cela ne représente qu’une faible partie de la capacité totale.

Des plans visant à remplacer une partie du diesel par du GNL ainsi que, dans une mesure moindre, par la biomasse, en sont aux premières étapes d’élaboration. Une ligne de transport d’électricité a aussi été envisagée à partir de centrales au Manitoba et elle aboutirait dans la région de Kivalliq, au sud du Nunavut.

La Qulliq Energy Corporation [anglais seulement] (QEC), qui appartient au gouvernement du Nunavut, est responsable de la production, du transport et de la distribution de l’électricité à la grandeur du territoire. Elle exploite 26 centrales au diesel dans 25 collectivités isolées, qui ne sont reliées ni par la route ni par des lignes de transport d’électricité.

En 2007, le Nunavut a publié une stratégie énergétique [anglais seulement] avec, comme objectif, de réduire sa dépendance à l’endroit des combustibles fossiles par voie d’économies et d’un recours accru aux énergies renouvelables.

Le territoire s’est aussi penché sur une politique d’achat d’électricité qui permettrait à des particuliers d’en produire à partir de sources d’énergie renouvelable et de la vendre à la QEC.

Même s’il n’existe actuellement aucune éolienne au Nunavut, trois projets-pilotes de ce type ont vu le jour dans ce territoire depuis 1994. L’aménagement et l’entretien de l’infrastructure requise sont difficiles puisque la QEC n’est pas en mesure d’en recouvrer les coûts auprès des petites collectivités. Pour des raisons analogues, des plans visant l’aménagement d’une centrale hydroélectrique à Iqaluit ont été différés en 2013.

Un jeune caribou dans la toundra

FIGURE 29 Ressources renouvelables et capacité de production au Nunavut

FIGURE 29 Ressources renouvelables et capacité de production au Nunavut
Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte indique l’emplacement et la capacité approximative des centrales à énergies renouvelables d’au moins 1 MW au Nunavut. À l’heure actuelle, il n’existe au Nunavut aucune centrale à énergies renouvelles d’une capacité supérieure à 1 MW.

FIGURE 30 Capacité de production d’électricité au Nunavut

FIGURE 30 Capacité de production d’électricité au Nunavut

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique compare la capacité totale de production d’électricité au Nunavut en 2005 et 2015 pour toutes les sources de combustibles. Cette capacité est demeurée stable à 54 MW et provient presque exclusifement du pétrole pour les deux années en question.

Sommets enneigés sous un soleil qui disparaît à l’horizon

 

 

Date de modification :