Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape – Energy Market Analysis

Cabot Tower on Signal Hill in St. John’s on a partially cloudy day

Newfoundland and Labrador

More than 95% of power generated in Newfoundland and Labrador in 2015 was renewable, primarily hydro. The province has vast hydro resources and is home to the 5 428 MW Upper Churchill Falls hydro-generating station, one of the largest power plants in Canada.

The energy from this facility is sold to Hydro-Québec under long-term contracts. In the last decade two wind farms totaling over 50 MW of capacity have also been developed.

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro, a Crown corporation and subsidiary of Nalcor Energy, is responsible for most of the electricity generation and transmission within the province. Newfoundland Power, an investor-owned subsidiary of Fortis, is the primary distributor of electricity on the Island. Independent power producers operate the province’s two wind farms.

Construction is now underway on the Muskrat Falls (824 MW) hydroelectric plant. Initially, a portion of the electricity generation from Muskrat Falls will be surplus to Newfoundland and Labrador’s needs.

Newfoundland and Labrador’s bulk electric system presently includes the Island Interconnected System, which is isolated from the rest of North America, and the Labrador Interconnected System which is connected with Quebec. The two systems, which are currently isolated from one another, will be interconnected for the first time upon completion of the Labrador-Island Link transmission component of the Muskrat Falls Project. The associated Maritime Link transmission project will also interconnect the Island portion of the province with the North American bulk electric system via Nova Scotia.

Newfoundland and Labrador set out a GHG reduction target of 10% below the 1990 level by 2020. The long-term 2050 target, outlined in the 2007 Energy Plan, is to reduce emissions to 75-85% below 2001 levels. Renewable capacity additions help to meet those targets. For example, after Muskrat Falls begins production, Nalcor plans to retire the oil-fired Holyrood plant, which currently supplies between 15% and 25% of provincial demand.

TABLE 11 Renewable Electric Capacity and Generation in Newfoundland and Labrador
  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2005 2015
Hydro 6 780 6 766 40 498 40 332
89% 87% 96% 95%
Wind 0 54 0 189
0% 1% 0% 0.4%
All renewable sources 6 780 6 820 40 498 40 521
89% 88% 96% 96%
All sources 7 642 7 791 42 136 42 314

This table shows Newfoundland and Labrador's electric capacity and generation from renewables in 2005 and 2015. The share of hydro in total capacity decreased from 89% to 87% while the share of wind increased from 0% to 1%. The share of hydro in total generation decreased from 96% to 95% while the share of wind increased from 0% to 0.4%.

FIGURE 21 Renewable Resources and Capacity in Newfoundland and Labrador

FIGURE 21 Renewable Resources and Capacity in Newfoundland and Labrador

Text version of this map

This map shows the location and approximate capacity of renewable power plants with a capacity of at least 10 MW across Newfoundland and Labrador. The majority of hydroelectric resources are spread out in Newfoundland, but the largest hydroelectric plants are situated in the western part of Labrador. The majority of wind resources are located in southern Newfoundland. There are no biomass or solar resources with a capacity of at least 10 MW.

FIGURE 22 Electric Generation Capacity in Newfoundland and Labrador

FIGURE 22 Electric Generation Capacity in Newfoundland and Labrador

Text version of this graphic

This bar graph shows Newfoundland and Labrador’s total electric capacity in 2005 and 2015 for all fuel sources. Capacity increased from 7 642 MW to 7 791 MW, with renewables decreasing slightly from 89% to 88% of total capacity.

Rocky coastline at Gros Morne National Park on a cloudy day

 

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Tour de Cabot sur la colline Signal à St. John sous quelques nuages

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

L’électricité produite à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en 2015 provenait à plus de 95 % de sources d’énergie renouvelable, surtout hydroélectrique. La province dispose de vastes ressources hydrauliques et abrite la centrale hydroélectrique Churchill Falls [anglais seulement] qui, avec ses 5 428 MW de capacité de production, est l’une des plus grosses au Canada.

L’électricité qui y est produite est vendue à Hydro-Québec au titre de contrats à long terme. Au cours de la dernière décennie, deux parcs éoliens, d’une capacité totale de 50 MW, ont aussi été aménagés.

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro [anglais seulement], une société d’État filiale de Nalcor Energy [anglais seulement], est responsable de la plus grande partie de la production et du transport de l’électricité dans la province. Pour sa part, Newfoundland Power, une entreprise de service public appartenant au secteur privé et filiale de Fortis, est le principal distributeur d’électricité sur l’île. Par ailleurs, des producteurs d’électricité indépendants exploitent deux parcs éoliens dans la province.

La centrale hydroélectrique Muskrat Falls [anglais seulement] (824 MW) est actuellement en chantier. À son lancement, une partie de l’électricité produite sera excédentaire compte tenu des besoins de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Le réseau de production-transport d’électricité de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador regroupe l’interconnexion sur l’île elle-même, isolée du reste du continent nord-américain, de même que l’interconnexion au Labrador, reliée au Québec. Ces deux interconnexions ne communiquent pas entre elles pour le moment, mais elles le pourront pour la première fois lorsqu’un lien sera établi dans le cadre du projet de Muskrat Falls. Un projet de transport associé prévoit un lien entre l’île et les Maritimes passant par la Nouvelle-Écosse pour rejoindre le réseau de production-transport d’électricité de l’Amérique du Nord.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador vise d’ici 2020 une réduction des GES de 10 % par rapport aux niveaux de 1990. L’objectif à long terme, soit d’ici 2050, avancé dans le plan énergétique de 2007 [anglais seulement], est de réduire ces émissions d’un pourcentage entre 75 % et 85 % comparativement aux niveaux de 2001. Des ajouts à la capacité de production au moyen d’énergies renouvelables aident à l’atteinte de ces cibles. Par exemple, une fois que Muskrat Falls entrera en production, Nalcor prévoit mettre hors service la centrale Hollyrood [anglais seulement], alimentée en pétrole, qui permet actuellement de répondre à entre 15 % et 25 % de la demande provinciale.

TABLEAU 11 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2005 2015
Hydroélectricité 6 780 6 766 40 498 40 332
89 % 87 % 96 % 95 %
Éolien 0 54 0 189
0 % 1 % 0 % 0,4 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 6 780 6 820 40 498 40 521
89 % 88 % 96 % 96 %
De toute source 7 642 7 791 42 136 42 314

Ce tableau compare la capacité de production et la production d’électricité à partir de ressources renouvelables à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en 2005 et 2015. La part de l’hydroélectricité de la capacité totale a diminué de 89 % à 87 % et celle de l’énergie éolienne a augmenté de 0 % à 1 %. La part de l’hydroélectricité de la production totale a diminué de 96 % à 95 %, tandis que celle de l’énergie éolienne a augmenté de 0 % à 0,4 %.

 

FIGURE 21 Ressources renouvelables et capacité de production à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

FIGURE 21 Ressources renouvelables et capacité de production à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte indique l’emplacement et la capacité approximative des centrales à énergies renouvelables d’au moins 10 MW à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. La plus grande partie des ressources hydroélectriques est répartie partout à Terre-Neuve, mais les plus grandes centrales hydroélectriques se trouvent dans la partie ouest du Labrador. Pour l’essentiel, les parcs éoliens sont situés dans la partie sud de Terre-Neuve. Il n’y a aucune installation solaire ni ressource de biomasse d’une capacité d’au moins 10 MW.

FIGURE 22 Capacité de production d’électricité à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

FIGURE 22 Capacité de production d’électricité à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique compare la capacité totale de production d’électricité à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en 2005 et 2015 pour toutes les sources de combustibles. Cette capacité a augmenté de 7 642 MW à 7 791 MW, et la part des énergies renouvelables a légèrement diminué, 89 % à 88 % de la capacité totale.

Côte rocheuse sous les nuages au parc national Gros Morne

 

 

Date de modification :