Canada’s Renewable Power Landscape – Energy Market Analysis

A view of Saint John’s waterfront near sundown

New Brunswick

In New Brunswick, renewables account for 31% of capacity. Hydro, wind and biomass capacity grew by approximately (or 28%) 30% between 2005 and 2015, and renewables’ share of generation increased from 21% to 28%.

The New Brunswick Power Corporation (NB Power), a vertically-integrated Crown corporation, owns about 3 500 MW or 80% of provincial generating capacity. Independent power producers and utilities supply the remaining power, roughly half of which is renewable.

In the last decade, wind registered the strongest growth among renewable sources. There was no wind installed in New Brunswick in 2005. However, after the NB Power issued several RFPs, almost 300 MW of wind was installed between 2008 and 2011. In contrast, hydro and biomass capacity remained relatively unchanged. Nuclear, coal, oil and gas-fired generation account for roughly 70% of the province’s capacity.

New Brunswick plans to meet 40% of provincial electricity demand with renewables by 2020. According to the 2011 New Brunswick Energy Blueprint and 2014 Integrated Resource Plan, this goal will be accomplished through a New Brunswick plans to meet 40% of provincial electricity demand with renewables by 2020. According to the 2011 New Brunswick Energy Blueprint and 2014 Integrated Resource Plan, this goal will be accomplished through a combination of eligible renewable energy imports from other provinces, and by purchased power from local producers and customers through a variety of programs. In 2015, regulations under the Electricity Act were amended to support the 40% renewable portfolio standard.

Under a net metering program, NB Power customers generating electricity for individual use from renewable installations of less than 100 kW can send surplus electricity into the grid. The NB Power Embedded Generation Program allows small-scale renewable energy projects to be connected to the distribution system and sell electricity to the grid.

In January 2016, NB Power issued a call offering to purchase up to 40 MW of electricity from First Nations.

TABLE 9 Renewable Electric Capacity and Generation in New Brunswick
  Capacity in MW and % Generation in GW.h and %
  2005 2015 2005 2015
Hydro 949 957 3 875 2 728
22% 21% 18% 19%
Wind 0 294 0 737
0% 7% 0% 5%
Biomass 127 127 653 606
3% 3% 3% 4%
All renewable sources 1 076 1 378 4 528 4 070
25% 31% 21% 28%
All sources 4 231 4 505 21 333 14 378

This table shows New Brunswick's electric capacity and generation from renewables in 2005 and 2015. The share of hydro in total capacity decreased from 22% to 21% while the share of wind increased from 0% to 7% and the share of biomass remained stable at 3%. The share of hydro in total generation increased from 18% to 19% while the share of wind increased from 0% to 5% and the share of biomass increased from 3% to 4%.

Homes and apartment buildings across the Saint John’s River

FIGURE 17 Renewable Resources and Capacity in New Brunswick

FIGURE 17 Renewable Resources and Capacity in New Brunswick

Text version of this map

This map shows the location and approximate capacity of renewable power plants with a capacity of at least 10 MW across New Brunswick. Renewable power plants are concentrated near the coasts and rivers. Majority of hydroelectric resources are located west, while wind resources are located east and biomass resources are scattered throughout the province. There are no solar resources with a capacity of at least 10 MW.

FIGURE 18 Electric Generation Capacity in New Brunswick

FIGURE 18 Electric Generation Capacity in New Brunswick

Text version of this graphic

This bar graph shows New Brunswick’s total electric capacity in 2005 and 2015 for all fuel sources. Capacity increased from 4 231 MW to 4 505 MW, with renewables increasing from 25% to 31% of total capacity.

Hopewell Rocks with the tide out on a sunny day

 

 

 

Date modified:

Panorama de l’électricité renouvelable au Canada – Analyse des marchés de l’énergie

Port de Saint John alors que le soleil se couche

Nouveau-Brunswick

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, les énergies renouvelables représentent 31 % de la capacité de production d’électricité. En ce qui concerne l’hydroélectricité, l’éolien et la biomasse, cette capacité a augmenté d’environ 30 % entre 2005 et 2015, portant la part de production des énergies renouvelables pendant cette même période de 21 % à 28 %.

Énergie NB, une société d’État à intégration verticale, détient quelque 80 % de la capacité de production de la province, ce qui représente environ 3 500 MW. Pour le reste, ce sont des services publics et des producteurs indépendants qui approvisionnent les consommateurs, cette électricité provenant d’énergies renouvelables dans plus ou moins la moitié des cas.

Au cours des dix dernières années, la croissance la plus forte au niveau des sources d’énergie renouvelable a été enregistrée par l’éolien. Il n’y avait aucune installation de ce type en 2005 au Nouveau-Brunswick, mais entre 2008 et 2011, après plusieurs demandes de propositions d’Énergie NB, la puissance éolienne installée a atteint presque 300 MW. Par contre, la capacité dérivant de l’hydroélectricité et de la biomasse est demeurée à peu près inchangée. La production de la centrale nucléaire et de celles au charbon, au pétrole et au gaz représente en gros 70 % de la capacité de la province.

Le Nouveau-Brunswick prévoit répondre à 40 % de la demande d’électricité provinciale au moyen d’énergies renouvelables d’ici 2020. Selon le Plan directeur de l’énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick publié en 2011 et le Plan intégré des ressources publié, lui, en 2014, cet objectif sera réalisé en mettant à profit les importations d’énergies renouvelables admissibles d’autres provinces ainsi que divers programmes pour l’achat d’électricité de clients et de producteurs locaux. En 2015, la réglementation afférente à la Loi sur l’électricité a été modifiée de manière à favoriser l’atteinte de la norme de 40 % d’énergies renouvelables dans le bouquet énergétique.

À la faveur d’un programme de facturation nette, les clients d’Énergie NB qui produisent de l’électricité pour leur consommation propre à partir d’installations mettant à contribution des énergies renouvelables d’une capacité inférieure à 100 kW peuvent en envoyer l’excédent sur le réseau. Le programme de production intégrée d’Énergie NB permet aux projets d’énergie renouvelable à petite échelle d’être reliés au réseau de distribution en vue de la vente de l’électricité produite.

En janvier 2016, Énergie NB a offert d’acheter jusqu’à 40 MW d’électricité des Premières Nations.

TABLEAU 9 Capacité de production et production d’électricité provenant de ressources renouvelables au Nouveau-Brunswick
  Capacité en MW et % Production en GWh et %
  2005 2015 2005 2015
Hydroélectricité 949 957 3 875 2 728
22 % 21 % 18 % 19 %
Éolien 0 294 0 737
0 % 7 % 0 % 5 %
Biomasse 127 127 653 606
3 % 3 % 3 % 4 %
Total pour les sources d’énergie renouvelable 1 076 1 378 4 528 4 070
25 % 31 % 21 % 28 %
De toute source 4 231 4 505 21 333 14 378

Ce tableau compare la capacité de production et la production d’électricité à partir de ressources renouvelables au Nouveau-Brunswick en 2005 et 2015. La part de l’hydroélectricité de la capacité totale a diminué de 22 % à 21 %, tandis que celle de l’énergie éolienne a augmenté de 0 % à 7 % et celle de la biomasse est demeurée stable à 3 %. La part de l’hydroélectricité de la production totale a augmenté de 18 % à 19 %, tandis que celle de l’énergie éolienne est passée de 0 % à 5 % et celle de la biomasse, de 3 % à 4 %.

Maisons et immeubles d’habitation de l’autre côté de la rivière Saint-Jean

FIGURE 17 Ressources renouvelables et capacité de production au Nouveau-Brunswick

FIGURE 17 Ressources renouvelables et capacité de production au Nouveau-Brunswick

Version textuelle de la carte

Ce graphique compare la capacité totale de production d’électricité au Nouveau-Brunswick en 2005 et 2015 pour toutes les sources de combustibles. Cette capacité a augmenté de 4 231 MW à 4 505 MW, et la part des énergies renouvelables est passée de 25 % à 31 % de la capacité totale.

FIGURE 18 Capacité de production d’électricité au Nouveau-Brunswick

FIGURE 18 Capacité de production d’électricité au Nouveau-Brunswick

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique compare la capacité totale de production d’électricité au Nouveau-Brunswick en 2005 et 2015 pour toutes les sources de combustibles. Cette capacité a augmenté de 4 231 MW à 4 505 MW, et la part des énergies renouvelables est passée de 25 % à 31 % de la capacité totale.

Membre du groupe de Hopewell à marée basse sous le soleil

 

 

 

Date de modification :