On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Market Snapshot: Canadian gasoline prices rise to highest level in over 3 years

Release date: 2018-05-30

Gasoline prices in Canada have been increasing from this decade’s low of 90.2 cents per litre (cents/L) on average in February 2016. In April 2018, gasoline prices across Canada averaged 134.7 cents/L, which is 16.6 cents/L higher than this time last year.

The price paid at the pump for gasoline consists of the following components:

  • Crude Price
  • Refining Margin
  • Marketing Margin
  • Taxes

The refining margin is the difference between the price of crude oil and the wholesale price at which the refiner sells gasoline and diesel.

The marketing margin is the difference between the wholesale and retail prices of gasoline, before taxes are added.

The retail price with tax includes the crude price, refining margin, marketing margin and applicable taxes.

Source and Description

Source: Kent Group Ltd.

Description: A line chart compares the weekly retail price of gasoline in select Canadian cities and the Canadian average. Components making up this price are charted, specifically taxes, marketing margin, refining margin and crude price. These components are added together to get the retail price with taxes. From 2013 to May, 22 2018 the lowest average price was recorded during the week of February 16, 2016. Since then, prices in every selected market have been trending upward. As of May, 22 2018 the weekly average retail pump prices in select markets reached the following levels, ordered from highest retail price including tax. Vancouver: 160.6 cents/L, Victoria: 155.6 cents/L , Whitehorse: 144.9 cents/L, Montréal: 141.8 cents/L, Canada (Average): 140.1 cents/L, Ottawa: 138.8 cents/L, Toronto: 138.6 cents/L, St. John’s: 137.2 cents/L, Yellowknife: 136.7 cents/L, Calgary: 132.6 cents/L, Charlottetown: 132.3 cents/L, Halifax: 131.0 cents/L, Edmonton: 130.5 cents/L, Fredericton: 129.6 cents/L, Winnipeg: 125.9 cents/L, Regina: 125.7 cents/L, and Saskatoon: 124.6 cents/L.

Many factors cause higher fuel prices:

  • Oil prices are increasing. Canadian refineries process mostly light crude oil and therefore Canadian gas prices are influenced by international light crude oil prices. Brent crude prices averaged US$72.11/barrel in April 2018, up 37.9 % from US$52.31/barrel a year earlierFootnote 1.
  • The switch from winter blend gasoline to summer blend in April changes the composition of gasoline at the pump. Winter gasoline is blended with lower cost (and lower energy) butanes to increase the vapour pressure of gasoline so vehicles can start in colder temperatures. Refiners generally switch to summer gasoline by April 15 and generally switch back to winter gasoline blends around September 15.
  • Demand for gasoline increases with the summer driving season. The start of the summer driving season in Canada begins during May long weekend, and is the main contributor to a pump price that is 6.87 cents/L higher on average from April to September, than from October to MarchFootnote 2.
  • Refining margins, another component of pump prices, are on the rise across Canada. As of April 2018 refining margins reflected at the gasoline pump increased 14% above the 5 year average, reaching 28.1 cents/L.Footnote 3 Refinery margins adjust depending on supply and demand for refined products in each market.
  • Fuel and carbon taxes have increased in recent years for some jurisdictionsFootnote 4.
  • Regional issues and transportation disruptions can have local or regional effects on prices. For example, gasoline prices in Vancouver, which are the highest in North America, have increased to a high of 160.6 cents/L in May 22, 2018. This is due in part to the recently completed shutdown at the Burnaby refinery which supplies about 30% of the British Columbia (B.C.) area’s fuel. Additionally, Vancouver is one of the three municipalities in Canada, along with Montreal and Victoria, to apply transportation taxes in addition to federal and provincial taxes on transportation fuels.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Retour des prix de l’essence au Canada à des sommets atteints il y a plus de trois ans

Date de diffusion : 2018-05-30

Les prix de l’essence au Canada ont suivi une pente ascendante depuis leur plus bas, au cours de cette décennie, de 90.2 cents le litre (« ¢/L ») en frévrier 2016. En avril 2018, la moyenne canadienne atteignait 134,7 ¢/L, ce qui est supérieur de 16,6 ¢/L à ce qu’elle était un an auparavant.

Le prix de l’essence à la pompe est composé des éléments suivants :

  • Prix du brut
  • Marge de raffinage
  • Marge de commercialisation
  • Taxes

La marge de raffinage représente la différence entre le prix du pétrole brut et celui de gros auquel les raffineurs vendent leur essence ou leur diesel.

La marge de commercialisation représente la différence entre les prix de gros et de détail de l’essence avant ajout des taxes.

Le prix de détail, taxes comprises, regroupe toutes les composantes précitées.

Source et description

Source : Kent Group Ltd.

Description : Ce graphique linéaire permet de comparer le prix de détail de l’essence dans diverses villes du Canada et la moyenne au pays. Les différentes composantes, soit les taxes, la marge de commercialisation, celle de raffinage et le prix du brut, peuvent en outre être isolées. Le prix, taxes incluses les regroupe toutes. Entre 2013 et le 22 mai 2018, le prix moyen le plus bas a été enregistré au cours de la semaine du 16 février 2016. Depuis, quel que soit le marché, la tendance est à la hausse. Les prix de détail à la pompe, taxes incluses, ont atteint les niveaux suivants, en ordre descendant : Vancouver: 160.6 ¢/L, Victoria: 155.6 ¢/L , Whitehorse: 144.9 ¢/L, Montréal: 141.8 ¢/L, Canada (moyenne): 140.1 ¢/L, Ottawa: 138.8 ¢/L, Toronto: 138.6 ¢/L, St. John’s: 137.2 ¢/L, Yellowknife: 136.7 ¢/L, Calgary: 132.6 ¢/L, Charlottetown: 132.3 ¢/L, Halifax: 131.0 ¢/L, Edmonton: 130.5 ¢/L, Fredericton: 129.6 ¢/L, Winnipeg: 125.9 ¢/L, Regina: 125.7 ¢/L, and Saskatoon: 124.6 ¢/L.

Nombreux sont les facteurs à l’origine de prix plus élevés:

  • Les prix du pétrole augmentent [anglais seulement]. Les raffineries au Canada transforment surtout du pétrole brut léger, dont les prix à l’échelle internationale ont du coup une influence sur ceux de l’essence au pays. Le brut Brent a atteint en moyenne 72,11 $ US le baril en avril 2018, une hausse de 37,9 % comparativement aux 52,31 $ US enregistrés un an plus tôt.Note de bas de page 1
  • Le passage, en avril, du mélange d’hiver à celui d’été modifie la composition de l’essence à la pompe. En hiver, l’essence est mélangée à des butanes, moins coûteux et de moins grande teneur énergétique, afin d’en augmenter la pression de vapeur pour faciliter les démarrages par temps froid. Habituellement, au 15 avril les raffineurs sont passés à l’essence d’été et retournent aux mélanges d’hiver autour du 15 septembre.
  • La demande d’essence augmente pendant les mois d’été. Le long week-end de mai annonce le début de l’été pour les conducteurs au Canada et c’est à ce moment qu’on enregistre le gros de la différence de 6,87 ¢/L, en moyenne, du prix plus élevé à la pompe entre les mois d’avril à septembre comparativement à la période d’octobre à marsNote de bas de page 2.
  • La marge de raffinage, une autre composante des prix à la pompe, est en hausse à la grandeur du pays et en avril 2018, sa moyenne sur cinq ans avait augmenté de 14 % pour atteindre 28,1 ¢/L.Note de bas de page 3 Elle fluctue en fonction de l’offre et de la demande de produits raffinés selon les marchés.
  • Les taxes sur les combustibles et le carbone ont augmenté ces dernières années dans certaines provinces.Note de bas de page 4
  • Différents facteurs et des perturbations diverses à l’échelle régionale peuvent avoir des répercussions sur les prix dans une région précise. Par exemple, les prix de l’essence à Vancouver, qui sont les plus élevés en Amérique du Nord, ont atteint 160,6 ¢/L en mai 22 2018. Cette situation est en partie le résultat d’un arrêt programmé de la production récemment mené à terme à la raffinerie de Burnaby, laquelle fournit quelque 30 % du carburant dans cette région de la Colombie-Britannique [anglais seulement]. En outre, Vancouver est l’une des trois municipalités canadiennes, avec Montréal et Victoria, à ajouter des taxes sur le transport à celles fédérales et provinciales qui s’appliquent déjà à cet égard.
Date de modification :