Market Snapshot: Electricity exports from B.C. to California are increasing

Release date: 2017-03-15

Canadian electricity exports to the U.S. West Coast more than doubled between 2010 and 2016. Increased demand from California is the primary driver of this trend – exports to California increased from 2.3 terawatt hours (TW.h) in 2010 to 10.7 TW.h in 2016.

Electricity sold to California represents 15% of total Canadian power exports. The majority of that electricity is from British Columbia (B.C.).Footnote 1 In 2010, 43% of the electricity exported from B.C. went to California. In 2016, 79% of B.C. electricity exports went to California.Footnote 2

Source and Description

Source: NEB

Description: This stacked bar chart shows electricity exports in terawatt hours (TW.h) from B.C. to the U.S. West Coast from 2010 to 2016. During this period, electricity exports increased from 4.7 TW.h to 13.4 TW.h, driven primarily by increased demand from California. Exports to California increased from 2.3 TW.h to 10.7 TW.h over the same period, whereas exports to Washington and Oregon were relatively constant at 2.4 TW.h in 2010 and 2.7 TW.h in 2016.

California relies on out of state electricity imports to meet one-third of its current electricity demand. California’s Renewables Portfolio Standard also requires utilities to source 20% of the electricity sold in California in 2017 from renewable sources. This target is set to increase to 33% by 2020 and 50% by 2030. Notably, more than 85% of B.C. generation is from hydropower and nearly 95% is from non-emitting sources.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Augmentation des exportations d’électricité de la Colombie-Britannique vers la Californie

Date de diffusion : 2017-03-15

Les exportations d’électricité du Canada vers la côte ouest des États-Unis ont plus que doublé entre 2010 et 2016. Cette tendance est attribuable principalement à la demande accrue de la Californie. En effet, les exportations vers la Californie sont passées de 2,3 térawattheures (TWh) en 2010 à 10,7 TWh en 2016.

L’électricité vendue à la Californie représente 15 % des exportations totales d’électricité du Canada. La majorité de cette électricité provient de la Colombie-Britannique.Note de bas de page 1 En 2010, 43 % de l’électricité exportée par la Colombie-Britannique a été acheminée vers la Californie. En 2016, 79 % des exportations d’électricité de la Colombie-Britannique étaient destinées à la Californie.Note de bas de page 2

Source et description

Source : Office

Description : Ce graphique à barres empilées montre les exportations d’électricité en térawattheures (TWh) de la Colombie-Britannique vers la côte ouest américaine de 2010 à 2016. Pendant cette période, les exportations d’électricité sont passées de 4,7 TWh à 13,4 TWh, principalement en raison de la demande accrue de la Californie. Les exportations vers la Californie sont passées de 2,3 TWh à 10,7 TWh au cours de la même période, alors que les exportations vers Washington et l’Oregon sont demeurées relativement constantes à 2,4 TWh en 2010 et 2,7 TWh en 2016.

La Californie compte sur les importations d’électricité pour répondre à un tiers [anglais seulement] de sa demande actuelle. En Californie, la norme relative aux énergies renouvelables dans le bouquet énergétique [anglais seulement] exige que 20 % de l’électricité vendue par les services publics dans cet État en 2017 provienne de sources renouvelables. Cet objectif augmentera [anglais seulement] à 33 % d’ici 2020 puis à 50 % d’ici 2030. Fait à noter, plus de 85 % de l’électricité produite en Colombie-Britannique provient d’énergie hydroélectrique et près de 95 %, de sources non émettrices.

 

Date de modification :