Market Snapshot: Explaining the high cost of power in northern Canada

Release date: 2017-02-16

Electricity prices in the Northwest Territories (NWT) and Nunavut are significantly higher than the rest of Canada.Footnote 1 Households in the NWT and Nunavut pay more than 30 cents per kilowatt hour (kW.h) for electricity – the Canadian average electricity price is 12.9 cents per kW.h.Footnote 2 Yukon households pay 13.6 cents per kW.h, this is closer to, but still above the Canadian average.

In much of northern Canada population density is low and communities are remote, this limits the viability of lower-cost energy infrastructure like natural gas pipelines and hydroelectric facilities. Geography poses a challenge for the broader use of renewables and as a result, northern Canada relies heavily on relatively expensive and carbon-intensive energy sources.

Source and Description

Source: Hydro-Québec (for all provinces); Yukon Energy (for Yukon); Arctic Energy Alliance – Fuel Cost Library (for NWT); Quilliq Energy Corporation (for Nunavut)

Description: This chart illustrates household electricity prices in major cities for each province and territory in 2016 (see footnote 1 for locations). Prices reflect residential bills for the first 1 000 kW.h per month. NWT and Nunavut residents pay the highest prices in Canada – more than 30 cents per kW.h and significantly above the weighted average Canadian electricity price of 12.9 cents per kW.h. Yukon households pay 13.6 cents per kW.h, only slightly more than the national weighted average. Prices in the provinces vary from a low of 7.2 cents per kW.h in Quebec to a high of 17.8 cents per kW.h in Ontario.

Power generation facilities in Nunavut are almost all diesel-fired and most homes are heated by fuel oil. Nunavut must import all its fuel for the year in bulk during the summer. The NWT generates more than half its power and heat from diesel and fuel oil.Footnote 3 However, they also generate roughly one third of their power from hydroelectric resources. Yukon’s electricity is mostly from regional hydro resources, which is why prices are relatively low; diesel and natural gas-fired generators are still used to back-up the main power system and are also the main power source in the most remote communities.

Less carbon-intensive energy sources are increasingly attractive and becoming more cost-competitive in northern Canada. NWT has over 20 megawatts of installed wood-pellet biomass capacity and growth is expected. The town of Inuvik, NWT fuels one of its gas-fired power plants with liquefied natural gas (LNG) trucked in from British Columbia. Yukon Energy’s Whitehorse LNG facility was completed in 2015 and provides a cleaner alternative to the diesel generators used to back up its hydro facilities. Two solar projects have also been introduced in both NWT and Nunavut.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Comprendre les coûts élevés de l’énergie dans le Nord canadien

Date de diffusion : 2017-02-16

Les prix de l’électricité aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest (TNO) et au Nunavut sont beaucoup plus élevés qu’ailleurs au paysNote de bas de page 1. Dans ces deux territoires, les ménages doivent débourser plus de 30 cents pour un kilowattheure (kWh) d’électricité, tandis que la moyenne canadienne se situe à 12,9 cents le kWhNote de bas de page 2. Au Yukon, le prix se rapproche de la moyenne nationale, mais demeure supérieur, à 13,6 cents le kWh.

Dans la majeure partie du Nord canadien, la densité de population est faible et les collectivités sont éloignées; cela limite la viabilité des infrastructures énergétiques à moindre coût, comme les pipelines de gaz naturel et les installations hydroélectriques. Comme la géographie n’est pas propice à une utilisation répandue des énergies renouvelables, le Nord du Canada dépend largement de sources d’énergie relativement dispendieuses à forte intensité de carbone.

Source et description

Source : Hydro-Québec (pour toutes les provinces); Énergie Yukon [anglais seulement] (pour le Yukon); Arctic Energy Alliance [anglais seulement] – Tableau sur le prix des combustibles (pour les TNO); Société d’énergie Qulliq [anglais seulement] (pour le Nunavut)

Description : Ce tableau illustre les prix domestiques d’électricité dans les villes principales de chaque province et territoire en 2016 (voir la note de bas de page 1 pour connaître les lieux). Les tarifs ont été calculés sur la base des 1 000 premiers kWh par mois sur les factures résidentielles. Les résidents des TNO et du Nunavut paient les tarifs les plus élevés au Canada — plus de 30 cents le kWh —, ce qui est largement au-dessus de la moyenne pondérée canadienne de 12,9 cents le kWh. Les ménages yukonnais paient 13,6 cents le kWh, soit un peu plus que la moyenne pondérée nationale. Dans les provinces, les prix varient de 7,2 cents le kWh (Québec) à 17,8 cents le kWh (Ontario).

Les installations de production d’électricité au Nunavut sont presque toutes alimentées au diesel et la plupart des foyers sont chauffés au mazout. Pendant l’été, le Nunavut importe le mazout en vrac nécessaire pour l’année. Les TNO produisent plus de la moitié de leur énergie à partir de diesel et de mazoutNote de bas de page 3. Toutefois, environ le tiers de l’électricité de ce territoire est de source hydroélectrique. Le Yukon produit quant à lui la majeure partie de son énergie grâce à des ressources hydroélectriques [anglais seulement] régionales, ce qui explique les tarifs relativement bas; par ailleurs, les génératrices alimentées au diesel et au gaz naturel servent de systèmes auxiliaires au réseau électrique principal et constituent la principale source d’électricité dans la plupart des collectivités éloignées.

Les sources d’énergie à faible émission de carbone font l’objet d’un intérêt croissant et les prix deviennent plus abordables dans le Nord canadien. Aux TNO, la capacité installée de la biomasse (chaudières à granulés de bois) s’élève à plus de 20 mégawatts, et on s’attend à une croissance. La municipalité d’Inuvik alimente l’une de ses centrales électriques avec du gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) [anglais seulement], qui arrive de la Colombie-Britannique par camion. En outre, l’installation de GNL d’Énergie Yukon, construite à Whitehorse en 2015, offre une énergie de remplacement plus propre par rapport aux génératrices auxiliaires au diesel des installations hydroélectriques. Enfin, deux projets solaires ont été lancés aux TNO [anglais seulement] et au Nunavut [anglais seulement].

 

Date de modification :