Market Snapshot: Natural gas markets experience significant highs and lows in 2016

Release date: 2017-01-04

In April 2016, benchmark intra-Alberta natural gas prices averaged US$0.88 per million British thermal units (MMBtu) – the lowest monthly price in 20 years. The benchmark gas price at Henry Hub in the U.S. reached an 18-year low of US$1.72 per MMBtu in March 2016. These low prices resulted from high natural gas storage inventories coming out of a relatively warm winter 2015-16. By May 2016, prices had started to increase, but temporarily declined in response to volatile natural gas demand by oil sands operations during the Fort McMurray wildfires.Footnote 1

Natural gas prices began steadily increasing in May. By December, Henry Hub prices had more than doubled from the March low. Intra-Alberta prices increased three-fold between their low in April of US$0.88 per MMBtu and the high for the year in December of US$2.58 per MMBtu. Prices increased primarily in response to U.S. production decreasing for the first time since 2004,Footnote 2 and from U.S. demand reaching record levels during the injection season.Footnote 3 In addition, liquefied natural gas exports from the U.S. Gulf Coast commenced and were ramping up,Footnote 4 and U.S. exports to Mexico were also increasing.

Source and Description

Source: NGX

Description: This line graph illustrates monthly average Henry Hub and intra-Alberta natural gas prices, considered the benchmarks in the U.S. and Canada, between January 2008 and December 2016. Monthly average Henry Hub prices peaked at US$12.55 per MMBtu in June 2008 during the energy commodity price boom of 2008, and declined to an 18-year low of US$1.70 in March 2016. Monthly average intra-Alberta prices peaked at US$10.66 per MMBtu in June 2008 and fell to a low of US$0.88 per MMBtu in April 2016. Prices have increased since then. In December 2016, prices for Henry Hub and intra-Alberta natural gas averaged US$3.58 per MMBtu and US$2.58 per MMBtu, respectively.

Natural gas prices are often affected by natural gas storage levels, with low prices usually a reflection of abundant gas in storage and vice versa. This held true when prices dipped in March and April, but the subsequent price increase occurred despite Canadian gas in storage reaching a record high of 752 Bcf at the start of October, and U.S. gas in storage reaching a record high of 4 047 Bcf on November 11th.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Écarts importants entre les crêtes et les creux sur les marchés du gaz naturel en 2016

Date de diffusion : 2017-01-04

En avril 2016, les prix de référence intra-Alberta pour le gaz naturel se sont établis en moyenne à 0,88 $ US par million de BTU (MBTU), soit le prix mensuel le plus bas en 20 ans. Le prix de référence au carrefour Henry, aux États-Unis, était pour sa part de 1,72 $ US/MBTU en mars 2016, ce qu’on n’avait pas vu depuis 18 ans. Ces faibles prix étaient le résultat d’importants stocks gaziers après un hiver 2015-2016 relativement doux. Ils ont commencé à augmenter en mai 2016 avant de connaître un nouveau recul, temporaire, en réaction à une demande incertaine du secteur des sables bitumineux alors que des feux de forêt faisaient rage dans la région de Fort McMurray.Note de bas de page 1

C’est en mai que les prix du gaz naturel ont entrepris leur remontée progressive. En décembre, ceux au carrefour Henry avaient plus que doublé comparativement au prix plancher enregistré en mars. Les prix intra-Alberta ont pour leur part triplé d’avril à décembre, atteignant alors 2,58 $ US/MBTU, un sommet pour l’année. Les augmentations sont principalement le résultat d’une diminution de la production américaine, une première depuis 2004,Note de bas de page 2 ainsi que d’une demande aux États-Unis qui a atteint des niveaux record [anglais seulement] pendant la saison d’injection.Note de bas de page 3 De plus, on a commencé à exporter du gaz naturel liquéfié à partir de la côte américaine du golfe du Mexique et ces exportations prennent de plus en plus d’ampleur,Note de bas de page 4 au même titre que celles vers le Mexique [anglais seulement] depuis les États-Unis.

Source et description

Source : NGX

Description : Ce graphique linéaire illustre les prix mensuels moyens du gaz naturel intra-Alberta et au carrefour Henry – considérés des prix de référence respectivement au Canada et aux États-Unis – de janvier 2011 à décembre 2016. Au carrefour Henry, le prix le plus élevé, de 5,94 $ US/MBTU, a été enregistré en février 2014 pendant que sévissait le tourbillon circumpolaire, avant de reculer jusqu’à un prix plancher de 1,70 $ US/MBTU en mars 2016, alors le plus bas en 18 ans. Le prix intra-Alberta a pour sa part aussi connu une apogée en février 2014, à 6,43 $ US/MBTU, pour ensuite chuter à 0,88 $ US/MBTU en avril 2016. Ces prix remontent depuis. En décembre 2016, ils avaient atteint respectivement 3,58 $ US/MBTU dans le premier cas et 2,58 $ US/MBTU dans le second.

Souvent, les prix du gaz naturel varient en fonction des niveaux de stockage, dont l’abondance signifie habituellement des prix plus bas et vice versa. Cela a été le cas lorsque les prix se sont affaissés en mars et en avril, mais la hausse subséquente au Canada est survenue en dépit de records de stockage, atteignant 752 Gpi³ au début d’octobre, pendant qu’aux États-Unis le record précédent était battu le 11 novembre avec 4 047 Gpi³ en stockage.

Date de modification :