Market Snapshot: Household energy expenditures highest in the Atlantic region, lowest in British Columbia

Release Date: 2016-11-23

Household expenditures on energy vary across Canada, with differences due primarily to different heating methods and heating needs.Footnote 1 British Columbia (B.C.), the Prairie Region, and Ontario predominantly use natural gas for heating due to wide-reaching natural gas pipeline infrastructure. As a result, they have similar energy expenditure profiles, although B.C. expenditures are lower because of a milder climate (which reduces heating costs) and lower electricity costs (due to ample supplies of hydroelectricity).

Quebec also generates considerable electricity from its abundant hydroelectric resources. In addition to general household use of electricity, 85% of households in Quebec use electricity as a primary source for heating – the highest percentage of any region in Canada. As a result, energy expenditures in Quebec are nearly as low as those in B.C. Atlantic Canada’s households use a mix of electric, wood, wood pellet, and oil-fired heating due primarily to the region’s sparse population, which has limited the adoption of natural gas throughout the region. Combined with the region’s cool weather, these factors result in Atlantic Canada having the highest household expenditures on energy.

Source and Description

Source: Statistics Canada CANSIM 203-0021Footnote 2

Description: This stacked column chart illustrates household energy expenditures from 2010 to 2014. The columns are divided into different regions: B.C., the Prairies (Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba), Ontario, Quebec, and the Atlantic Region (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Prince Edward Island). Expenditures are broken into four components: electricity, natural gas, other fuels (primarily home heating oil), and gas and fuel for vehicles and tools.

B.C. had the lowest overall expenditures, followed by Quebec, Ontario, and the Prairie Region. The Atlantic Region had the highest expenditures. Vehicle fuel comprised about half of household expenditures in all regions across all years. Total expenditure differences among the regions were based primarily on expenditure differences related to electricity, natural gas, and other fuels (heating oil).

Although energy expenditure in Canada increased by an average of 4% per year between 2010 and 2014, energy spending as a share of total household spending remained unchanged at about 6% due to a general increase in total household expenditures. On average, the energy components most responsible for expenditure increases were vehicle fuel, which rose an average of $91 per household per year, and electricity, which rose an average of $51 per household per year.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Les dépenses énergétiques des ménages sont les plus élevées en Atlantique et les moins élevées en Colombie-Britannique

Date de diffusion : 2016-11-23

Les dépenses énergétiques des ménages varient au Canada, les écarts étant attribuables principalement aux différentes méthodes de chauffage et aux besoins de chauffageNote de bas de page 1. La Colombie-Britannique, la région des Prairies et l’Ontario utilisent surtout le gaz naturel pour le chauffage en raison de l’infrastructure existante pour le transport du gaz naturel. Par conséquent, leurs profils de dépenses énergétiques se ressemblent, bien que les dépenses de la Colombie-Britannique soient moins élevées en raison du climat plus doux (ce qui réduit le coût du chauffage) et des tarifs d’électricité plus bas (grâce aux réserves abondantes d’hydroélectricité).

Le Québec aussi produit beaucoup d’électricité à partir de ses ressources hydroélectriques abondantes. Outre les utilisations domestiques générales, l’électricité sert de source principale de chauffage pour 85 % des ménages québécois, ce qui représente le pourcentage le plus élevé parmi toutes les régions du Canada. En conséquence, les dépenses énergétiques au Québec sont presque aussi peu élevées que celles de la Colombie-Britannique. Au Canada atlantique, les ménages utilisent un mélange de chauffage à l’électricité, au bois, aux granules de bois et au mazout, principalement en raison de la population éparse et du manque d’infrastructure pour le transport de gaz naturel. Si on ajoute à cela le temps froid de la région, on obtient pour le Canada atlantique les dépenses énergétiques les plus élevées pour les ménages.

Source et description

Source : Statistique Canada CANSIM 203-0021Note de bas de page 2

Description : Ce graphique à colonnes empilées illustre les dépenses énergétiques des ménages de 2010 à 2014. Les colonnes sont divisées selon les différentes régions : la Colombie-Britannique, les Prairies (Alberta, Saskatchewan et Manitoba), l’Ontario, le Québec et la région de l’Atlantique (Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et Île-du-Prince-Édouard). Les dépenses sont réparties en quatre catégories : électricité, gaz naturel, autres carburants (principalement le mazout de chauffage domiciliaire) ainsi que l’essence et le carburant pour les véhicules et les outils.

La Colombie-Britannique a les dépenses globales les moins élevées, suivie du Québec, de l’Ontario et de la région des Prairies. La région de l’Atlantique a les dépenses les plus élevées. Le carburant pour véhicule représente environ la moitié des dépenses des ménages dans toutes les régions pour toutes les années. Les écarts dans les dépenses totales entre les régions s’expliquent surtout par les différences reliées à l’électricité, au gaz naturel et aux autres carburants (mazout de chauffage).

Même si les dépenses énergétiques au Canada ont augmenté de 4 % par année en moyenne entre 2010 et 2014, elles comptent toujours pour environ 6 % des dépenses totales des ménages en raison de l’augmentation générale de ces dernières. En moyenne, les éléments énergétiques ayant le plus contribué à la hausse des dépenses sont le carburant pour véhicule, qui a augmenté en moyenne de 91 $ par ménage par année, et l’électricité, qui a augmenté en moyenne de 51 $ par ménage par année.

Date de modification :