Market Snapshot: Major household appliances now significantly more energy efficient

Release date: 2016-11-02

Major household appliances account for approximately 40% of the energy used in a typical Canadian home. Over the past 15 years, the combined unit energy consumption (UEC) of these appliances has notably decreased. A household operating an average set of major household appliances purchased in 2014 could expect an UEC of 2 700 kilowatt hours (kW.h) per year – a savings of 35% compared to a set of appliances purchased in 2000.

With a 75% drop in UEC, clothes washers experienced the greatest efficiency gains over this 15 year timeframe. Dishwashers, electric ranges, and freezers experienced more modest efficiency improvements. Electric clothes dryers, the largest energy consumers among appliances, slightly increased in UEC between 2000 and 2014, primarily due to the use of larger capacity dryers.

Source and Description

Source: Natural Resources Canada Office of Energy Efficiency

Description: This stacked area graph illustrates average annual UEC for major household appliances from 2000 to 2014. Major household appliance energy use declined from an average 4 176 kW.h per year in 2000 to 2 713 kW.h per year. The annual UEC for clothes washers declined the greatest amount, from 838 kW.h in 2000 to 205 kW.h in 2014, while the annual UEC for refrigerators, freezers, dishwashers, and electric ranges decreased steadily over this time period. The annual UEC for electric clothes dryers actually increased from 910 kW.h in 2000 to 924 kW.h in 2014.

Improved UEC results in lower appliance operating costs. Comparing models from 2000 and 2014 using 2016 electricity rates, households could save between $64 and $215 per year by operating 2014 appliances instead of appliances from 2000.Footnote 1 Some local energy providers also offer incentives towards the purchase of energy efficient appliances. As a result, compared to upgrading insulation, windows, and heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems, switching to more energy efficient appliances is one of the simplest and lowest cost methods of lowering household energy use and expenses.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Gains appréciables de l’efficacité énergétique des gros électroménagers

Date de diffusion : 2016-11-02

Les gros appareils électroménagers consomment environ 40 % de toute l’énergie utilisée dans un foyer canadien typique. Depuis 15 ans, leur consommation unitaire d’énergie (CUE) combinée a considérablement diminué. La CUE d’un foyer utilisant un ensemble moyen de gros électroménagers achetés en 2014 est d’environ 2 700 kilowattheures (kWh) par année, ce qui représente une réduction de 35 % par rapport à celle des mêmes appareils achetés en 2000.

Les laveuses, dont la CUE a chuté de 75 %, ont enregistré les plus forts gains d’efficacité durant cette période de 15 ans. Les gains d’efficacité des lave-vaiselle, des cuisinières électriques et des congélateurs ont été plus modestes. Quant aux sécheuses, l’électroménager le plus énergivore, leur CUE a légèrement augmenté de 2000 à 2014, en raison surtout de l’utilisation de sécheuses ayant une plus grande capacité.

Source et description

Source : Ressources naturelles Canada Office de l’efficacité énergétique

Description : Le graphique montre la CUE annuelle moyenne des gros électroménagers, de 2000 à 2014. La consommation d’énergie de ces appareils a diminué d’une moyenne de 4 176 kWh par année en 2000 à 2 713 kWh par année en 2014. La CUE annuelle des laveuses a enregistré la baisse la plus marquée, passant de 838 kWh en 2000 à 205 kWh en 2014; dans le cas des réfrigérateurs, des congélateurs, des sécheuses et des cuisinières électriques, la diminution a été constante durant la période. Par contre, la CUE annuelle des sécheuses a augmenté de 2000 à 2014, passant de 910 kWh à 924 kWh, respectivement.

Ces gains d’efficacité se traduisent par une réduction des coûts d’utilisation. Quand on compare les modèles 2000 et 2014 en appliquant les tarifs d’électricité de 2016, on constate qu’un foyer peut économiser entre 64 $ et 215 $ par année en utilisant des appareils de 2014 plutôt que de 2000.Note de bas de page 1 En outre, certaines sociétés de services publics locales offrent des incitatifs à l’achat d’appareils électroménagers moins énergivores. En conclusion, par rapport à l’amélioration de l’isolation d’une maison, des fenêtres et des systèmes de chauffage, de ventilation et de climatisation, l’achat d’appareils électroménagers moins énergivores constitue l’un des moyens les plus simples et les plus économiques de réduire la consommation d’énergie d’un foyer et les dépenses s’y rattachant.

 

Date de modification :