Market Snapshot: In 2016, summer Canadian gasoline prices fell to their lowest level since 2010

Release date: 2016-09-29

During the Canadian summer driving season, which lasts from the Victoria Day long weekend to Labour Day, Canadian gasoline demand increases by 10% to 20% above winter demand. This increase in demand typically causes gasoline prices to rise in addition to any fluctuations related to crude oil prices, which tend to be the largest overall factor affecting gasoline prices.

During summer 2016, the weekly Canadian average retail gasoline price peaked on 7 June 2016 at $1.11 per litre and reached its lowest level on 2 August 2016 at $1.00 per litre. Summer 2016 gasoline prices averaged $1.06 per litre, the lowest level since prices averaged $1.02 per litre during summer 2010.

Source and Description

Source: Natural Resources Canada - Fuel Focus, U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)

Description: This line chart illustrates the Canadian retail price of gasoline and diesel in cents per litre from 1 January 2005 to 30 August 2016. It also shows the price of crude oil (West Texas Intermediate) in Canadian dollars per barrel during the same timeframe. The shaded regions indicate the summer driving season between the Victoria Day long weekend and Labour Day, when gasoline prices typically rise due to increased demand. Gasoline and diesel prices generally track the price of crude oil. Canadian average gasoline and diesel prices peaked in mid-2008 at $1.34 per litre and $1.42 per litre, respectively, before dropping significantly in 2009. Gasoline and diesel prices rebounded in 2011 and remained relatively high until 2014, but have generally declined since mid-2014. During the summer of 2016, gasoline and diesel prices averaged $1.06 per litre and $0.99 per litre respectively.

The Canadian average diesel price was also lower during the summer of 2016, averaging $0.99 per litre. Diesel prices tend to track crude oil prices even more closely than gasoline prices, as diesel is primarily used for freight transportation and industrial purposes, and does not always experience the same seasonal demand variations as gasoline.

In the United States (U.S.), the summer driving season begins on the Memorial DayFootnote 1 long weekend and ends on Labor Day. The U.S. average retail price for regular gasoline was US$2.24 per gallon (or US 73.7 cents per litre)Footnote 2 on 29 August 2016. This is the lowest U.S. price on the Monday before Labor Day since 2004, and 12% lower than the price at the same time in 2015.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : En 2016, les prix de l’essence de la saison estivale ont atteint leur plus bas niveau depuis 2010

Date de diffusion : 2016-09-29

Pendant la saison de conduite estivale au pays, qui dure de la longue fin de semaine de la fête de Victoria à la fête du Travail, la demande en essence est de 10 % à 20 % supérieure à la demande hivernale. Cette augmentation se traduit généralement par une hausse des prix de l’essence, laquelle s’ajoute aux fluctuations des prix du pétrole brut, le cas échéant, qui sont souvent le premier facteur à influer sur les prix de l’essence.

Au cours de l’été 2016, la moyenne canadienne hebdomadaire du prix à la pompe de l’essence a culminé le 7 juin 2016 à 1,11 $ le litre; elle a atteint son plus bas niveau le 2 août 2016, à 1 $ le litre. En moyenne, les prix de l’essence se sont situés à 1,06 $ le litre, soit le point le plus bas depuis le creux observé à l’été 2010 (1,02 $ le litre).

Source et description

Source : Ressources naturelles du Canada - Info-Carburant, Energy Information Administration des États-Unis

Description : Le graphique linéaire illustre le prix à la pompe de l’essence et du diesel au Canada (en cents le litre) du 1er janvier 2005 au 30 août 2016. Il montre également le prix du baril du pétrole brut (West Texas Intermediate) en dollars canadiens au cours de la même période. Les bandes grisées indiquent la saison achalandée sur les routes, qui va de la longue fin de semaine de la fête de Victoria à la fête du Travail, lorsque les prix de l’essence sont généralement supérieurs en raison de la demande accrue. Les prix de l’essence et du diesel suivent normalement le cours du pétrole brut. Les prix moyens de l’essence et du diesel au Canada ont plafonné au milieu de 2008, respectivement à 1,34 $ et à 1,42 $ le litre, avant de dégringoler en 2009. Ils ont rebondi en 2011 et sont restés relativement élevés jusqu’à 2014, mais déclinent généralement depuis le milieu de l’année 2014. Pendant l’été de 2016, les prix moyens de l’essence et du diesel se sont établis respectivement à 1,06 $ et à 0,99 $ le litre.

À 0,99 $ le litre, le prix moyen du diesel était inférieur à celui de l’essence pendant l’été de 2016. Comme le diesel sert essentiellement au transport de marchandises et à d’autres fins commerciales, la demande saisonnière pour ce produit fluctue souvent moins que la demande en essence. Par conséquent, les prix du diesel tendent à suivre le cours du brut de plus près que ne le font les prix de l’essence.

Aux États-Unis, la haute saison de conduite automobile débute à la longue fin de semaine du Memorial DayNote de bas de page 1 et prend fin à la fête du Travail. Le prix au détail moyen de l’essence chez nos voisins du Sud s’établissait à 2,24 $ US le gallon (73,7 cents US le litre)Note de bas de page 2 le 29 août 2016. Il s’agit du plus bas prix observé aux États-Unis au lundi d’avant la fête du Travail depuis 2004 et d’une diminution de 12 % par rapport au prix à la même date en 2015.

Date de modification :