Market Snapshot: Canadian tidal power capacity fourth in the world, with potential to add up to 7 000 MW more

Release Date: 2016-08-03

Tidal power captures energy from the ebb and flow of tides.Footnote 1 In addition to being a renewable source of energy, tidal is more consistent than intermittent energy sources like wind and solar.

With total capacity of approximately 40 megawatts (MW), Canada ranks fourth in the world in installed tidal power capacity. Leading the way globally is South Korea (511 MW), followed by France (246 MW), and the United Kingdom (139 MW). Canadian capacity is located solely in Nova Scotia and includes projects such as the 20 MW Annapolis Tidal Power Plant and the Fundy Ocean Research Centre for Energy (FORCE) test site projects developed by Minas Tidal, Black Rock Tidal Power, Atlantis Operations Canada, and Cape Sharp Tidal Venture.Footnote 2

Source and Description

Source: Ocean Energy Systems Annual Report 2015, NEB calculations

Description: This bar chart shows total installed capacity of tidal power by country. Globally, South Korea has the most installed capacity at 511 MW, France is second at 246 MW, and the United Kingdom is third at 139 MW. Canada is fourth with 40 MW, followed by Belgium at 20 MW, China at 12 MW, and Sweden at almost 11 MW.

* Tidal power includes installed and consented projects for wave power, tidal current, and tidal range sites. Some of these projects are in the demonstration phase, others are short duration testing programs, and a few are prototypes entering the commercialization phase.

Nova Scotia’s Bay of Fundy has been identified by the California-based Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) as one of the best potential sites in North America for tidal power generation. In the Minas Passage alone, EPRI estimated potential of nearly 300 MW (enough to power approximately 100 000 homes). Further research at Acadia University now suggests that there is more than 7 000 MW of potential in the Minas Passage, 2 500 MW of which has commercial potential without significant effects on peak tide height.

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Le Canada quatrième au monde pour la capacité marémotrice et possibilité d’ajouter jusqu’à 7 000 MW de plus

Date de diffusion : 2016-08-03

L’énergie marémotrice utilise la puissance des marées.Note de bas de page 1 En plus d’être une source renouvelable, l’énergie marémotrice est plus constante que les sources intermittentes comme l’énergie éolienne et solaire.

Avec une capacité totale d’environ 40 mégawatts (MW), le Canada se classe au quatrième rang dans le monde en ce qui a trait à la capacité marémotrice installée. La Corée du Sud occupe le premier rang (511 MW), suivie de la France (246 MW) et du Royaume-Uni (139 MW). La capacité canadienne se situe uniquement en Nouvelle-Écosse et elle inclut des projets tels que la centrale marémotrice d’Annapolis [anglais seulement] de 20 MW et le site d’essai du Fundy Ocean Research Centre for Energy [anglais seulement] (FORCE) élaboré par Minas Tidal [anglais seulement], Black Rock Tidal Power [anglais seulement], Atlantis Operations Canada [anglais seulement], et Cape Sharp Tidal Venture [anglais seulement].Note de bas de page 2

Source et description

Source : Rapport annuel 2015 d’Ocean Energy Systems [anglais seulement], calculs de l’Office

Description : Ce diagramme à barres montre la capacité marémotrice totale installée par pays. À l’échelle mondiale, c’est la Corée du Sud qui a le plus de capacité installée, avec 511 MW; la France est au deuxième rang, avec 246 MW, et le Royaume-Uni est troisième, avec 139 MW. Le Canada se classe quatrième, avec 40 MW, suivi de la Belgique (20 MW), de la Chine (12 MW) et de la Suède (presque 11 MW).

* L’énergie marémotrice comprend les projets en place et acceptés pour ce qui est des sites d’énergie houlomotrice, de courant de marée et d’amplitude de marée. Certains de ces projets sont en phase de démonstration, d’autres consistent en des programmes d’essai de courte durée ou en des prototypes qui entament la phase de commercialisation.

La baie de Fundy, en Nouvelle-Écosse, a été repérée parmi les meilleurs endroits en Amérique du Nord pour la production d’énergie marémotrice par l’Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), basé en Californie. Dans le passage Minas seulement, l’EPRI a estimé un potentiel de 300 MW (assez d’énergie pour alimenter environ 100 000 foyers). D’autres recherches effectuées à l’université Acadia donnent maintenant à penser qu’il y aurait un potentiel de plus de 7 000 MW dans le passage Minas, dont un potentiel commercial de 2 500 MW, sans effets importants sur la hauteur des marées hautes [anglais seulement].

 

Date de modification :