Market Snapshot: Increased GHG emissions from the transportation sector reflect major consumer and business trends


Release date: 2016-07-14

Total Canadian greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions have increased from 614 megatonnes (MT) of carbon dioxide (CO2) equivalent in 1990 to 733 MT in 2014, an average annual growth rate of 0.7 %. GHG emissions from the transportation sector, the second largest emitter in Canada, has had stronger growth since 1990, at an average annual rate of 1.1 % per year. In 2014, emissions from the transportation sector were 171 MT, roughly 23 % of total Canadian GHG emissions.Footnote 1

The largest source of transportation emissions was from passenger transportation, including passenger cars, light trucks, aviation, bus, rail, and motorcycle. In 2014, passenger transportation accounted for 55 % of total GHG emissions from the transportation sector, or 95 MT. Emissions from passenger aviation, bus, rail, and motorcycle have remained largely flat at 9 MT from 1990 to 2014. Despite improved fuel economy and emission standards in most vehicles, the growing trend of consumer preference for SUVs and light trucks has resulted in GHG emissions from light trucks more than doubling, from 22 MT in 1990 to 50 MT in 2014, which has more than offset reductions in passenger car emissions from 52 MT in 1990 to 36 MT in 2014.

Source and Description

Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada’s National Inventory Report: 1990-2014

Description: The stacked area chart illustrates GHG emissions from the transportation sector in Canada from 1990 to 2014 in MT of CO2 equivalent. Total GHG emissions from the transportation sector increased from 129 MT in 1990 to 171 MT in 2014. The chart breaks down emissions by mode of transport, including passenger cars; passenger trucks; passenger aviation, bus, rail and motorcycle; freight trucks; freight aviation, rail, and marine; and other (which includes other recreational, commercial, and residential uses). Emissions in many of these areas were relatively stable from 1990 to 2014. However, passenger car emissions decreased from 52 MT to 36 MT, passenger light truck emissions increased from 22 MT to 50 MT, and freight truck emissions increased from 24 MT to 55 MT.

Emissions from freight transportation, 68 MT or 40 % of total transportation sector emissions in 2014, have grown significantly since 1990. While emissions from freight aviation, rail, and marine have remained relatively steady over the years at 15 MT, emissions from freight trucks have more than doubled, from 24 MT in 1990 to 55 MT in 2014. Despite generally being the most energy-intensive and highest-cost mode of freight transportation, moving freight by truck has increased in recent decades as a result of increasing consumer demand for manufactured goods, just-in-time production models,Footnote 2 and door-to-door delivery to consumers.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Émissions accrues de gaz à effet de serre attribuables aux tendances de consommation et de production manufacturière


Date de diffusion : 2016-07-14

Les émissions totales canadiennes de gaz à effet de serre (GES) sont passées de 614 à 733 mégatonnes (Mt) d’équivalent en dioxyde de carbone (CO2) de 1990 à 2014. Il s’agit d’une croissance annuelle moyenne de 0,7 %. Le taux annuel moyen de croissance des émissions du secteur des transports, la deuxième source de GES au Canada, a été, à 1,1 %, le plus élevé de tous les secteurs. En 2014, les émissions de ce même secteur s’élevaient à 171 Mt, soit près de 23 % des émissions totales canadiennes de GESNote de bas de page 1.

La première source d’émissions du secteur des transports était le transport de passagers : voitures, véhicules utilitaires légers (VUL), avions, autobus, trains, motocyclettes. En 2014, ce type de transport était à l’origine de 55 % des émissions totales de GES du secteur (95 Mt). Les émissions provenant du transport de passagers par avion, train et motocyclette sont demeurées relativement stables à 9 Mt de 1990 à 2014. En dépit des normes améliorées de consommation de carburant et d’émissions qui s’appliquent à la plupart des véhicules, les GES provenant des VUL ont plus que doublé de 1990 (22 Mt) à 2014 (50 Mt) en raison de la popularité accrue des véhicules utilitaires sport et des VUL, ce qui a largement neutralisé la baisse des émissions des voitures (52 Mt en 1990 contre 36 Mt en 2014).

Source et description

Source : Rapport d’inventaire national 1990-2014 d’Environnement et de Changement climatique Canada

Description : Ce graphique illustre les émissions de GES du secteur des transports du Canada, de 1990 à 2014, en Mt d’équivalent CO2. Au cours de cette période, les émissions de GES sont passées de 129 Mt à 171 Mt. Les émissions sont séparées selon le mode de transport : voitures; véhicules utilitaires légers; avions et trains de passagers, autobus et motocyclettes; camions de fret; avions, trains et navires de fret; autres (dont les véhicules à usage récréatif, commercial et résidentiel). Pour bon nombre de ces modes de transports, les émissions sont demeurées relativement stables durant la période visée. En revanche, les émissions provenant des voitures ont diminué (52 Mt contre 36 Mt); celles des VUL et des camions de fret ont augmenté (respectivement 22 Mt contre 50 Mt et 24 Mt contre 55 Mt).

Les émissions qui proviennent du transport de marchandises ont fortement progressé depuis 1990. Elles s’élevaient à 68 Mt en 2014, soit 40 % des émissions totales du secteur des transports. Bien que les émissions des avions, trains et navires de fret soient demeurées relativement stable à 15 Mt, celles des camions de fret ont plus que doublé (24 Mt en 1990; 55 Mt en 2014). Quoiqu’il soit le mode de transport de marchandises le plus énergivore et le plus dispendieux, le transport par camion a augmenté au cours des dernières décennies du fait de la demande accrue des consommateurs pour des produits manufacturés, des modèles de production juste-à-tempsNote de bas de page 2 et de la livraison à domicile.

 

Date de modification :