Market Snapshot: Abundant natural gas storage due to warm winter


Release date: 2016-04-14

Because natural gas production is relatively steady while gas demand fluctuates with the seasons, storage is used to help balance natural gas markets. Unexpected variations in demand are usually reflected in storage volumes and, ultimately, in natural gas prices.

During winter 2015/16, temperatures in most regions of Canada and the U.S. were above normal, resulting in lower space heating demand for natural gas. This led to a storage balance in Canada of 519 billion cubic feet (Bcf) at the beginning of the 2016 injection seasonFootnote 1 — more than double the volume of gas in storage on 1 April 2015 (253 Bcf) and 85 per cent above the five-year average (2011-2015). For most of 2016, natural gas storage levels in Canada have been above the five-year average.

Figure Source and Description

Source: Enerdata

Description: This graph shows the five-year range, the five-year average and actual Canadian natural gas storage volumes from January 2013 to the end of March 2016. It illustrates the seasonal fluctuations in storage volumes over the injection season and the withdrawal season. Storage typically bottoms out around 150 Bcf to 200 Bcf in April, at the end of the withdrawal season. Storage typically peaks in October around 700 Bcf, at the start of the withdrawal season. Over winter 2015/16, natural gas storage in Canada generally remained above the five-year average and range and started the 2016 injection season at 519 Bcf.

The abundance of natural gas in storage had a direct effect on prices, with the intra-Alberta price for natural gas falling from $2.36 per gigajoule on 1 November 2015 to a low of $0.91 per gigajoule on 6 April 2016.

Natural gas storage in the U.S. followed a similar pattern to Canada over winter 2015/16. In November 2015, the U.S. Energy Information Administration reported that U.S. gas storage hit a record high, surpassing four trillion cubic feet (Tcf). At the end of the withdrawal season, U.S. storage volumes were at 2.5 Tcf, 54 per cent above the five-year average (2011-2015). U.S. natural gas prices have also remained low. Prices at Henry Hub stayed below US$3.00 per million British thermal units (MMBtu) for the entire heating season, and as of 6 April 2016 were reported at US$1.86 per MMBtu.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Un hiver clément se traduit par des stocks abondants de gaz naturel


Date de diffusion : 2016-04-14

En raison du fait que la production de gaz est relativement stable et que la demande de gaz fluctue selon les saisons, on recourt au stockage du gaz naturel afin de maintenir un certain équilibre des marchés. Les fluctuations inattendues de la demande se répercutent généralement sur les volumes stockés et, au final, sur le prix du gaz naturel.

Pendant l’hiver 2015-2016, les températures enregistrées dans la plupart des régions canadiennes et américaines ont été au-dessus des normales, entraînant une faible demande de gaz naturel pour le chauffage. Par conséquent, le bilan des stocks au Canada atteignait 519 milliards de pieds cubes (Gpi³) au début de la saison d’injection de 2016Note de bas de page 1, soit plus du double du volume de gaz qui était stocké au 1er avril 2015 (253 Gpi³) et 85 % de plus que la moyenne sur cinq ans (de 2011 à 2015). Les stocks de gaz naturel au Canada ont été supérieurs à la moyenne quinquennale pendant la majeure partie de 2016.

Source et description

Source : Enerdata

Description : Ce graphique montre la plage et la moyenne enregistrées sur cinq ans ainsi que les volumes réels du gaz naturel stocké au Canada de janvier 2013 à la fin du mois de mars 2016. Il illustre les fluctuations saisonnières des stocks durant les saisons d’injection et des retraits. Les stocks sont habituellement à leur plus bas niveau (de 150 Gpi³ à 200 Gpi³ environ) en avril, à la fin de la saison des retraits. En général, le niveau culmine en octobre, au début de la saison des retraits, à environ 700 Gpi³. Au cours de l’hiver 2015-2016, les stocks de gaz naturel au Canada ont été la plupart du temps supérieurs à la moyenne et à la plage quinquennales; ils se chiffraient à 519 Gpi³ au début de la saison d’injection de 2016.

Les stocks abondants de gaz naturel ont eu une incidence directe sur les prix : le prix du gaz naturel sur le marché intérieur de l’Alberta a chuté de 2,36 $ à 0,91 $ le gigajoule du 1er novembre 2015 au 6 avril 2016.

Les stocks de gaz naturel aux États-Unis ont suivi une tendance semblable à celle observée au Canada durant l’hiver 2015-2016. En novembre 2015, la U.S. Energy Information Administration a indiqué que les stocks de gaz aux États-Unis avaient atteint un sommet sans précédent [anglais seulement], soit plus de 4 billions de pieds cubes (Tpi³). À la fin de la saison des retraits, les volumes stockés chez nos voisins du Sud correspondaient à 2,5 Tpi³, soit 54 % de plus que la moyenne sur cinq ans (de 2011 à 2015). Les prix du gaz naturel aux États-Unis sont également demeurés bas. Les prix au carrefour Henry sont restés inférieurs à 3,00 $ US par million d’unités thermales britanniques (MBTU) pendant toute la saison de chauffage et au 6 avril 2016, ils se situaient à 1,86 $ US par MBTU.

Date de modification :