Market Snapshot: Commercial and Institutional Buildings in Canada becoming Greener


Release Date: 2016-03-10

The energy performance of new commercial/institutional buildings in Canada has improved in the last 5 years. One indicator of this is the number of commercial and institutional buildings that obtained a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED®Footnote 1) certification. This number reached 527 in 2015 compared to 142 in 2010, and brings the grand total of LEED certified projects in Canada to 2576.Footnote 2 This amount makes Canada the global leader in total LEED certified projects outside of the United States.Footnote 3

Based on specific project parameters, buildings can qualify for one of four LEED certification levels (certified, silver, gold and platinum).Footnote 4 About 95 per cent of Canadian LEED-certified buildings can be found in the six provinces listed in the graph below.

Source and Description

Source: Canada Green Building Council

Description: The stacked column chart above illustrates the number of LEED-certified commercial and institutional buildings by year and level of certification for six provinces. Columns are stacked by certification level (certified, silver, gold, and platinum). Separate columns indicate the total number of LEED-certified buildings in 2010 and 2015 in six provinces, listed in order from highest to lowest number of certifications in 2015 (Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, and Nova Scotia). In each of those provinces, more buildings obtained LEED certification in 2015 than in 2010.

In recent years, changes were also made to the building code to improve energy performance. The National Energy Code of Canada for BuildingsFootnote 5 was updated in 2011 with the goal of improving average new building energy performance by 25 per cent over the previous 1997 code. As of 2015, five provinces (representing 70 per cent of new commercial/institutional building space) adopted these energy standards, and nearly all new Canadian buildings are expected to be covered by Code standards by 2017.

Proposed building codes in North America are aiming for even greater energy performance. Industry discussions are now considering “net-zero ready"Footnote 6 levels for 2030 and further energy intensity improvements of 50 per cent below 2004 levels. This supports projections, including those by the NEBFootnote7, of ongoing improvements in commercial building energy performance.

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Immeubles à usage commercial et institutionnel plus écologiques au Canada

Date de diffusion : 2016-03-10

Le rendement énergétique des nouveaux immeubles à usage commercial et institutionnel au Canada s’est amélioré au cours des cinq dernières années. Le nombre d’immeubles à usage commercial et institutionnel ayant obtenu une certification Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED® Note de bas de page 1) en est un indicateur. Ce chiffre s’est monté à 527 en 2015 comparativement à 142 en 2010, portant le total global de projets certifiés LEED au Canada à 2576. Note de bas de page 2 Ce total de projets certifiés LEED place le Canada au rang de meneur mondial à l’extérieur des États-Unis. Note de bas de page 3

Les immeubles peuvent obtenir un des quatre niveaux de certification LEED suivants : certifié, argent, or et platine. Note de bas de page 4 Environ 95 % des immeubles canadiens certifiés LEED se situent dans les six provinces figurant dans le graphique ci-dessous.

Source et description

Source :  Conseil du bâtiment durable du Canada

Description :  Le graphique à colonnes empilées ci-dessus illustre le nombre d’immeubles à usage commercial et institutionnel certifiés LEED par année et niveau de certification dans six provinces. Les colonnes sont empilées par niveau de certification (certifié, argent, or et platine). Les colonnes indiquent le nombre total d’immeubles certifiés LEED en 2010 et 2015 dans six provinces, figurant en ordre décroissant du nombre de certifications en 2015 (Ontario, Québec, Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Manitoba et Nouvelle-Écosse). Dans chacune de ces provinces, il y a eu plus d’immeubles qui ont obtenu une certification LEED en 2015 qu’en 2010.

Au cours des dernières années, des modifications ont aussi été apportées au code du bâtiment pour améliorer le rendement énergétique. Le Code national de l’énergie pour les bâtiments - Canada Note de bas de page 5 a été mis à jour en 2011 dans le but d’améliorer le rendement énergétique moyen des nouveaux immeubles de 25 % par rapport à la version précédente de 1997. Dès 2015, cinq provinces (représentant 70 % des nouveaux espaces de bâtiment à usage commercial ou institutionnel) ont adopté ces normes énergétiques, et presque tous les nouveaux immeubles canadiens devraient satisfaire aux normes du code d’ici 2017.

Les codes du bâtiment proposés en Amérique du Nord visent un rendement énergétique encore plus élevé. L’industrie envisage maintenant un rendement énergétique net zéro Note de bas de page 6 pour 2030 et des améliorations visant à diminuer l’intensité énergétique de 50 % sous les niveaux de 2004. Cela appuie les projections (y compris celles de l’Office) Note de bas de page 7, d’améliorations continues du rendement énergétique des immeubles à usage commercial.

 

Date de modification :