Market Snapshot: Fewer wells account for majority of natural gas production in western Canada


Release Date: 2016-01-21

Since 2006, more than 200 000 wells have been producing natural gas in western Canada at any given time. These wells are a mix of old and new, shallow and deep, and produce gas from numerous sourcesFootnote 1. While the total number of wells with natural gas production has been relatively stable from 2008 onwards, fewer new wells are being drilled on an annual basis, and the average new well has become more productive because of advancements in horizontal drilling and hydraulic fracturingFootnote 2.

As a result of this increased productivity, a decreasing number of wells account for the majority of western Canadian production. In 2008, 18 per cent of wells accounted for 80 per cent of production. In 2014, this figure dropped to 13 per cent of wells, and in 2015, it is estimated to be 12 per cent. Despite this declining percentage, total western Canadian natural gas production has actually increased six per cent since 2012 - further evidence of the enhanced productivity of new wells.

Figure Sources and Description

Sources: Divestco, NEB calculations

Description: This chart depicts, from 2000 to 2015, the percentage of natural gas wells that account for 80 per cent of total natural gas production in western Canada as a line chart, and it shows the number of wells with gas production as columns. Since 2008, the number of wells with gas production in any given year has been fairly steady around 235 000. But the portion of wells accounting for 80 per cent of production has been falling as a result of growing well productivity, from 18 per cent in 2008, to 12 per cent in 2015. Note that the 2015 figures are estimates based on available data from January to July.

Historically, western Canadian gas production was dominated by conventional gas. In the early 2000s, average well productivity from mature conventional plays was in decline, which meant more wells were needed to keep production level. However, hydraulic fracturing improved tight well productivity to such a degree that fewer new wells were needed to maintain overall production, and tight wells also became the dominant source of gas production by 2012.

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Gaz naturel dans l’Ouest canadien : moins de puits pour une même production

Date de diffusion : 2016-01-21

Depuis 2006, plus de 200 000 puits de l’Ouest canadien - anciens, nouveaux, peu profonds et profonds confondus – produisent en tout temps du gaz naturel de sources variéesFootnote 1. Bien que le nombre total de puits de gaz naturel soit relativement stable depuis 2008, le nombre de puits forés annuellement est à la baisse, et les nouveaux puits sont généralement plus productifs en raison du perfectionnement de la technologie de forage horizontal et de fracturation hydrauliqueFootnote 2.

En raison de l’amélioration de la productivité, le pourcentage de puits nécessaires pour produire l’essentiel du gaz naturel dans l’Ouest canadien diminue. En 2008, les 80 pour cent de la production provenaient de 18 pour cent des puits. En 2014, ce dernier chiffre est descendu à 13 pour cent, puis est tombé, selon les estimations, à 12 pour cent l’année suivante. En dépit de ces pourcentages décroissants, la production totale de gaz naturel dans l’Ouest canadien a augmenté de six pour cent depuis 2012 - autre signe de la productivité accrue des nouveaux puits.

Sources et description

Sources : Divestco et calculs de l’Office

Description : Le graphique linéaire simple illustre, pour la période de 2000 à 2015, le pourcentage de puits de gaz naturel d’où proviennent les 80 pour cent de la production totale de gaz naturel dans l’Ouest canadien; les barres montrent le nombre de puits de production de gaz naturel. Depuis 2008, ce nombre au cours d’une année donnée est resté assez stable (environ 235 000). En revanche, étant donné la hausse de la productivité des puits, la portion des puits produisant 80 % de la production totale est passée de 18 pour cent en 2008 à 12 pour cent en 2015. Prenez note que les chiffres de 2015 sont des estimations fondées sur les données disponibles de janvier à juillet.

La production de gaz dans l’Ouest canadien était autrefois dominée par le gaz classique. Au début des années 2000, comme la productivité moyenne des puits des gisements matures de gaz classique connaissait un déclin, un plus grand nombre de puits était nécessaire pour maintenir le niveau de production. En améliorant la productivité des puits de gaz de réservoir étanche, la fracturation hydraulique a toutefois permis de maintenir la production globale avec un nombre inférieur de nouveaux puits; les puits de gaz de réservoir étanche sont devenus la source dominante de production de gaz en 2012.

 

Date de modification :