Market Snapshot: Canadian Gasoline Prices Track Brent Closer than WTI

Release Date: 2015-06-30

Changes in Canadian retail gasoline prices may be caused by numerous factors, including local retail supply and demand conditions, taxes, and crude oil prices. Despite short-term volatility, gasoline prices are highly correlated with crude oil price trends in the long term. When assessing the gasoline-crude oil price relationship, the choice of crude oil price is important. Gasoline is widely used and traded across the globe, and generally gasoline prices follow international crude prices rather than local crude prices.

Recent analysis by the U.S. Energy Information Administration found that American gasoline prices tracked Brent and WTI prices fairly closely prior to 2011. Since 2011, when WTI started trading at a discount to international crude prices (e.g. Brent), Brent has been a more powerful indicator of U.S. gasoline prices than WTI.

Canadian retail gasoline prices appear to follow a similar trend. The figure below compares the difference between Canadian gasoline prices and Brent crude oil to the difference between Canadian gasoline prices and WTI crude oil. Like in the U.S., prior to 2011 the difference between gasoline and crude price was similar for both crudes since the two prices moved closely together. Following 2011, when the Brent-WTI differential widened, the gasoline-Brent spread remained similar to historical levels, while the gasoline-WTI spread increased dramatically.

Figure Sources and Data

Sources: EIA, Natural Resources Canada, NEB calculations

Description: This chart captures the annual average Canadian retail gasoline price to crude oil price spread. The spread is calculated by converting annual dollar per barrel crude benchmark prices into cents per litre which is then subtracted from average gasoline prices. As shown in the chart, the spread for both WTI and Brent was fairly constant between 2000 and 2010, ranging from 12 to 21 cents per litre. However, post 2010, while the spread for Brent remains constant the spread for WTI has widened to as high as 29 cents per litre.

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Le prix de l’essence au Canada suit de plus près le cours du Brent que du WTI

Date de diffusion : 2015-06-30

La variation des prix à la consommation de l’essence pourrait être attribuable à un grand nombre de facteurs, dont les conditions locales de l’offre et de la demande sur le marché de détail, les taxes et les prix du brut. En dépit de leur volatilité à court terme, les prix de l’essence sont en étroite corrélation avec les tendances à long terme des cours du pétrole brut. Les rapports ainsi exprimés varient beaucoup selon le brut choisi. L’essence est largement consommée et on en fait le commerce partout dans le monde, et généralement, son prix reflète les prix internationaux du brut plutôt que les prix locaux.

Une analyse récente de la U.S. Energy Information Administration [anglais seulement] révèle que les prix de l’essence aux États-Unis suivaient d’assez près ceux du Brent et du WTI avant 2011. Depuis, le WTI s’échange à des prix plus bas que ceux du brut international, comme le Brent, qui est alors devenu un indicateur plus fiable des prix de l’essence aux États-Unis.

On constate une tendance similaire des prix au détail de l’essence au Canada. Le graphique ci-dessous illustre la différence entre les prix de l’essence et du brut, soit le Brent d’une part et le WTI d’autre part. Comme aux États-Unis, les cours du WTI et du Brent évoluaient de concert avant 2011, c’est pourquoi les différences entre le prix de l’essence et celui de ces deux bruts étaient similaires à cette période. Après 2011, le différentiel entre le Brent et le WTI s’est creusé. Tandis que l’écart de prix entre l’essence et le Brent est demeuré comparable à ses niveaux historiques, celui entre l’essence et le WTI s’est considérablement élargi.

Sources et description de la figure

Sources : Energy Information Administration, Office national de l’énergie et Ressources naturelles Canada

Description : Le graphique ci-dessous montre l’écart de prix annuel moyen entre l’essence au détail et le brut. On calcule l’écart en convertissant le cours moyen annuel du baril de brut (en dollars) en cents par litre, puis en le soustrayant des prix moyens de l’essence. Comme le montre le graphique, l’écart pour le WTI et le Brent était relativement constant de 2000 à 2010, variant de 12 à 21 cents le litre. Après 2010 toutefois, tandis que l’écart de prix avec le Brent est demeuré constant, celui avec le WTI a grimpé à 29 cents le litre.

 

Date de modification :