Market Snapshot: Canadian LNG Projects Face a Competitive Global Market

Release Date: 2015-03-05

According to BG Group, global deliveries of liquefied natural gas, or LNG, reached 32 billion cubic feet per day in 2013. Despite producing a significant amount of natural gas, North America plays a minimal role in the global LNG trade. The only existing liquefaction terminal in North America that exports LNG is located in Alaska and was constructed in 1969. Several terminals exist with the capability to import LNG but are utilized at very low levels due to abundant natural gas supplies and low prices in North America.

However, these abundant supplies and low prices have spurred dozens of proposals for LNG export projects in North America. By the end of 2014, applications to export LNG totaled approximately 40 billion cubic feet per day in the U.S. and 48 billion cubic feet per day in Canada. Nine LNG export licences have been issued in Canada for a total of 20.8 billion cubic feet per day. In comparison, Canadian gas production was approximately 14.5 billion cubic feet per day in 2014.

As noted in a recent decision issued by the National Energy Board [Filing A65596], the LNG export licence applications submitted in Canada represent a significant volume of natural gas exports. The Board also noted that projects compete for a limited global market and face numerous development and construction challenges. As a result, it is unlikely that all LNG export licences issued by the Board will be used or used to their full allowance. Factors influencing the competitiveness of liquefaction projects include distance to gas reserves, availability of the existing infrastructure, distance to markets, construction and labour costs, geopolitical factors, financing and timing.

Figure Sources and Description

Sources: International Gas Union World LNG Report, U.S. Department of Energy, National Energy Board, BP Energy Outlook 2035 and various press releases. The volumes associated with projects not yet under-construction are shown starting in 2020 for illustrative purposes only.

Description: This layered cake chart depicts existing and under-construction natural gas liquefaction capacity, globally, from 2013 to 2035. Existing capacity is approximately 40 billion cubic feet per day. Under-construction capacity is stacked on the existing capacity and grows from zero in 2013 to 20 billion cubic feet per day in 2019, after which it remains flat to 2035. Starting in 2020, projects that are not under-construction in Canada (those with approved and pending NEB licences) and the U.S. are layered on top of existing and under-construction export capacity. Proposed Canadian projects with approved licences represent approximately 20 billion cubic feet per day, Canadian projects with licences pending total approximately 27 billion cubic feet per day and proposed U.S. projects total nearly 36 billion cubic feet per day. Combined, global existing and under-construction capacity and proposed projects in just the U.S. and Canada total more than 140 billion cubic feet per day in 2035.

The figure also depicts projected global LNG demand as a line overlaying the liquefaction capacity volumes. Global demand grows robustly from 32 billion cubic feet per day in 2013 to over 81 billion cubic feet per day in 2035. Projected demand surpasses combined existing and under-construction capacity in 2028 at approximately 58 billion cubic feet per day.

The above figure illustrates the competitiveness of the global LNG market. It compares the volume of existing and under-construction global capacity as well as proposed liquefaction capacity in just Canada and the U.S. to the forecasted demand in the global LNG market. BP forecasts that LNG trade will grow at a robust rate of 4.3 per cent, reaching 81 billion cubic feet per day of demand in 2035. According to the International Gas Union and recent announcements, 20 billion cubic feet per day of additional liquefaction capacity is already under-construction around the world, including projects in the U.S. which have recently broken ground. Once these facilities are in operation, the forecasted demand above existing liquefaction capacity would be approximately 22 billion cubic feet per day by 2035, compared to over 80 billion cubic feet per day of proposed but not yet under-construction capacity in North America alone.

There are several caveats to consider in this comparison of forecast demand and proposed LNG export capacity. For instance, actual demand growth could vary. Also, utilization of global liquefaction capacity is between 80 and 90 per cent, suggesting that capacity will likely be somewhat higher than demand going forward. In addition, some existing capacity will likely retire by 2035. On the other hand, although North American projects represent the majority of recent proposals, they could face additional competition from projects in other regions of the world such as Russia and East Africa.

The number of proposals in North America highlights the interest in LNG exports. Currently four projects in North America are under construction. These projects, all located in the U.S., include Sabine Pass, Cameron LNG, Freeport LNG and Cove Point which together will have the capacity to export over 6 billion cubic feet per day of natural gas. None of the Canadian projects have reached this stage of development. Recently Pacific Northwest LNG and Prince Rupert LNG have delayed final investment decisions that were expected in 2014.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Projets canadiens de GNL confrontés à un marché mondial concurrentiel

Date de diffusion : 2015-03-05

Selon le BG Group [anglais seulement], les livraisons mondiales de gaz naturel liquéfié, ou GNL, ont atteint 32 milliards de pieds cubes par jour en 2013. En dépit d’une quantité considérable de gaz naturel produite, l’Amérique du Nord jour un rôle minime dans le commerce mondial de GNL. Le seul terminal de liquéfaction de gaz naturel existant en Amérique du Nord qui exporte du GNL est situé en Alaska et a été construit en 1969. Plusieurs terminaux ont la capacité d’importer du GNL, mais ils sont très peu utilisés en raison des stocks abondants de gaz naturel et des bas prix en Amérique du Nord.

Toutefois, l’abondance des stocks et les prix peu élevés ont donné lieu à des dizaines de propositions de projets d’exportation de GNL en Amérique du Nord. Vers la fin de 2014, les demandes d’exportation de GNL totalisaient approximativement 40 milliards de pieds cubes par jour aux États-Unis [anglais seulement] et 48 milliards de pieds cubes par jour au Canada. Neuf licences d’exportation de GNL ont été délivrées au Canada pour un total de 20,8 milliards de pieds cubes par jour. En comparaison, la production canadienne de gaz a été de 14,5 milliards de pieds cubes par jour en 2014.

Tel qu’il a été noté dans une décision rendue récemment par l’Office national de l’énergie [Dépôt A65596], les demandes de licence d’exportation de GNL soumises au Canada représentent un volume important d’exportations de gaz naturel. L’Office a aussi fait remarquer que tous ces projets se font concurrence sur un marché mondial limité et se heurtent à des difficultés sur le plan de la mise en valeur et de la construction. Par conséquent, il est peu probable que les licences d’exportation de GNL délivrées par l’Office ne soient pas toutes utilisées ou ne soient pas utilisées pour la quantité totale permise. Parmi les facteurs influant sur la capacité concurrentielle des projets de liquéfaction, mentionnons la distance jusqu’aux réserves de gaz, la disponibilité d’infrastructures existantes, la distance jusqu’aux marchés, les coûts de construction et de main-d’œuvre, la situation géopolitique, le financement et le choix du moment.

Sources et description de la figure

Sources : International Gas Union World LNG Report [anglais seulement], U.S. Department of Energy [anglais seulement], Office national de l’énergie, BP Energy Outlook 2035 [anglais seulement] et divers communiqués de presse. Les volumes associés aux projets n’ayant pas encore été mis en chantier sont indiqués à partir de 2020 à des fins d’illustration seulement.

Description : Ce graphique étagé illustre la capacité existante et en chantier de liquéfaction de gaz naturel, à l’échelle mondiale, de 2013 à 2035. La capacité existante s’élève à environ 40 milliards de pieds cubes par jour en 2014. La capacité en chantier est superposée sur la capacité existante; elle passe de zéro en 2013 à 20 milliards de pieds cubes par jour en 2019, après quoi elle reste stable jusqu’en 2035. À compter de 2020, les projets n’ayant pas été mis en chantier au Canada (avec licences approuvées par l’Office ou en attente d’approbation) et aux États-Unis sont représentés en couches superposées sur la capacité d’exporter existante et en chantier. Les projets canadiens envisagés ayant une licence approuvée représentent environ 20 milliards de pieds cubes par jour et ceux dont la licence est en attente d’approbation, approximativement 27 milliards de pieds cubes par jour, tandis que les projets américains proposés totalisent quelque 36 milliards de pieds cubes par jour. La capacité mondiale existante et en chantier, combinée aux projets proposés aux États-Unis et au Canada, totalise plus de 140 milliards de pieds cubes par jour en 2035.

La figure montre également la demande mondiale prévue de GNL, représentée par une ligne superposée sur les volumes de capacité de liquéfaction. La demande mondiale affiche une croissance solide, passant de 32 millions de pieds cubes par jour en 2013 à plus de 81 millions de pieds cubes par jour en 2035. La demande projetée surpasse la capacité existante et en chantier combinée en 2028, à environ 58 milliards de pieds cubes par jour.

La figure ci-dessus illustre la compétitivité du marché mondial de GNL. On y compare le volume de capacité mondiale existante et en chantier de même que la capacité de liquéfaction proposée au Canada et aux États-Unis par rapport à la demande prévue sur le marché mondial de GNL. BP prévoit une croissance solide du commerce de GNL, à 4,3 % [anglais seulement], atteignant 81 milliards de pieds cubes par jour de la demande en 2035. D’après l’International Gas Union [anglais seulement] et des annonces faites récemment, une capacité de liquéfaction supplémentaire de 20 milliards de pieds cubes par jour est déjà en chantier partout dans le monde, ce qui comprend des projets aux États-Unis qui ont été entrepris récemment. Une fois que ces installations seront en exploitation, la demande prévue dépassant la capacité de liquéfaction existante atteindrait environ 22 milliards de pieds cubes par jour d’ici 2035, comparativement à plus de 80 milliards de pieds cubes par jour de capacité proposée n’ayant pas encore été mise en chantier en Amérique du Nord seulement.

Il y a plusieurs mises en garde à considérer dans cette comparaison entre la demande prévue et la capacité proposée d’exportation de GNL. Par exemple, la croissance de la demande réelle pourrait varier. En outre, l’utilisation de la capacité de liquéfaction mondiale se situe entre 80 % et 90 %, ce qui donne à penser que la capacité sera vraisemblablement quelque peu plus élevée que la demande à l’avenir. De plus, une partie de la capacité existante sera probablement mise à la réforme d’ici 2035. Par ailleurs, bien que les projets nord-américains représentent la majorité des propositions récentes, ils pourraient faire face à la concurrence supplémentaire exercée par les projets d’autres régions du monde comme la Russie et l’Afrique de l’Est.

Le nombre de propositions en Amérique du Nord fait ressortir l’intérêt pour les exportations de GNL. À l’heure actuelle, quatre projets sont en chantier en Amérique du Nord. Ces projets, tous aux États-Unis, sont Sabine Pass [anglais seulement], Cameron LNG [anglais seulement], Freeport LNG [anglais seulement] and Cove Point [anglais seulement]; leur capacité d’exporter regroupée excédera 6 milliards de pieds cubes par jour de gaz naturel. Aucun des projets canadiens n’a atteint ce stade de mise en valeur. Récemment, Pacific Northwest LNG [anglais seulement] et Prince Rupert LNG [anglais seulement] ont reporté les décisions d’investissement finales qui étaient attendues en 2014.

 

Date de modification :