Market Snapshot: LNG Imports by Truck

Release Date: 2014-10-30

Historically, natural gas and oil prices have tracked fairly closely on an energy content basis. Starting in 2009 a wide spread between the two has developed, with natural gas prices moving lower than oil-based products.

Figure Sources and Description

Sources: Natural Resources Canada, U.S. Energy Information Administration, NEB calculations

Description: This line chart shows energy equivalent fuel prices for crude oil (West Texas Intermediate), natural gas (Henry Hub) and wholesale diesel (Canadian monthly average) in U.S. dollars per million British thermal units. All three fuel prices tracked relatively closely (with the diesel price generally highest, followed by crude oil and natural gas) until 2007 when prices started opening up and briefly narrowing in 2009. Afterwards the natural gas price stayed in the 3 to 5 dollar range while the crude oil and diesel prices moved higher though 2010 and 2011 and continue to stay higher than the natural gas price.

This relatively lower price of natural gas is spurring interest in using liquefied natural gas (LNG) in place of oil products in applications such as freight transport, mining and oil and gas drilling. LNG is natural gas that is chilled to -162 degrees Celsius, at which point it becomes a liquid that take less room to transport.

Despite relatively lower natural gas prices, adoption of LNG as a fuel has been modest, mainly due to uncertainty in future oil and natural gas pricing, and the lack of LNG liquefaction and refueling infrastructure.

However, 2013 showed signs that LNG adoption is beginning to overcome these challenges. In the past few years LNG imports from the United States into Canada via truck have increased from zero in 2011 to 47 million cubic feet (1335 thousand cubic meters). While these are really small volumes of natural gas, it suggests that some end-users are now using LNG as a substitute for oil based fuels.

Canadian LNG Imports by TruckNote 1
  Annual LNG Volume - Gas Equivalent
(Million Cubic Feet)
Annual LNG Volume - Gas Equivalent
(Thousand m3)
2011 0 0
2012 1.1 32
2013 47 1 335
2014 68.1 1 928

Nearly all LNG imported by truck has come across the Alberta border. However, several recent developments in LNG infrastructure will bring liquefaction closer to many consumers in Canada. Ferus Natural Gas Fuels and ENN Canada Corporation have partnered to build liquefaction plants in Edmonton and Vancouver by 2016, which ENN will use to supply its refueling stations for LNG vehicles. North Dakota LNG LLC recently completed a facility in North Dakota near the Canadian border which could provide a source for LNG in southern parts of the Prairies. There is also growing interest in eastern Canada with Gaz Metro planning to expand its existing facilities in Montreal and Union Gas expressing interest in selling LNG at its plant in Hagar, Ontario.

Along with the rising LNG imports by truck, these plans demonstrate increasing momentum behind substituting LNG for oil-based fuels in the industrial and transportation sectors across Canada.

Statistics on LNG imports are available on the NEB website.

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Importations de GNL par camion

Date de diffusion : 2014-10-30

Historiquement, les prix du gaz naturel et du pétrole se sont suivis assez étroitement en termes de contenu énergétique. À partir de 2009, un grand écart s’est installé entre les deux, les prix du gaz naturel tombant en deçà de ceux des produits pétroliers.

Sources et description de la figure

Sources : Calculs de Ressources naturelles Canada, de l’Energy Information Administration (É.-U.) et de l’Office national de l’énergie

Description : Ce graphique linéaire montre les prix énergétiques équivalents pour le pétrole (West Texas Intermediate), le gaz naturel (carrefour Henry) et le diesel vendu en gros (moyenne canadienne mensuelle) en dollars US par million d’unités thermales britanniques. Les prix de ces trois combustibles se sont suivis d’assez près (le prix du diesel étant généralement le plus élevé, suivi de ceux du pétrole brut et du gaz naturel) jusqu’en 2007, année où les prix ont commencé à s’écarter pour ensuite se rapprocher brièvement en 2009. Par la suite, le prix du gaz naturel est demeuré dans la plage de trois à cinq dollars tandis que les prix du pétrole brut et du diesel ont atteint un niveau supérieur en 2010 et 2011, et se maintiennent à ce jour au-dessus du prix du gaz naturel.

Le prix relativement plus bas du gaz naturel suscite un intérêt pour l’utilisation du gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL), qui vient remplacer les produits pétroliers dans des applications comme le transport de marchandises, les activités minières et le forage pétrolier et gazier. Le GNL est du gaz naturel refroidi à -162°C. À cette température, le gaz devient liquide et moins encombrant pour le transport.

Malgré les prix relativement plus bas du gaz naturel, l’utilisation du GNL comme combustible est modérée, principalement en raison de l’incertitude quant aux prix futurs du pétrole et du gaz naturel et au manque d’infrastructure de liquéfaction et de ravitaillement en GNL.

En 2013 toutefois, on a observé des signes montrant que l’utilisation du GNL permettrait de commencer à surmonter ces obstacles. En effet, les importations canadiennes de GNL en provenance des États-Unis par camion ont augmenté ces dernières années; elles sont passées de zéro à 47 millions de pieds cubes (1 335 milliers de mètres cubes) en 2011. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’un très petit volume de gaz naturel, l’augmentation laisse présager que certains utilisateurs finaux substituent maintenant du GNL aux combustibles à base de pétrole.

Importations de GNL au Canada par camion Note 1
  Volume annuel de GNL – Équivalent gazier
(Millions de pieds cubes)
Volume annuel de GNL – Équivalent gazier
(Milliers de mètres cubes)
2011 0 0
2012 1.1 32
2013 47 1 335
2014 68,1 1 928

À peu près tout le GNL importé par camion est passé par la frontière de l’Alberta. Cela dit, plusieurs développements dans l’infrastructure GNL rapprocheront l’étape de liquéfaction d’un grand nombre de consommateurs au Canada. Ferus Natural Gas Fuels et ENN Canada Corporation ont conclu un partenariat pour construire des usines de liquéfaction [anglais seulement] à Edmonton et Vancouver d’ici 2016, qu’ENN utilisera afin d’approvisionner ses stations de ravitaillement pour les véhicules fonctionnant au GNL. North Dakota LNG, LLC a récemment établi une installation [anglais seulement] dans le Dakota du Nord près de la frontière canadienne qui pourrait fournir une source de GNL dans le sud des Prairies. Il y a aussi un intérêt croissant dans l’Est du Canada, Gaz Metro prévoyant agrandir ses installations actuelles à Montréal, et Union Gas ayant fait part de son désir vendre du GNL [anglais seulement] à son usine de Hagar, en Ontario.

Avec l’augmentation des importations de GNL par camion, ces plans démontrent le dynamisme croissant de la substitution du GNL aux combustibles à base de pétrole dans les secteurs de l’industrie et du transport à l’échelle du Canada.

Les statistiques sur les importations de GNL se trouvent sur le site WEB de l’Office.

 

Date de modification :