Commissioners

Damien Côté, Lead Commissioner

Damien Côté, Lead Commissioner

Damien A. Côté has served as a temporary member of the National Energy Board (NEB) since October 2016. He has a wealth of expertise related to Indigenous and regulatory law and more than seven years of senior executive leadership. Mr. Côté holds a Juris Doctor degree and a Licentiate of Laws from the University of Ottawa, a Master’s of Arts in Economics from the University of Toronto, as well as a Bachelor of Engineering (Environmental) and a Bachelor of Arts (Economics) from Carleton University.

Kathy Penney, Deputy Lead Commissioner

Kathy Penney, Deputy Lead Commissioner

Kathy Penney was a permanent member of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission until her appointment as a Commissioner. She has over 25 years of regulatory, environmental and health and safety experience in the public and private sectors. Ms. Penney has expertise in the development of regulatory frameworks, quasi-judicial and federal government project hearings, Indigenous consultations and government and external relations. She holds a Master of Science from the University of British Columbia and a Bachelor of Science from the University of Toronto. Ms. Penney is a Pearson college scholar and holds an Executive Management Certificate from Queen’s University.

Mark Watton, Commissioner

Mark Watton, Commissioner

Mark Watton recently served as Senior Legal Counsel for TC Energy's Commercial and Canadian Regulatory Law, Liquids Division. Prior to that, he was legal counsel to the National Energy Board (NEB) for seven years, advising on several major energy project applications. Mr. Watton joined the NEB after practicing as a litigator in Toronto, and previously worked in multiple advisory roles for federal cabinet ministers and the office of the Prime Minister. He holds a Bachelor of Law with specializations in Marine Law and Business Law from Dalhousie University and a Bachelor of Social Sciences – Political Science from the University of Ottawa.

Stephania Luciuk, Commissioner

Stephania Luciuk, Commissioner

Stephania Luciuk has extensive experience in the energy sector, including in oil and gas industries on a broad range of matters, among them environmental, labour, First Nations and employment and human rights issues. Ms. Luciuk has been in legal practice for over 20 years and previously served as in-house counsel for Imperial Oil, where she oversaw a legal team that successfully completed the regulatory process for the Kearl Oil Sands project and negotiated with First Nations groups and government regarding the Mackenzie Gas project hearings. She is also currently appointed as an assistant professor at Mount Royal University. Ms. Luciuk holds a Juris Doctor from York University and a Master of Laws in international environmental law from Dalhousie University.

Trena Grimoldby, Commissioner

Trena Grimoldby, Commissioner

Trena Grimoldby has extensive experience in administrative tribunal hearings as counsel to tribunals, counsel to proponents, and as tribunal chair. She was in-house counsel for PETRONAS Canada as well as a Public Chairperson at the Insurance Councils Appeal Board of Alberta until her appointment as Commissioner. Prior to that, she served as in-house counsel to Pembina Pipeline Corporation, Shell Canada Limited, and as Board Counsel at the Alberta Energy Regulator (then the Energy and Utilities Board (EUB) and subsequently the Energy Resources Conversation Board (ERCB)).  She has extensive experience in administrative law, hearing practice and procedure, regulatory law, safety and emergency/incident response matters, and environmental law. She holds a Juris Doctor and Bachelor of Laws from the University of Alberta and a Bachelor of Arts with a specialization in English from the University of Alberta.

Wilma Jacknife, Commissioner

Wilma Jacknife, Commissioner

Ms. Wilma Jacknife served as a temporary member of the NEB until March 31, 2019. She has almost 20 years of experience in practising law, both in private practice and as legal counsel for Cold Lake First Nation in Alberta. She specializes in First Nations governance, consultation and negotiation of impact benefits agreements, business development, administrative law and employment and estates law. Ms. Jacknife also has extensive experience working with various First Nations organizations across Canada. Ms. Jacknife holds a Doctor of Juridical Science in Indigenous Peoples Law and Policy and a Master of Laws in Indigenous Peoples Law and Policy from the University of Arizona – College of Law and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of British Columbia.

Date modified:

Commissaires

Damien Côté, commissaire en chef

Damien Côté, commissaire en chef

Damien A. Côté était membre temporaire à l’Office national de l’énergie depuis octobre 2016. Il possède une expertise inestimable en droit autochtone et réglementaire et compte plus de sept ans d’expérience à des postes de haute direction. M. Côté est titulaire d’un doctorat en jurisprudence et d’une licence en droit de l’Université d’Ottawa, d’une maîtrise ès arts en économie de l’Université de Toronto, ainsi que d’un baccalauréat en génie (environnement) et d’un baccalauréat ès arts en économie de l’Université Carleton.

Kathy Penney, commissaire en chef adjointe

Kathy Penney, commissaire en chef adjointe

Avant sa nomination à titre de commissaire à la Régie, Kathy Penney était membre permanente de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire. Elle cumule plus de 25 ans d’expérience dans les domaines de la réglementation, de l’environnement, de la santé et de la sécurité dans les secteurs public et privé. Mme Penney possède une expertise en élaboration de cadres de réglementation, en audiences quasi judiciaires et du gouvernement fédéral relatives à des projets, en consultations autochtones et en relations gouvernementales et extérieures. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès sciences de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et d’un baccalauréat ès sciences de l’Université de Toronto. Mme Penney est chercheuse-boursière au Collège Pearson et détient un certificat en direction supérieure de l’Université Queen’s.

Mark Watton, commissaire

Mark Watton, commissaire

Jusqu’à tout récemment, Mark Watton était avocat-conseil principal en droit commercial et en droit réglementaire canadien à la division des liquides de TC Énergie. Auparavant, il a été conseiller juridique à l’Office national de l’énergie pendant sept ans, où il a fourni des conseils sur plusieurs demandes liées à des projets énergétiques d’envergure. M. Watton s’est joint à l’Office national de l’énergie après avoir été avocat plaidant à Toronto et travaillé à titre de conseiller auprès du conseil des ministres et du cabinet du premier ministre. Il détient un baccalauréat en droit avec spécialisation en droit maritime et en droit des affaires de l’Université Dalhousie et un baccalauréat en sciences sociales avec spécialisation en sciences politiques de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Stephania Luciuk, commissaire

Stephania Luciuk, commissaire

Stephania Luciuk possède une vaste expérience du secteur de l’énergie, notamment des industries pétrolière et gazière à plusieurs égards, dont l’environnement, le travail, l’emploi, les Premières Nations et les droits de la personne. Mme Luciuk exerce le droit depuis plus de 20 ans. Elle a été conseillère juridique à l’Impériale, où elle supervisait une équipe juridique qui a mené à bien le processus de réglementation du projet de sables bitumineux de Kearl et négocié avec des Premières Nations et le gouvernement relativement aux audiences concernant le projet gazier Mackenzie. De plus, elle est actuellement chargée d’enseignement à l’Université Mount Royal. Mme Luciuk est titulaire d’un doctorat en jurisprudence de l’Université York et d’une maîtrise en droit international de l’environnement de l’Université Dalhousie.

Trena Grimoldby, commissaire

Trena Grimoldby, commissaire

Avant sa nomination à titre de commissaire, Trena Grimoldby était conseillère juridique à PETRONAS Canada et présidente publique de la commission d’appel de l’Alberta Insurance Council. Elle était auparavant conseillère juridique à Pembina Pipeline Corporation et à Shell Canada Limitée, et avocate du conseil de l’Alberta Energy Regulator (qui s’appelait alors l’Energy and Utilities Board, puis l’Energy Resources Conversation Board). Elle a une vaste expérience des audiences de tribunaux administratifs à titre de conseillère juridique devant un tribunal ou pour les promoteurs, ainsi qu’en tant que présidente de tribunal. Elle possède une longue expérience dans les domaines du droit administratif, réglementaire et environnemental, de la pratique et des procédures d’audience, et des questions touchant la sécurité, les incidents et les interventions en cas d’urgence. Mme Grimoldby détient un doctorat en jurisprudence, un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de l’Alberta et un baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation en anglais de l’Université de l’Alberta.

Wilma Jacknife, commissaire

Wilma Jacknife, commissaire

Wilma Jacknife a été membre temporaire de l’Office national de l’énergie jusqu’au 31 mars 2019. Elle exerce le droit depuis près de 20 ans en cabinet privé et à titre de conseillère juridique de la Première Nation de Cold Lake, en Alberta. Elle se spécialise dans la gouvernance des Premières Nations, la consultation et la négociation d’ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages, l’expansion d’entreprise et le droit administratif ainsi que le droit du travail et le droit successoral. Mme Jacknife possède une vaste expérience de travail auprès de diverses organisations des Premières Nations au Canada. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences juridiques sur le droit et les politiques des peuples autochtones et d’une maîtrise en droit sur le droit et les politiques des peuples autochtones de l’Université de l’Arizona et d’un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique.

Date de modification :