On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Emergency Notifications

Emergency Notifications

Emergency Notifications

Emergency Notifications [PDF 452 KB]

How are potentially affected communities and people notified in the event of an emergency involving a NEB-regulated company’s operations or facilities?

What is an emergency notification?

Emergency notification is one of the first steps in communicating that an emergency has occurred. This is information and instructions that must be provided to affected communities and people in an immediate manner because it has potential health and safety consequences for those that could be affected by the emergency. People need to know what has happened and what they need to do in order to be safe. Emergency notifications can happen in many different ways, such as phone calls, public service alerts, social media postings and door knocking. The purpose of an emergency notification is to alert as many people as possible, as quickly as possible, that an emergency has occurred.

How do emergency notifications relate to the operation of NEB-regulated pipelines and facilities?

The National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR), require NEB-regulated companies to develop, implement and maintain an emergency management program that anticipates, prevents, manages and mitigates conditions during an emergency that could adversely affect property, the environment, or the safety of workers or the public.

Companies must have emergency plans that consider which communities and individuals could be affected by an emergency situation and how the company will notify them during the emergency response. The NEB expects that companies liaise with these communities and individuals on a regular basis in order to ensure that the company’s plans for emergency notifications are current, and that their communication methods and contact information is up to date, accurate and meets the needs of those to be contacted.

Who is responsible for notifying communities in the event of an emergency?

In the event of an emergency at NEB-regulated facilities or operations, the regulated company is responsible for emergency notification of all potentially affected communities and individuals such as, Indigenous communities, landowners, businesses and rural residents.

Emergency responses can include different levels of government, and a variety of response agencies and first responders working together. Emergency plans, including those of NEB-regulated companies, often pre-plan for different agencies to manage and coordinate certain emergency notifications. For example, a NEB-regulated company may notify first responders of an emergency at a company facility and first responders may then notify the affected community members. Regardless of the plan and means by which emergency notifications are conducted, the NEB holds its regulated companies accountable for ensuring that emergency notifications are completed.

What is the NEB’s role regarding notifications?

The NEB ensures that the regulated company carries out emergency notifications to affected communities and individuals. During an emergency, one of the first steps that the NEB takes is to ask the regulated company who they have notified. The NEB can also direct the company to make additional notifications, if the NEB assesses that this is required for health and safety reasons.

As part of its oversight role, the NEB may follow up with affected communities and individuals to check that the company did in fact notify them and to check if it met the needs of those affected, including: was it timely, was accurate information provided, were updates given and was a point of contact available for questions and further information. If concerns are raised, the NEB can require the company to take corrective actions during the response, or to make improvements to its emergency management program following the response.

How can a community be prepared in advance of receiving an emergency notification?

Different communities have different needs and information requirements when it comes to emergency notifications. It is important that communities along the route of NEB-regulated pipelines discuss their notification needs and expectations with companies so this information can be incorporated into the company’s emergency management plans. This allows companies to plan for effective emergency notifications to all communities and individuals who could be affected by an emergency, or potential emergency, related to their pipelines or facilities.

First responders

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Notifications d’urgence

Notifications d’urgence

Notifications d’urgence

Notifications d’urgence [PDF 457 ko]

Comment les collectivités et personnes susceptibles d’être touchées sont-elles avisées en cas d’urgence mettant en cause des activités ou installations réglementées par l’Office?

Qu’est-ce qu’une notification d’urgence?

La notification est une des premières communications transmises lorsque survient une urgence. Il s’agit d’informations et d’instructions qui doivent être communiquées sans délai aux collectivités et personnes touchées par une situation d’urgence en raison des conséquences possibles sur leur santé et leur sécurité. La population doit être au courant de ce qui s’est passé et de ce qu’il faut faire pour être en sécurité. Les notifications d’urgence peuvent être données de différentes façons : appels téléphoniques, alertes publiques, publications dans les médias sociaux et porte à porte. La notification vise à informer autant de personnes que possible, aussi vite que possible, d’une situation d’urgence.

Comment les notifications d’urgence s’appliquentelles à l’exploitation des pipelines et installations réglementés par l’Office?

Selon le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres, les sociétés doivent établir, mettre en oeuvre et maintenir un programme de gestion des urgences qui permet de prévoir, de prévenir, de gérer et d’atténuer les situations pouvant avoir une incidence négative sur les biens, l’environnement ou la sécurité des travailleurs ou du public.

Les sociétés doivent avoir des plans d’urgence tenant compte des collectivités et des personnes qui pourraient être touchées par une situation d’urgence, et précisant comment ces dernières seront avisées pendant l’intervention. L’Office s’attend à ce que les sociétés soient en contact régulièrement avec ces collectivités et ces personnes afin que les plans de notification d’urgence, les modes de communication et les coordonnées soient à jour, exacts et adaptés aux besoins.

Qui a la responsabilité d’aviser les collectivités en cas d’urgence?

En cas d’urgence mettant en cause des installations ou activités réglementées par l’Office, la société concernée doit notifier toutes les collectivités et personnes susceptibles d’être touchées, notamment les communautés autochtones, les propriétaires fonciers, les entreprises et les résidents des régions rurales.

Les interventions d’urgence peuvent mettre à contribution différents ordres gouvernementaux ainsi que divers organismes et premiers intervenants qui travaillent ensemble. Les plans d’urgence, y compris ceux des sociétés réglementées par l’Office, prévoient souvent différents organismes pour gérer et coordonner certaines notifications. Par exemple, une société réglementée par l’Office peut aviser les premiers intervenants d’une urgence survenue à une installation, et les premiers intervenants peuvent ensuite aviser les membres des collectivités touchées. Peu importe le plan et le mode de notification, l’Office tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de l’envoi des notifications d’urgence.

Quel est le rôle de l’Office en matière de notification?

L’Office veille à ce que les sociétés réglementées transmettent les notifications d’urgence aux collectivités et personnes touchées. Lorsqu’une urgence se produit, une des premières choses que fait l’Office est de demander à la société réglementée de lui préciser qui a été avisé. L’Office peut aussi ordonner à la société d’envoyer d’autres notifications, s’il juge que cela est nécessaire pour des raisons de santé et de sécurité.

Dans le cadre de son rôle de surveillance, l’Office peut faire un suivi auprès des collectivités et personnes touchées pour s’assurer que la société les a effectivement avisées et a répondu à leurs besoins (notification en temps opportun, information exacte, mises à jour, point de contact pour les questions et de plus amples renseignements). Si des préoccupations sont soulevées, l’Office peut exiger que la société prenne des mesures correctives pendant l’intervention ou qu’elle améliore son programme de gestion des urgences après coup.

Comment les collectivités peuvent-elles se préparer avant de recevoir une notification d’urgence?

Les besoins et les exigences relatives à l’information varient selon les collectivités en ce qui concerne les notifications d’urgence. Il importe que les collectivités le long des pipelines réglementés par l’Office discutent avec les sociétés de leurs besoins en matière de notification afin que ces renseignements soient intégrés aux plans de gestion des situations d’urgence. Les sociétés peuvent ainsi planifier des notifications d’urgence efficaces pour toutes les collectivités et personnes susceptibles d’être touchées par une urgence mettant en cause leurs pipelines ou leurs installations.

Premiers intervenants

Date de modification :