On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

National Energy Board approves applications to abandon sub-sea pipelines

Sable Offshore Energy Project and Deep Panuke Project have ceased production

News Release
For Immediate Release

May 2, 2019 – Calgary, Alberta – National Energy Board

The National Energy Board (NEB) has approved two applications to abandon the NEB-regulated parts of Exxon Mobil’s Sable Offshore Energy Project and Encana Corporation’s Deep Panuke Project. These projects, both located offshore Nova Scotia, had reached a stage of naturally declining production. The Sable Offshore Energy Project stopped producing natural gas in December, 2018 and Deep Panuke ceased production in May, 2018.

In its Reasons for Decisions, released today, the NEB approved the plans to abandon the pipelines in place, saying that with appropriate mitigation, any potential environmental impacts could be minimized.

The NEB’s jurisdiction over pipelines continues after they are abandoned in place, and the NEB will hold ExxonMobil and Encana responsible for the safety and security of their infrastructure.

Under the NEB Act, the NEB must hold a public hearing to consider an application for Leave to Abandon a pipeline. Given that many of the potential concerns and issues were similar, the NEB considered both applications concurrently. During the hearings, the NEB gathered input from Indigenous groups, federal and provincial departments, industry, and local municipalities.

ExxonMobil applied on March 29, 2018 to abandon the NEB-regulated portions of the Sable Offshore Energy Project, including the Goldboro Gas Plant and the approximately 200-kilometre long gathering pipeline. Encana applied to abandon the NEB-regulated Deep Panuke pipeline and associated onshore facilities, including a beach valve station, pipeline terminus site and access roads, on June 19, 2018. The Deep Panuke Pipeline runs approximately 175 km from an offshore production platform to an interconnection with the Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline facilities in Goldboro, NS.

As this project falls under section 74 of the NEB Act, the NEB is the final decision maker.

Quick Facts

  • The Sable Offshore Energy Project was Canada’s first offshore natural gas development and began producing natural gas and natural gas liquids in 1999. There are currently no operating offshore natural gas developments in Canada.
  • Once these two projects are abandoned, there will be no operating offshore-to-onshore pipelines regulated by the NEB.
  • According to company estimates, it will cost approximately $52 million for ExxonMobil to abandon its NEB-regulated facilities. EnCana Corporation expects to spend $11.7 million abandoning the NEB-regulated portions of the Deep Panuke Project.

Associated Links

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada’s energy industry. It regulates pipelines, energy development and trade in the public interest with safety as its primary concern. For more information on the NEB and its mandate,please visit the National Energy Board website.

– 30 –

Contacts

Sarah Kiley
Communications Officer

Canada Energy Regulator
Email: sarah.kiley@cer-rec.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-614-6526
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-299-3302
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie approuve la cessation d’exploitation de deux pipelines sous-marins

Fin de la production des projets de l’île de Sable et Deep Panuke

Communiqué
Pour publication immédiate

Le 2 mai 2019 – Calgary, Alberta – Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie a approuvé deux demandes de cessation d’exploitation visant les installations du projet énergétique extracôtier de l’île de Sable d’ExxonMobil et du projet Deep Panuke d’Encana qui sont assujetties à sa réglementation. La production des deux projets situés au large des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse a en effet commencé à baisser naturellement. Le projet énergétique extracôtier de l’île de Sable a cessé de produire du gaz naturel en décembre 2018 et le projet Deep Panuke, en mai 2018.

L’Office explique dans les Motifs de décision publiés aujourd’hui qu’il a approuvé l’abandon sur place des canalisations parce qu’il est persuadé que la mise en place de mesures d’atténuation adéquates permettra de réduire au minimum tout effet environnemental potentiel.

L’Office, dont la compétence sur les pipelines se poursuivra après leur abandon sur place, tiendra ExxonMobil et Encana responsables de la sécurité et de la sûreté des installations en question.

Selon la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, l’Office doit tenir une audience publique pour examiner toute demande d’autorisation de cesser l’exploitation d’un pipeline. Puisque les deux demandes présentaient des questions et préoccupations potentielles semblables, l’Office les a examinées en parallèle. Pendant les audiences, l’Office a entendu le point de vue de groupes autochtones, de ministères provinciaux et fédéraux, de l’industrie et de localités.

La demande présentée par ExxonMobil le 29 mars 2018 vise la cessation d’exploitation des parties du projet énergétique extracôtier de l’île de Sable qui sont assujetties à la réglementation de l’Office, dont l’usine à gaz Goldboro et un pipeline de collecte d’environ 200 kilomètres de long. La demande d’Encana, datée du 19 juin 2018, concerne la cessation d’exploitation du gazoduc Deep Panuke et des installations terrestres connexes, notamment une station de vannes sur la grève, un terminal et des chemins d’accès. Le gazoduc Deep Panuke s’étend sur environ 175 kilomètres entre une plateforme extracôtière et un point d’interconnexion aux installations de Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline à Goldboro, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Puisque ce projet tombe sous le coup de l’article 74 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, la décision définitive revient à l’Office.

En bref

  • Le projet énergétique extracôtier de l’île de Sable était le premier projet au Canada visant la mise en valeur d’un gisement gazier au large des côtes. Il a commencé à produire du gaz naturel et des liquides de gaz naturel en 1999. À l’heure actuelle, le Canada ne compte aucun projet de mise en valeur d’un gisement gazier en exploitation au large de ses côtes.
  • Après la cessation d’exploitation de ces deux projets, l’Office ne réglementera plus aucun pipeline en exploitation entre le large et la terre ferme.
  • ExxonMobil estime à environ 52 millions de dollars le coût de cessation d’exploitation de ses installations relevant de l’Office, alors qu’Encana s’attend à débourser quelque 11,7 millions de dollars pour la cessation d’exploitation des siennes.

Liens connexes

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au coeur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l’Office national de l’énergie.

– 30 –

Personnes-ressources

Sarah Kiley
Agente de communications

Régie de l'énergie du Canada
Courriel : sarah.kiley@cer-rec.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-614-6526
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-299-3302
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803

Date de modification :