On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

NEB denies City of Burnaby request to rescind authorizations for ongoing work at Trans Mountain’s Burnaby Terminal

News Release
For Immediate Release

January 17, 2019 – Calgary – National Energy Board

The NEB today rejected a request by the City of Burnaby to rescind two Orders that authorize Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC to undertake pipeline relocations and decommissioning works at its Burnaby Terminal. The decision enables the company to continue its ongoing work to modify existing piping and related infrastructure within the facility.

The City of Burnaby requested that the NEB rescind the Orders after the Federal Court of Appeal judgement of August 30th, 2018 quashed Federal Government approval for the Trans Mountain Expansion Project. At the time, the City of Burnaby argued that the works authorized in the two Orders were primarily to allow for construction of infrastructure related to the Expansion Project.

In its decision, the NEB found that the piping modifications at the Burnaby Terminal are not associated with the Expansion Project and that the relocation and decommissioning Orders appropriately allow Trans Mountain to optimize the site in preparation to offer new services to shippers. The NEB also permitted the company to continue tree clearing as part of the approved works.

The NEB concluded that replacement of the original piping with new piping designed to allow the passage of in-line inspection tools will improve the integrity of the Burnaby Terminal.

The NEB provides regulatory oversight on all aspects of the existing Trans Mountain Pipeline system and associated facilities. The NEB’s reconsideration hearing of the Trans Mountain Expansion Project is ongoing, independent of this request by Burnaby to rescind the two orders. For more information, please go to the NEB website

Quick Facts:

  • The work at issue in these Orders includes installation of about 1.6 km of new piping and decommissioning of about 1.3 km of piping, independent of the Trans Mountain Expansion Project, within the Burnaby Terminal property.
  • As a result of these Orders, Trans Mountain is authorized to do some tree cutting on its property for the relocation work, widening of an access road and installation of a security fence.
  • The City of Burnaby filed its initial notice of motion to rescind the two Orders to the NEB on October 2, 2018.

Associated Links:

  • NEB decision letter regarding City of Burnaby’s motion to rescind Orders [Filing A97425]
  • NEB letter regarding Trans Mountain’s tree clearing relief request [Filing A97426]

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada’s energy industry. It regulates pipelines, energy development and trade in the public interest with safety as its primary concern. For more information on the NEB and its mandate,please visit the National Energy Board website.

– 30 –

Contacts

James Stevenson
Communications Officer

Canada Energy Regulator
Email: james.stevenson@cer-rec.gc.ca
Cell: 403-613-6126
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

L’Office rejette la demande de la Ville de Burnaby d’annuler les autorisations visant les travaux en cours au terminal Burnaby de Trans Mountain

Communiqué
Pour publication immédiate

Le 17 janvier 2019 – Calgary – Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie a rejeté, aujourd’hui, une requête de la Ville de Burnaby visant à annuler deux ordonnances autorisant Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC à exécuter des travaux pour déplacer et désaffecter de la tuyauterie à son terminal Burnaby. Cette décision permet à la société de poursuivre les travaux en cours touchant des tuyauteries existantes et l’infrastructure connexe à cette installation.

La Ville de Burnaby avait demandé à l’Office d’annuler les ordonnances après que la décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale du 30 août 2019 eut invalidé l’autorisation du gouvernement fédéral relative au projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain. À l’époque, la Ville de Burnaby avait soutenu que les travaux autorisés par les deux ordonnances visaient principalement la construction d’une infrastructure rattachant au projet d’agrandissement.

Dans sa décision, l’Office a conclu que les modifications apportées aux tuyauteries du terminal Burnaby n’étaient pas associées au projet d’agrandissement, et que les ordonnances autorisant le déplacement et la désaffectation permettaient de façon appropriée à Trans Mountain d’optimiser le site dans l’optique d’offrir éventuellement de nouveaux services aux expéditeurs. L’Office a aussi permis à la société de poursuivre l’abattage d’arbres qui fait partie des travaux approuvés.

L’Office a conclu que le remplacement de la conduite d’origine par une conduite conçue pour permettre le passage d’outils d’inspection interne renforcera l’intégrité du terminal Burnaby.

L’Office assure la surveillance réglementaire de toutes les composantes du réseau pipelinier actuel et des installations connexes de Trans Mountain. L’audience de réexamen du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain que tient actuellement l’Office se poursuit; elle est totalement distincte de la demande de la Ville de Burnaby visant l’annulation des deux ordonnances. Pour un complément d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’Office.

En bref

  • Les travaux visés par ces ordonnances comprennent l’installation d’une nouvelle canalisation de 1,6 km et la désaffectation d’une autre de 1,3 km, non rattachées au projet d’agrandissement du réseau Trans Mountain, sur les terrains du terminal Burnaby.
  • Ces ordonnances autorisent Trans Mountain à abattre des arbres sur ses terrains pour permettre l’exécution des travaux de réaménagement, l’élargissement d’une voie d’accès et l’installation d’une clôture de sécurité.
  • La Ville de Burnaby a déposé son avis de requête en annulation des deux ordonnances auprès de l’Office le 2 octobre 2018.

Liens connexes

  • Lettre de décision de l’Office relative à la requête de la Ville de Burnaby visant l’annulation d’ordonnances [dépôt A97425]
  • Lettre de l’Office concernant la demande d’autorisation de déboisement par Trans Mountain [dépôt A97426]

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au coeur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l’Office national de l’énergie.

– 30 –

Coordonnées

James Stevenson
Agent de communications

Régie de l'énergie du Canada
Courriel : james.stevenson@cer-rec.gc.ca
Cellulaire : 403-613-6126
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803

Date de modification :