NEB approves variance application from Trans Mountain to alter project plans

Company now cleared to begin construction at its Burnaby Terminal

News Release
For Immediate Release

June 22, 2018 – Calgary, Alberta – National Energy Board

The National Energy Board (NEB) has approved a variance application from Trans Mountain ULC to change its expansion plans for the company’s Burnaby Terminal. The decision, released today, says that the changes will significantly improve safety at the terminal, which is the Trans Mountain Pipeline System end point.

As part of the Trans Mountain Expansion Project, the company will build 14 new oil storage tanks at its tank farm at the Burnaby Terminal. On March 1, 2017, Trans Mountain applied to the NEB to reduce the diameters of five of the 14 new tanks and the overall capacity of the facilities by 50,880 m³ (320,000 bbls). The company will also increase the amount of space between the tanks and reconfigure the secondary containment system at the tank farm in order to reduce the risk of fire.

The NEB also released two letter reports today for Conditions 22 & 24 and for Condition 9. Conditions #22 and #24 cover updated risk assessments and secondary containment at the Burnaby Terminal. Condition #9 is related to the company’s Quality Management Plan as it applies to the entire project. Today’s reports announce that Trans Mountain has fulfilled these conditions.

The three decisions issued today allow Trans Mountain to begin construction at the Burnaby Terminal, subject to any other permits or authorizations which may be required.

Quick Facts

  • The NEB asked for comments on the variance application from any interested person or group. The NEB received comments from the City of Burnaby [Filing A84741].
  • As these changes apply to an Order granted under section 58 of the NEB Act, the NEB is the final decision maker.
  • In May, 2016 the NEB recommended that the Federal government approve the Trans Mountain Expansion Project subject to 157 conditions. The status of these conditions is available on the NEB’s interactive conditions tool.
  • While the company may now begin work at the Burnaby Terminal, the NEB is still assessing condition compliance and the company is not yet authorized to begin building the pipeline itself.

Associated Links

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit the National Energy Board website.

– 30 –

Contacts

Sarah Kiley
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
Email: sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-614-6526
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

L’Office approuve la demande de Trans Mountain visant la modification des plans relatifs à son projet

La société peut maintenant commencer la construction au terminal Burnaby

Communiqué
Pour publication immédiate

Le 22 juin 2018 – Calgary, Alberta – Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie a approuvé la demande de modification de Trans Mountain ULC visant les plans d’agrandissement du terminal de la société à Burnaby. Rendue aujourd’hui, la décision indique que les changements permettront d’améliorer considérablement la sécurité au terminal, qui correspond au point d’arrivée du réseau pipelinier de Trans Mountain.

Dans le cadre du projet d’agrandissement de son réseau, Trans Mountain construira 14 nouveaux réservoirs dans son parc de stockage au terminal Burnaby. Le 1er mars 2017, Trans Mountain a présenté une demande à l’Office en vue de réduire le diamètre de cinq des 14 nouveaux réservoirs et la capacité totale des installations de 50-880 m³ (320-000 barils). La société augmentera également l’espace entre les réservoirs et réaménagera les installations de confinement secondaire au parc de stockage afin de réduire le risque d’incendie.

L’Office a en outre publié aujourd’hui deux rapports sous forme de lettre relativement aux conditions 22 et 24 et à la condition 9. Les conditions 22 et 24 traitent des évaluations des risques à jour et du confinement secondaire au terminal Burnaby. La condition 9 concerne le plan de gestion de la qualité de la société et son application à l’ensemble du projet. Dans les rapports qu’il a publiés aujourd’hui, l’Office annonce que Trans Mountain a rempli ces conditions.

Les trois décisions rendues aujourd’hui permettent à Trans Mountain de commencer la construction au terminal Burnaby, sous réserve des autres permis et autorisations pouvant être requis.

En bref

  • L’Office a demandé aux personnes et aux groupes intéressés de transmettre leurs commentaires sur la demande de modification. L’Office a reçu des commentaires de la Ville de Burnaby [dépôt A84741].
  • Comme ces changements s’appliquent à une ordonnance rendue en vertu de l’article 58 de la Loi, l’Office est l’ultime décideur.
  • En mai 2016, l’Office a recommandé que le gouvernement fédéral approuve le projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain, sous réserve de 157 conditions. Consultez l’outil interactif d’information sur les conditions de l’Office pour connaître la progression de la conformité à ces dernières.
  • Bien que la société puisse maintenant commencer les travaux au terminal Burnaby, l’Office poursuit son évaluation de la conformité aux conditions et la société n’est pas encore autorisée à commencer la construction du pipeline.

Liens connexes

– 30 –

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au cœur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie.

Personnes-ressources

Sarah Kiley
Agente de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-614-6526
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :