NEB Decision for North Montney Mainline Project

News Release
For Immediate Release

May 23, 2018 – Calgary, Alberta – National Energy Board

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) announced today that it has approved NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL)’s request to modify its Certificate for the North Montney Mainline Project, and for certain associated Project modifications. However, given the changes, the Board found that NGTL’s proposal to maintain the current tolling methodology was not appropriate for the long term. The Board directed provisional measures until a new methodology is developed and approved.

Today’s decision follows public hearings held in Calgary, Alberta, and Dawson Creek, British Columbia, which included oral cross-examination and final arguments. The Board also heard Oral Traditional Evidence from Indigenous participants. A total of 40 parties participated in the proceedings. More than $400,000 was set aside by the NEB to facilitate participation.

The Governor-in-Council needs to approve those changes that relate to the certificate.

Quick Facts

  • In its application, NGTL requested changes to the North Montney Mainline Certificate to allow the gas to flow east, and to proceed with certain components of the Project independently of any final investment decision related to liquefied natural gas exports from the west coast of British Columbia.
  • The changes will also include construction of eight additional meter stations, as well as minor modifications to Project plans.

Associated Links

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit the National Energy Board website.

– 30 –

Contacts

Marc Drolet
Communications Officer
National Energy Board
Email: Marc.Drolet@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 514-476-9911
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265

Date modified:

Décision de l’Office concernant le projet de canalisation principale North Montney

Communiqué
Pour publication immédiate

Le 23 mai 2018 – Calgary, Alberta – Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’il a approuvé la demande présentée par NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (« NGTL ») en vue de modifier le certificat relatif au projet de canalisation principale North Montney et d’apporter d’autres modifications connexes. Toutefois, compte tenu des changements, l’Office a déterminé que la proposition de NGTL de maintenir la méthode de conception des droits actuelle n’était pas appropriée à long terme. Il a ordonné le recours à des mesures provisoires jusqu’à l’élaboration et à l’approbation d’une nouvelle méthode de conception.

La décision est rendue aujourd’hui à la suite d’audiences comportant un contre-interrogatoire oral et des plaidoiries orales qui ont été tenues à Calgary (Alberta) et à Dawson Creek (Colombie‑Britannique). L’Office a également entendu la preuve traditionnelle orale des participants autochtones. Au total 40 parties ont participé aux instances. L’Office a mis de côté plus de 400 000 $ pour faciliter la participation.

Le gouverneur en conseil doit approuver les changements liés au certificat.

En bref

  • NGTL a demandé des modifications au certificat de la canalisation principale North Montney afin que le gaz puisse circuler vers l’est. Elle veut aussi procéder à la réalisation de certaines composantes du projet sans attendre la décision d’investissement finale relative aux exportations de gaz naturel liquéfié depuis la côte ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.
  • Les modifications comprendront aussi la construction de huit stations de comptage supplémentaires ainsi que des changements mineurs aux plans du projet.

Liens connexes

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au cœur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie.

– 30 –

Personnes-ressources

Marc Drolet
Agent de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : marc.drolet@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 514-476-9911
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265

Date de modification :