Spruce Ridge Program Hearing Order Issued

NEB public hearing will consider northeast British Columbia natural gas project

News Release
For Immediate Release

April 27, 2018 – Calgary, Alberta – National Energy Board

The National Energy Board (NEB) will hold a public hearing to consider a proposal from Westcoast Energy Inc., doing business as Spectra Energy Transmission (Westcoast), to build and operate two natural gas pipeline loops, totaling 38 kilometers, and the associated facilities. The NEB’s Hearing Order outlines the key steps and deadlines for the hearing, which will mainly follow a written process and includes an invitation to Indigenous Intervenors to provide Oral Traditional Evidence.

Westcoast has applied to the NEB under section 58 of the National Energy Board Act. Given the elevated level of public interest in this project, the NEB has decided to hold a hearing in order to consider the input of those who could be directly affected or who have expertise to share.

The NEB received 13 applications to participate, of which 11 applicants have been granted Intervenor status and two applicants have been granted Commenter status. The NEB will consider evidence from local landowners, Indigenous groups, companies, and federal, provincial and municipal departments as it decides whether to approve this project.

Quick Facts

  • The proposed natural gas pipeline loops, the Chetwynd Loop (25 km) and the Aitken Creek Loop (13 km), will parallel existing pipelines, but require new rights-of-way.
  • The NEB is providing up to $250,000 in funding to support meaningful participation by Intervenors in the hearing process.
  • As this project falls under section 58 of the National Energy Board Act, the NEB is the final decision maker.

Associated Links

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit the National Energy Board website.

– 30 –

Contacts

Chantal Macleod
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
Email: chantal.macleod@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-966-5036
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

Publication de l’ordonnance d’audience pour le programme Spruce Ridge

Audience publique de l’Office visant l’examen du projet gazier dans le Nord-Est de la Colombie-Britannique

Communiqué

Pour publication immédiate

Le 27 avril 2018 – Calgary, Alberta – Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie tiendra une audience publique afin d’examiner une proposition présentée par Westcoast Energy Inc., faisant affaire sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission (« Westcoast ») pour la construction et l’exploitation de deux doublements de gazoduc, sur une distance totale de 38 kilomètres, ainsi que des installations connexes. L’ordonnance d’audience publiée par l’Office en présente les grandes étapes et les dates limites. Principalement sur pièces, l’audience comporte aussi une invitation aux intervenants autochtones à présenter une preuve traditionnelle orale.

Westcoast a soumis sa demande aux termes de l’article 58 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie. Compte tenu du grand intérêt que suscite le projet auprès du public, l’Office a décidé de convoquer une audience pour connaître l’opinion des personnes qui pourraient être directement touchées ou qui possèdent des connaissances spécialisées.

L’Office a reçu 13 demandes de participation. Après examen, il a consenti le statut d’intervenant pour onze d’entre elles et celui d’auteur d’une lettre de commentaires pour les deux autres. Il examinera les éléments de preuve déposés par des propriétaires fonciers de la région, groupes autochtones, sociétés et ministères fédéraux ou provinciaux de même que services municipaux avant de rendre sa décision à l’égard du projet.

En bref

  • Les deux doublements de gazoduc envisagés (Chetwynd sur 25 kilomètres et Aitken Creek sur 13) sont parallèles à des pipelines existants, mais nécessitent de nouvelles emprises.
  • L’Office accordera une aide financière pouvant atteindre 250 000 $ pour permettre une participation significative des intervenants au processus d’audience.
  • Puisque ce projet tombe sous le coup de l’article 58 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, la décision définitive revient à l’Office.

Liens connexes

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au cœur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie.

– 30 –

Personnes-ressources

Chantal Macleod
Agente de communications

Office national de l’énergie
Courriel : chantal.macleod@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-966-5036
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :