NEB releases first-ever report on Canada’s refining industry

News Release
For Immediate Release

April 10, 2018 – Calgary, Alberta – National Energy Board

Canada has a strong refining industry but processes only a fraction of its own crude oil production, according to the National Energy Board’s (NEB) inaugural Canadian Refinery Overview – Energy Market Assessment report.

The refinery overview states that only 30 per cent of Canadian crude oil is processed by Canadian refineries. This is mainly due to the size of Canada’s refining industry compared to the resource size, the location of its refineries and the lack of cross-country pipeline connectivity.

Most of the refineries in Canada, built when there were abundant supplies of light crude oil, were not configured to process growing volumes of heavy crude oil from the oil sands. As a result, significant volumes of crude oil, mostly light, is imported to Central and Eastern Canadian refineries.

Canada’s production of refined petroleum products, which includes gasoline, diesel, jet fuel and home heating oil, is primarily for domestic consumption, with some exports mainly from Atlantic Canadian refineries.

Although Canadian refineries are processing more Canadian crude than ever before, Central and Eastern Canadian refineries will still import crude oil to meet their refining needs.

The NEB monitors energy markets and assesses Canadian energy requirements and trends to support its regulatory responsibilities. This report is part of a portfolio of publications on energy supply, demand and infrastructure that the NEB publishes regularly as part of its ongoing market monitoring.

Quick Facts

  • Canada is the world’s seventh largest crude oil producer, has the world’s third largest crude oil reserves, and its refining industry ranks 11th in the world in capacity.
  • Canada has 14 full refineries and two asphalt refineries with a total refining capacity of 295 thousand cubic metres per day (10³m³/d) or 1.9 million barrels per day (MMb/d).
  • Quebec and Atlantic Canada have the most refining capacity at 124 10³m³/dd (782 thousand barrels per day (Mb/d)), followed by Western Canada at 109 10³m³/d (683 Mb/d) and Ontario at 62 10 ³m³/d (390 Mb/d).
  • Western Canadian refineries process more oil sands crude than refineries in Eastern Canada. Eastern Canadian refineries process primarily conventional light crude oil.

Associated Links

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit the National Energy Board website.

– 30 –

Contacts

Karen Ryhorchuk
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
Email: karen.ryhorchuk@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-671-9756
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

L’Office publie le tout premier rapport sur l’industrie canadienne du raffinage

Communiqué
Pour publication immédiate

Le 10 avril 2018 – Calgary, Alberta – Office national de l’énergie

Bien que le Canada dispose d’une solide industrie du raffinage, il ne raffine qu’une fraction de sa production de pétrole brut, selon le premier rapport Aperçu des raffineries au Canada – Évaluation du marché de l’énergie de l’Office national de l’énergie.

Le document indique que les raffineries canadiennes ne traitent que 30 % du pétrole brut produit au pays. Cette situation est principalement due à la taille de l’industrie canadienne du raffinage par rapport à celle des ressources, à l’emplacement des raffineries et au faible nombre de raccordements entre les pipelines qui traversent le Canada.

La plupart des raffineries canadiennes, construites à une époque où l’offre de pétrole brut léger était abondante, n’ont pas été conçues pour traiter les volumes croissants de pétrole brut lourd issu des sables bitumineux. Par conséquent, les raffineries du centre et de l’Est du Canada importent d’importants volumes de pétrole brut, principalement léger. 

La production canadienne de produits pétroliers raffinés comprend de l’essence, du diesel, du carburéacteur et du mazout de chauffage. Ceux-ci sont principalement destinés à la consommation intérieure; les quelques exportations se font en majorité de l’Atlantique.

Bien que les raffineries du pays traitent plus de pétrole brut canadien que jamais auparavant, les raffineries de l’Est et du centre du Canada continuent d’importer cette ressource pour satisfaire à leurs besoins.

L’Office surveille les marchés de l’énergie et il évalue les besoins et les tendances au Canada pour appuyer ses responsabilités en matière de réglementation. Ce rapport fait partie d’un éventail de documents au sujet de l’offre énergétique, de la demande et des infrastructures, publiés à intervalles par l’Office et portant sur les résultats de la surveillance permanente des marchés qu’il exerce.

En bref

  • Le Canada est le septième producteur mondial de pétrole brut, il vient au troisième rang pour les réserves de cette ressource et son industrie du raffinage a la onzième capacité en importance dans le monde.
  • Le Canada compte 14  raffineries et 2 raffineries d’asphalte, pour une capacité totale de raffinage de 295 000 mètres cubes par jour (« m³/j »), ou 1,9 million de barils par jour (« Mb/j »).
  • Le Québec et le Canada Atlantique ont la plus grande capacité de raffinage, soit 124 000 m³/j (782 mille barils par jour [« kb/j »]), suivis de l’Ouest canadien avec 109 000 m³/j (683 kb/j) et de l’Ontario avec 62 000 m³/j (390 kb/j).
  • Les raffineries de l’Ouest canadien transforment davantage de brut issu des sables bitumineux que les raffineries de l’Est canadien. Les raffineries de l’Est du Canada traitent principalement du pétrole brut léger classique.

Liens connexes

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au cœur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie.

– 30 –

Personnes-ressources

Karen Ryhorchuk
Agente de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : karen.ryhorchuk@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-671-9756
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :