On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Regulatory Stock Review Plan – Management of Time Limit Excluded Periods Regulations

Enabling Act: Canadian Energy Regulator Act (CER Act)

Rationale: Regulations for time management are required for Commission functions.

Narrative: The CER Act includes legislated timelines for project application reviews of various interprovincial and international pipelines and power lines, as well as for offshore renewable energy and power line projects.

The CER Act contains provisions that allow for periods to be excluded from the calculation of the legislated time limits for the review of a project application. The regulations for the management of time limit excluded periods will outline the specific circumstances in which the time taken to complete certain proponent activities may be excluded from the calculation of legislated time limits.

Date of last review or amendment: New regulation

Targeted start for review: 2018

Stakeholder Feedback: A Consultation Paper was posted on the Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) website for public comment from 8 May to 7 June 2019. All submissions will be carefully reviewed and considered in the development of the regulations.

For further information:

Departmental or agency contact:
Joel Allan
Regulatory Policy
Telephone: 403-463-0530
Toll Free: 1-800-899-1265
Fax: (403) 292-5503
Email: joel.allan@cer-rec.gc.ca

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Plan d’examen de l’inventaire des règlements – Règlement sur la gestion des périodes exclues du délai d’exécution

Loi habilitante : Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Justification : Un règlement relatif à la gestion du temps est requis pour les fonctions de la Commission.

Exposé de faits : La Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie prévoit un délai pour l’examen des demandes visant des pipelines et des lignes interprovinciales et internationales de transport d’électricité, ou des projets extracôtiers d’énergie renouvelable et de transport d’électricité.

La Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie renferme des dispositions qui permettent d’exclure des périodes dans le calcul du délai d’exécution pour l’examen d’une demande visant un projet. Le règlement proposé sur la gestion des périodes exclues du délai d’exécution définira les circonstances dans lesquelles le temps requis pour mener à bien certaines activités pourra être exclu du calcul du délai d’exécution.

Date de la dernière révision ou modification : Nouveau règlement

Période ciblée pour le début de l’examen : 2018

Rétroaction des parties prenantes: Un document de consultation a été publié sur le site Web de Ressources naturelles Canada pour obtenir les commentaires du public, du 8 mai au 7 juin 2019. Tous les commentaires seront pris en considération pour l’élaboration du règlement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Personne-ressource pour le ministère ou l’organisme :
Joel Allan
Politique de réglementation
Téléphone : 403-463-0530
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Courriel : joel.allan@cer-rec.gc.ca

Date de modification :