Memorandum of Understanding between the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission and the National Energy Board on Cooperation on Safety and Security

Memorandum of Understanding between the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission and the National Energy Board on Cooperation on Safety and Security [PDF 1501 KB]

WHEREAS pursuant to the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act), the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act and the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, the National Energy Board (the Board or NEB) regulates aspects of the energy industry in Canada including the construction and operation of interprovincial and international pipelines; pipeline traffic, tolls and tariffs; the construction and operation of international and designated interprovincial power lines; the export and import of natural gas; the export of oil and electricity; and the exploration and drilling for, production, conservation, processing and transportation of petroleum in the non-Accord frontierFootnote 1 offshore areas;

AND WHEREAS pursuant to the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) regulates the production, possession and use of nuclear substances; prescribed equipment defined under section 2 of the Nuclear Substances and Radiation Devices Regulations; and prescribed information defined under section 21 of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations, to prevent unreasonable risk to the health and safety of people, the environment and national security, and to achieve conformity with Canada’s international obligations on the peaceful use of nuclear energy;

AND WHEREAS the CNSC regulates the possession, transfer, transport, import, export, and use of nuclear substances in accordance with the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations, Nuclear Substances and Radiation Devices Regulations, Radiation Protection Regulations, Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations, Nuclear Non-Proliferation Import and Export Control Regulations and the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act;

AND WHEREAS under section 24 of the NSCA, the CNSC issues licences for the possession, transfer, import, export, and use of nuclear substances, such as those used in industrial radiography and sealed-source logging applications (CNSC-regulated activities in which nuclear substances are used to perform non-destructive testing of objects and oil well logging, respectively);

AND WHEREAS any records received by or from the participants for the administration of this MoU are subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act;

AND WHEREAS the Board and the CNSC have independent but related regulatory responsibilities towards the health and safety of people and the environment;

AND WHEREAS the Cabinet Directive on Streamlining Regulation requires that, when managing risks on behalf of Canadians, regulatory authorities are to identify and consult with other federal departments and agencies that have a specific interest in the proposed regulations, and are to coordinate the implementation and management of regulations to minimize complexity and duplication;

AND WHEREAS the CNSC is authorized pursuant to paragraph 21(1)(a) of the NSCA to “enter into arrangements” to attain its objects;

AND WHEREAS the Board is authorized under subsections 26(3) and (4) of the NEB Act to “utilize agencies of the Government of Canada to obtain technical, economic and statistical information and advice” and to “on request, provide advice about energy matters, sources of energy and the safety and security of pipelines and international power lines to ministers, officers and employees of any government department, ministry or agency, whether federal, provincial or territorial.”

THEREFORE, the Board and the CNSC (the participants) undertake to consult and cooperate in accordance with the provisions of this MoU to minimize regulatory duplication and to use government resources effectively.

1. Principles

  1. 1.1 The participants, in carrying out their respective mandates, will cooperate and support each other, as appropriate, in meeting their responsibilities.
  2. 1.2 The participants will endeavour to maintain regular communication by phone or email, and to meet at least once annually, for the purposes of identifying potential future opportunities for information sharing, cooperation and coordination as well as training and exercise opportunities.
  3. 1.3 The participants will foster strong working relationships by establishing mechanisms and links for information sharing, taking into account any legal constraints on the sharing of protected, classified, privileged and prescribed information, including confidential business information.

2. Areas of Cooperation

General

  1. 2.1 The participants will endeavour to cooperate through ongoing information exchanges on their respective regulatory requirements, guidelines, best practices, development, oversight and processes.
  2. 2.2 The participants will consult and cooperate with each other through information exchanges on proposed regulatory amendments, policies and programs that are of mutual interest and may affect the discharge of the other participant’s respective mandate.
  3. 2.3 The participants will cooperate and share information, where practical, on opportunities for alignment between their respective policies, procedures and processes.
  4. 2.4 The participants will share information, where practical and using a best efforts approach, on regulated activities under their respective mandates including:
    1. 2.4.1 the general location and nature of construction activities on NEB regulated pipelines where CNSC-regulated activities may be occurring
    2. 2.4.2 information on incidents and other trends that may impact the integrity or safety of NEB-regulated pipelines

Compliance, enforcement and incident reporting

  1. 2.5 The participants will cooperate and share information on the development of best practices, lessons learned, processes, technology use, and frameworks regarding the collection of compliance and incident information by the participants’ respective personnel.
  2. 2.6 The participants will cooperate on compliance and enforcement matters, including the sharing of general information of mutual interest, and information on compliance and enforcement strategies and tools.
  3. 2.7 The participants will cooperate on promoting and creating public awareness for common regulated areas related to compliance activities.

Training

  1. 2.8 Activities coordinated under this MoU may also include any other activity that is of mutual benefit and interest to the participants, including joint training initiatives, which may address cross-training of the participants’ respective personnel in the field, and making training courses available for the participants’ respective personnel.

3. Costs and Cost Sharing

  1. 3.1 To the extent practicable, a participant will provide or honour, without charge to the other participant, the arrangements made in this MoU.
  2. 3.2 Notwithstanding paragraph 3.1, the participants expect that the fulfilment of the arrangements made in this MoU will not result in either participant incurring additional costs.
  3. 3.3 Should financial arrangements be necessary, the participants will consult and cooperate to develop mutually satisfactory arrangements for cost sharing and/or funding.
  4. 3.4 Should travel or accommodation by either participant be required to fulfill the arrangements made in this MoU, the participant shall be responsible for their respective costs.

4. Diclosure

  1. 4.1 The participants will treat information exchanged pursuant to this MoU in accordance with all applicable laws and with Government of Canada standards, as it relates to the collection, use, disclosure, retention, storage and disposal of such information.
  2. 4.2 Neither participant will disseminate or disclose information exchanged under this MoU to a third party unless as required by law or with the express consent in writing from the other participant.

5. Notification of Inability to Act under the MoU

  • A participant will notify the other participant, as soon as possible, if the determination is made that they are unable to continue to act under this MoU, due to factors such as legislative or regulatory changes, court decisions, or changes under other domestic or international agreements or obligations.

6. Problem Resolution

  • The participants will make every reasonable effort to resolve at the working level any disputes on the interpretation of this MoU. Failing resolution at the working level, conflicts may be referred for resolution to each participant’s respective primary point of contact, identified at the end of this MoU or, failing resolution between the primary points of contact, to the designated signing authorities for this MoU.

7. Duration

  • This MoU shall be effective for five (5) years unless otherwise amended in writing and signed by the participants.

8. Amendment

  • This MoU may be revised by mutual written consent of the participants at any given time during the five-year period.

9. Renewal

  • This MoU may be renewed following written consent by the participants’ primary points of contact.

10. Effective Date

  • This MoU becomes effective following signatures by the participants.

11. Termination

  1. 11.1 Either participant may terminate this MoU by providing notice in writing to the other participant, specifying their intention to terminate this MOU and the effective date of termination.
  2. 11.2 Each participant will endeavour, to the extent possible, to provide at least six (6) months’ notice to the other participant of its intention to terminate this MoU.

12. Primary Points of Contact

  1. 12.1 The primary points of contact under this MoU are:
Vice President
Operation
Director General
Directorate of Nuclear Substance Regulation
Regulatory Operations Branch
National Energy Board
517 Tenth Ave SW
Calgary, AB
T2R 0A8
Phone: 403-292-4800
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
280 Slater Street, P.O. Box 1046, Station B
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5S9
Phone: 613-993-7699
  1. 12.2 The points of contact for this MoU will:
    1. a. act as the official points of contact for the participants
    2. b. meet as often as is mutually agreed to be appropriate, but no less frequent than on an annual basis
    3. c. exchange contact information; and
    4. d. inform of a change in point of contact as soon as is practicable, and provide relevant contact information for a new point of contact

13. Signatures

Signed in duplicate in English and French, both versions being equally authentic.

For the National Energy Board:



__________________________________
For the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission



__________________________________
Peter Watson
Chair and CEO
Dr. Michael Binder
President and CEO
Signed on: ________________________
Signed on: ________________________
Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l'Office national de l'énergie est devenu la Régie de l'énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d'information sur la mise en oeuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l'énergie

Protocole d’entente entre la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire et l'Office national de l'énergie relativement à la collaboration en matière de sûreté et de sécurité

Protocole d’entente entre la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire et l'Office national de l'énergie relativement à la collaboration en matière de sûreté et de sécurité [PDF 1761 ko]

ATTENDU QUE, conformément à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, à la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada et à la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, l’Office national de l’énergie (Office) réglemente des aspects de l’industrie énergétique canadienne, notamment la construction et l’exploitation des pipelines interprovinciaux et internationaux; le transport, les droits et les tarifs pipeliniers; la construction et l’exploitation de lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciales désignées; l’exportation et l’importation de gaz naturel; l’exportation de pétrole et d’électricité, ainsi que les activités d’exploration, de forage, de production, d’exploitation rationnelle, de traitement et de transport d’hydrocarbures dans les zones pionnièresNote de bas de page 1 extracôtières non assujetties à un accord;

ATTENDU QUE, conformément à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) réglemente la production, la possession et l’utilisation des substances nucléaires, l’équipement réglementé, au sens de l’article 2 du Règlement sur les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement et les renseignements réglementés, au sens de l’article 21 du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, dans le but d’éviter un danger inacceptable pour la santé et la sécurité des personnes, l’environnement ou le maintien de la sécurité nationale et assurer le respect des obligations internationales du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire;

ATTENDU QUE la CCSN réglemente la possession, le transfert, le transport, l’importation, l’exportation et l’utilisation des substances nucléaires, en application du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, du Règlement sur les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement, du Règlement sur la radioprotection, du Règlement sur l’emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires, du Règlement sur le contrôle de l’importation et de l’exportation aux fins de la non prolifération nucléaire et de la Loi sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses;

ATTENDU QU’en vertu de l’article 24 de la LSRN, la CCSN délivre des permis pour la possession, le transfert, l’importation, l’exportation et l’utilisation de substances nucléaires, comme celles qui sont utilisées dans la gammagraphie industrielle et les applications de diagraphie au moyen de sources scellées (qui sont des activités réglementées par la CCSN lorsque ces substances servent à effectuer des essais non destructifs et la diagraphie des puits de pétrole, respectivement);

ATTENDU QUE les documents reçus et émanant des participants aux fins de l’administration du présent protocole d’entente sont assujettis aux dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels;

ATTENDU QUE l’Office et la CCSN ont des responsabilités de nature réglementaire indépendantes mais connexes relativement à la santé et à la sécurité des personnes et à l’environnement;

ATTENDU QUE la Directive du Cabinet sur la rationalisation de la réglementation exige qu’aux fins de la gestion des risques pour la population canadienne, les autorités réglementaires déterminent et consultent les ministères et les organismes fédéraux précisément intéressés par le projet de réglementation et coordonnent l’application et la gestion de la réglementation afin de réduire au minimum la complexité et les chevauchements;

ATTENDU QUE, en application de l’alinéa 21(1)a) de la LSRN, la CCSN peut « conclure des accords » pour réaliser sa mission;

ATTENDU QUE, en vertu des paragraphes 26(3) et (4) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, l’Office peut « avoir recours (...) aux organismes fédéraux pour obtenir des renseignements et conseils d’ordre technique, économique et statistique », et « sur demande, conseiller, en matière d’énergie, de sources d’énergie et sûreté et sécurité des pipelines et des lignes internationales, les ministres et leurs fonctionnaires, quel que soit le ministère – fédéral, provincial ou territorial –, ainsi que les membres, dirigeants et employés des organismes des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux ou territoriaux »;

PAR CONSÉQUENT, l’Office et la CCSN (les « participants ») s’engagent à se consulter et à collaborer, conformément aux dispositions du présent protocole d’entente, afin de réduire au minimum les chevauchements réglementaires et d’utiliser efficacement les ressources de l’État.

1. Principes

  1. 1.1. Les participants, dans l’exécution de leur mandat respectif, collaborent et s’appuient, au besoin, dans l’acquittement de leurs responsabilités.
  2. 1.2. Les participants s’efforcent de communiquer régulièrement par téléphone ou par courriel et de se rencontrer au moins une fois par année, afin de cerner des occasions de partage de renseignements, de collaboration et de coordination, de même que des possibilités de formation et d’exercices.
  3. 1.3. Les participants favorisent de solides relations de travail par la mise en place de mécanismes et de lien pour le partage de renseignements protégés, classifiés, privilégiés et réglementés, y compris des renseignements commerciaux de nature confidentielle.

2. Domaines de collaboration

Généralités

  1. 2.1. Les participants s’efforcent de collaborer par le partage constant de renseignements sur leurs exigences réglementaires, leurs lignes directrices, leurs pratiques exemplaires, leur perfectionnement, leur surveillance et leurs processus.
  2. 2.2. Les participants se consultent et collaborent par des échanges de renseignements sur les modifications réglementaires, les politiques et les programmes proposés d’intérêt commun pouvant influer sur l’exécution de leur mandat respectif.
  3. 2.3. Dans la mesure du possible, les participants coopèrent et s’échangent des renseignements sur des occasions pour harmoniser leurs politiques, leurs procédures et leurs processus respectifs.
  4. 2.4. Autant que possible, et en faisant de leur mieux, les parties échangent des renseignements sur les activités qu’ils réglementent dans le cadre de leur mandat respectif, notamment 
    1. 2.4.1. l’emplacement général et la nature des activités de construction touchant les pipelines réglementés par l’Office, là où des activités réglementées par la CCSN sont en cause;
    2. 1.1.1. les renseignements liés aux incidents et autres tendances pouvant avoir des conséquences sur l’intégrité ou la sécurité des pipelines relevant de la réglementation de l’Office.

Conformité, application de la loi et signalement des incidents

  1. 2.5. Les participants collaborent et échangent des renseignements sur l’élaboration de pratiques exemplaires, les leçons tirées, les processus, l’utilisation de la technologie et les cadres de travail qui ont trait à la collecte de renseignements sur la conformité et les incidents par leur personnel respectif.
  2. 2.6. Les participants collaborent sur les questions liées à la conformité et à l’application de la loi, y compris l’échange de renseignements généraux d’intérêt commun et de renseignements se rattachant aux stratégies et aux outils de conformité et d’application de la loi.
  3. 2.7. Les participants collaborent à la promotion et à la sensibilisation du public dans les domaines réglementés qui touchent les activités de conformité.

Formation

  1. 2.8. Les activités coordonnées dans le cadre du présent protocole d’entente peuvent aussi comprendre des activités présentant un avantage ou étant d’un intérêt commun pour les participants, y compris des initiatives de formation conjointes pouvant répondre à des besoins de formation réciproque sur le terrain de chaque participant et la possibilité pour le personnel de chaque participant de suivre des formations offertes par l’autre participant.

3. Cooûts et partage des coûts

  1. 3.1. Dans la mesure du possible, un participant fournit à l’autre et accepte de ce dernier les services prévus dans le présent protocole d’entente sans exiger de frais.
  2. 3.2. Sans égard au paragraphe 3.1, les participants conviennent que le respect des dispositions du présent protocole d’entente n’entraîne pas de coûts supplémentaires pour l’un ou l’autre des participants.
  3. 3.3. Dans l’éventualité où des dispositions financières s’avèrent nécessaires, les participants se consultent et collaborent en vue d’arriver à un accord qui satisfait les deux parties relativement au partage des coûts ou au financement.
  4. 3.4. Dans le cas où il serait nécessaire pour les participants d’engager des frais de déplacement ou d’hébergement afin de respecter le présent protocole d’entente, chaque participant assume ses propres frais.

4. Divulgation

  1. 4.1. Les participants traitent les renseignements échangés aux termes du présent protocole d’entente conformément à toutes les lois applicables et aux normes du gouvernement du Canada, en matière de collecte, d’utilisation, de divulgation, de conservation, de stockage et de destruction de ces renseignements.
  2. 4.2. Ni l’un ni l’autre des participants ne peut diffuser ou communiquer à un tiers aucun des renseignements échangés aux termes du présent protocole d’entente, sauf si la loi l’exige ou l’autorise ou si l’autre partie a donné son consentement écrit.

5. Avis d'incapacité d'agir conformément au présent protocole d'entente

  • Un participant avise l’autre participant, dans les meilleurs délais, s’il est déterminé qu’il ne peut continuer de respecter le présent protocole d’entente en raison de modifications législatives ou réglementaires, d’une décision d’un tribunal ou de modifications apportées à des ententes ou des obligations nationales ou internationales.

6. Règlement des différends

  • Les participants prennent toutes les mesures raisonnables pour résoudre les différends relatifs à l’interprétation du présent protocole d’entente au niveau opérationnel. À défaut d’arriver à un règlement, les différends peuvent être soumis à la personne -ressource principale nommée par chaque participant, et dont le nom est indiqué à la fin du présent protocole d’entente et, en cas de nouvel échec, aux signataires du présent protocole d’entente.

7. Durée

  • Le présent protocole d’entente est d’une durée de cinq (5) ans, à moins qu’il ne soit modifié par écrit et signé par les participants.

8. Modification

  • Le présent protocole d’entente peut être modifié en tout temps pendant les cinq années de sa durée avec le consentement mutuel et écrit des participants.

9. Reconduction

  • Le présent protocole d’entente peut être reconduit avec le consentement écrit des personnes-ressources principales des participants.

10. Date d'entrée en vigueur

  • Le présent protocole d’entente entre en vigueur au moment de sa signature par les participants.

11. Résiliation

  1. 11.1. L’un ou l’autre des participants peut mettre fin au présent protocole d’entente au moyen d’un avis écrit à l’autre participant précisant son intention d’y mettre fin et la date d’effet de la résiliation.
  2. 11.2. Dans la mesure du possible, les participants s’efforcent d’informer l’autre participant de leur intention de mettre fin au présent protocole d’entente au moins six (6) mois à l’avance.

12. Personnes-ressources principales

  1. 12.1. Les personnes-ressources principales aux fins de l’exécution du présent protocole d’entente sont les suivantes :
Vice-présidente
Opérations
Directeur général
Direction de la réglementation des substances nucléaires
Direction générale de la réglementation des opérations
Office national de l’énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5S9
Téléphone : 613-993-7699
  1. 12.2. Les personnes-ressources aux fins de l’exécution du présent protocole d’entente :
    1. a. agissent comme personnes-ressources officielles pour les participants
    2. b. se réunissent aussi souvent qu’elles le veulent, mais au moins une fois par année
    3. c. échangent leurs coordonnées
    4. d. avisent l’autre personne-ressource dès que possible de tout changement de personne-ressource et fournissent les coordonnées pertinentes de cette nouvelle personne

13. Signatures

Les versions française et anglaise du présent document sont signées, chaque version du texte faisant foi.

Pour l’Office national de l’énergie :



__________________________________
Pour la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire :



__________________________________
Peter Watson
Président et premier dirigeant
Michael Binder
Président et premier dirigeant
Signé le : _________________________
Signé le : _________________________
Date de modification :