Memorandum of Understanding between the Government of the Northwest Territories Regulator of Oil and Gas Operations and the National Energy Board

Memorandum of Understanding between the Government of the Northwest Territories Regulator of Oil and Gas Operations and the National Energy Board [PDF 242 KB]

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (MOU) BETWEEN

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES REGULATOR OF OIL AND GAS OPERATIONS (the “GNWT Regulator”)

AND

THE NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD (the “NEB”)

(HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO COLLECTIVELY AS THE “PARTICIPANTS”)

WHEREAS, the GNWT Regulator is responsible for the regulation of exploration, drilling, production, conservation, processing and transportation of petroleum in the onshore Northwest Territories, outside of the Inuvialuit Settlement Region (ISR) and federal areas, pursuant to the Oil and Gas Operations Act, S.N.W.T. 2014, c.14(OGOA) and the Petroleum Resources Act, S.N.W.T. 2014, c.15(PRA);

AND WHEREAS, the NEB is responsible for the regulation of exploration, drilling, production, conservation, processing and transportation of petroleum in the onshore ISR in the Northwest Territories outside of federal areasFootnote 1, pursuant to OGOA and PRA, and in the offshore and all federal areas in the Northwest Territories pursuant to the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. O-7 (COGOA)and the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, R.S.c. 1985, c. 36 (2nd Supp.) (CPRA);

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act), the NEB regulates the construction and operation of interprovincial and international pipelines; pipeline traffic, tolls and tariffs; the construction and operation of international and designated power lines; the export and import of natural gas, and the export of oil and electricity;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to OGOA, PRA, COGOA and CPRA, the NEB and the GNWT Regulator have concurrent regulatory responsibilities in respect of the ISR and federal areas within the onshore, in the case of the NEB, and in respect of the onshore other than the ISR and federal areas, in the case of the GNWT Regulator;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to OGOA and PRA, the NEB and the GNWT Regulator have concurrent powers to establish guidelines and interpretation notes relating to the application of the Acts, for the area in which each exercises jurisdiction;

AND WHEREAS, it is desirable that there be a mechanism for cooperation between the NEB and the GNWT Regulator in the regulation of areas within their respective jurisdiction, and in the development of consistent information requirements, guidelines and interpretation notes under territorial legislation, to the extent practicable and desirable;

AND WHEREAS, the Participants are entering into this MOU to collaborate, share information, and to promote cooperation in areas of mutual interest and benefit, including by working together to efficiently and consistently carry out their respective responsibilities and exercise their respective powers under OGOA and PRA.

NOW THEREFORE, FOR THE PURPOSES OF THIS MOU, THE PARTICIPANTS CONCUR AS FOLLOWS:

1. Purpose

The purpose of this MOU is to establish and promote a mechanism for collaboration, cooperation, information sharing and dialogue between the Participants with respect to the exercise of their respective regulatory responsibilities under OGOA, PRA, COGOA, CPRA and the NEB Act. The Participants intend to cooperate in order to minimize to the extent practicable regulatory gaps, inconsistent regulatory requirements and divergent guidance.

2. Areas of Cooperation and Coordination of Activities

  • 2.1. Regulatory Matters
    • 2.1.1 The Participants will cooperate through ongoing dialogue and information exchange on regulatory matters in relation to their respective responsibilities under OGOA and PRA, in order to facilitate, where practicable, the consistent and efficient development of regulatory tools, such as:
      • requirements and additional approvals for authorizations;
      • requirements for development plans, significant discovery declarations or commercial discovery declarations; and
      • guidelines, interpretation notes or other guidance for the benefit of applicants and operators.
    • 2.1.2 The Participants will notify each other, at the earliest possible opportunity, of their intent to develop any of the regulatory tools described at subparagraph 2.1.1 above.
    • 2.1.3 The Participants may cooperate to jointly develop the regulatory tools described in subparagraph 2.1.1, and may jointly consult and communicate with external stakeholders or the public on these matters.
    • 2.1.4 The Participants will cooperate and coordinate with each other in exercising their respective regulatory responsibilities for projects that overlap the jurisdictional boundaries between the ISR or federal areas, as regulated by the NEB, and the onshore Northwest Territories outside of the ISR and federal areas, as regulated by the GNWT Regulator.
    • 2.1.5 The Participants will endeavour to cooperate through ongoing and open information exchanges on their respective regulatory practices, oversight approaches, and processes.
    • 2.1.6 Activities to be coordinated under this MOU may also include any other activity that is of mutual benefit and interest to the Participants.
  • 2.2. Emergency Management
    • 2.2.1 The Participants may coordinate emergency management activities by participating in and sharing information on emergency management planning, exercises and response, joint training initiatives, staff exchanges and meetings.
    • 2.2.2 The Participants concur that, in an emergency response situation, they may provide support to each other in the form of staff and technical resources.

3. General

  • 3.1. This MOU is not legally binding and does not impose, nor is it intended to impose, any legal commitments on, or give rise to any legal rights not otherwise held by the Participants. This MOU is not intended to derogate from or fetter the Participants’ respective authorities under the OGOA, PRA, COGOA, CPRA or NEB Act nor to supersede or modify any binding arrangement between the Participants.
  • 3.2. Each Participant will pay for its own costs related to the activities under this MOU. Activities carried out under this MOU are subject to the availability of each Participant’s staff and financial resources.
  • 3.3. The Participants will endeavour to maintain communication by phone or email, or to meet in person as needed, for the purposes of identifying potential future opportunities for information sharing and cooperation.
  • 3.4. The Participants will encourage staff within their respective organizations to informally exchange information, as appropriate, within their specific areas of responsibility, on an ongoing basis.
  • 3.5. The Participants will jointly determine, in writing and either formally or informally, activities to be carried out under this MOU before their realization, and to jointly review and coordinate these activities.

4. Administration of this MOU:

  • 4.1. The following are the titles of each designate and their contact information for the purposes of carrying out this MOU:
FOR THE NEB
Vice President, Strategy & Analysis
517 10th Ave SW
Calgary, AB
T2R 0A8
(403) 292-4800
FOR OFFICE OF THE GNWT REGULATOR
Executive Director
P.O. Box 1320
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
X1A 2L9
(867) 920-6267

5. Disclosure and Use of Information

  • 5.1. The Participants plan to exchange information on energy and regulatory matters that are in the public domain or for which exchange of information is otherwise contemplated in accordance with legislation.
  • 5.2. The Participants will treat information exchanged pursuant to this MOU in accordance with all applicable laws and GOC and GNWT standards, as these laws or standards relate to the collection, use, disclosure, retention and disposal of such information.
  • 5.3 The Participants will make this MOU and any amendments publicly available.

6. Termination

  • 6.1. Either Participant may terminate this arrangement, by providing at least sixty (60) days’ written notice to the other Participant.
  • 6.2. This MOU may be terminated at any time, with the mutual written consent of the Participants.

7. Amendment and Monitoring

  • 7.1. The Participants intend to jointly review this MOU every three (3) years or as may otherwise be agreed.
  • 7.2. The Participants may amend this MOU at any time with the written approval of both Participants. Any amendment to the MOU becomes effective upon the date of the last Participant’s signature, unless otherwise indicated.
  • 7.3. Each Participant will notify the other Participant of any change to its enabling legislation, related regulations or policies that may impact this MOU as soon as practicable after having discovered the change.

8. Languages

  • 8.1. This agreement is written in English and French, each text being equally valid.

9. Effective Date and Signature

  • 9.1. This MOU will take effect upon the date of the last Participant’s signature.
  • 9.2. This MOU may be signed in one or more counterparts, each of which is deemed an original, and all of which together constitute the same arrangement.
FOR THE NEB


Peter Watson
Chair and CEO


Date: _____________________
FOR THE GNWT REGULATOR


Hon. David Ramsay
Regulator


Date: _____________________
Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l'Office national de l'énergie est devenu la Régie de l'énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d'information sur la mise en oeuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l'énergie

Protocole d’entente entre l’Organisme de réglementation des opérations pétrolières et gazières du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et l’Office national de l’énergie

Protocole d’entente entre l’Organisme de réglementation des opérations pétrolières et gazières du gouvernement des Territoires du nord ouest et l’Office national de l’énergie [PDF 283 ko]

PROTOCOLE D’ENTENTE ENTRE

L’ORGANISME DE RÉGLEMENTATION DES OPÉRATIONS PÉTROLIÈRES ET GAZIÈRES DU GOUVERNEMENT DES TERRITOIRES DU NORD-OUEST (l’« Organisme de réglementation des TNO »)

ET

L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE

(DÉSIGNÉS COLLECTIVEMENT « LES PARTICIPANTS »)

ATTENDU QUE l’Organisme de réglementation des TNO réglemente l’exploration, le forage, la production, la préservation, la transformation et le transport des hydrocarbures sur la partie terrestre des Territoires du Nord-Ouest située à l’extérieur de la Région désignée des Inuvialuit et des zones fédérales, en vertu de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières, L.T.N.-O., ch. 14(LOPTNO) et de la Loi sur les hydrocarbures, L.T.N.-O., ch. 15(LHTNO);

ATTENDU QUE l’Office national de l’énergie réglemente l’exploration, le forage, la production, la préservation, la transformation et le transport des hydrocarbures sur la partie terrestre de la Région désignée des Inuvialuit aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest à l’extérieur des zones fédéralesNote de bas de page 1, en vertu de la LOPTNO et de la LHTNO, ainsi que la partie extracôtière et toutes les zones fédérales aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, en vertu de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada, L.R.C., (1985), ch. O-7 (LOPC)et de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 36 (2e suppl.) (LFH);

ATTENDU QUE, conformément à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, l’Office réglemente la construction et l’exploitation de pipelines interprovinciaux et internationaux, le transport par pipeline, les droits et les tarifs pipeliniers, la construction et l’exploitation de lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes de transport d’électricité désignées, l’exportation et l’importation de gaz naturel ainsi que l’exportation de pétrole et d’électricité;

ATTENDU QUE, conformément à la LOPTNO, la LHTNO, la LOPC et la LFH, l’Office et l’Organisme de réglementation des TNO partagent les compétences à l’égard de la Région désignée des Inuvialuit et des zones fédérales sur la partie terrestre, dans le cas de l’Office, et sur la partie terrestre excluant la Région désignée des Inuvialuit et les zones fédérales, pour ce qui est de l’Organisme de réglementation des TNO;

ATTENDU QUE, conformément à la LOPTNO et à la LHTNO, l’Office et l’Organisme de réglementation des TNO sont habilités à publier des lignes directrices et des notes d’interprétation sur l’application des lois, dans leurs domaines de compétences respectifs;

ATTENDU QUE l’existence d’un mécanisme de coopération est souhaitable entre l’Office et l’Organisme de réglementation des TNO relativement à la réglementation des zones relevant de leurs compétences respectives et pour l’élaboration d’exigences, de lignes directrices et de notes d’interprétation uniformes en vertu des lois territoriales, dans la mesure du possible et dans la mesure où cela est désirable;

ATTENDU QUE les participants ont établi le présent protocole d’entente dans le but de collaborer, de partager de l’information et de promouvoir la coopération dans les domaines présentant un intérêt et un avantage communs, y compris travailler ensemble pour s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités respectives et exercer leurs pouvoirs respectifs dévolus par la LOPTNO et la LHTNO, d’une manière efficace et uniforme.

POUR CES MOTIFS, AUX FINS DU PRÉSENT PROTOCOLE, LES PARTICIPANTS CONVIENNENT DE CE QUI SUIT :

1. Objet

Le but du présent protocole d’entente est de mettre en place et de promouvoir un mécanisme favorisant la collaboration, la coopération, le partage d’information et le dialogue entre les participants dans l’exercice de leurs compétences réglementaires respectives en vertu de la LOPTNO, de la LHTNO, de la LOPC et de la LFH, ainsi que de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie. Les participants entendent collaborer dans le but de combler le plus possible les lacunes de la réglementation et de réduire au minimum les incohérences dans les exigences réglementaires et les lignes directrices contradictoires.

2. Domaines de collaboration et de coordination des activités

  • 2.1. Questions réglementaires
    • 2.1.1 Grâce à un dialogue et un partage d’information constants sur des questions de réglementation relevant de leurs compétences respectives en vertu de la LOPTNO et de la LHTNO, les participants collaboreront pour mettre au point, dans la mesure du possible, des outils de réglementation uniformes et efficaces, dont ceux-ci :
      • des exigences et des approbations supplémentaires en vue de l’autorisation des demandes;
      • des exigences à l’égard des plans de mise en valeur, des déclarations de découvertes importantes ou des déclarations de découvertes exploitables;
      • des lignes directrices et des notes d’interprétation ou autres directives à l’intention des demandeurs ou exploitants.
    • 2.1.2 Les participants s’informeront réciproquement, dès que possible, de toute intention qu’ils pourraient avoir de mettre au point un des outils de réglementation décrits au point 2.1.1 ci-dessus.
    • 2.1.3 Les participants peuvent collaborer à la mise au point conjointe des outils de réglementation décrits au point 2.1.1 et consulter conjointement des parties prenantes externes ou le public sur ces questions, ainsi que s’adresser à l’un ou l’autre.
    • 2.1.4 Les participants coopéreront, et coordonneront leurs efforts dans l’exercice de leurs compétences réglementaires respectives si un projet chevauche les limites territoriales situées entre la Région désignée des Inuvialuit ou les zones fédérales relevant de la compétence de l’Office et la partie terrestre des Territoires du Nord-Ouest située à l’extérieur de la Région désignée des Inuvialuit et des zones fédérales, qui relèvent de la compétence de l’Organisme de réglementation des TNO.
    • 2.1.5 Les participants s’efforceront de collaborer en vue d’établir un partage permanent et ouvert d’information sur leurs méthodes et leurs processus respectifs en matière de réglementation et de surveillance.
    • 2.1.6 Au nombre des activités pouvant être coordonnées en vertu du présent protocole d’entente sont comprises celles étant dans l’intérêt mutuel des participants.
  • 2.2. Gestion des urgences
    • 2.2.1 Les participants peuvent coordonner leurs activités de gestion des situations d’urgence en prenant part à de telles activités et en partageant de l’information sur la planification, la gestion des situations d’urgence, des exercices et des interventions, par des initiatives de formation conjointes, des échanges de personnel et des réunions.
    • 2.2.2 Les participants conviennent de s’entraider lors d’une situation d’urgence en fournissant des moyens techniques et des effectifs.

3. Généralités

  • 3.1. Le présent protocole n’impose aucune obligation juridique aux participants et ne leur confère aucun droit juridique ou autre qu’ils ne détiennent pas déjà d’une autre façon. Le présent protocole ne vise pas non plus à déroger ou à soustraire les participants à leurs compétences respectives dévolues par la LOPTNO, la LHTNO, LOPC, la LFH ou la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, ni à remplacer ou modifier un accord exécutoire passé entre les participants.
  • 3.2. Chaque participant assume les frais qu’il engage pour les activités énumérées dans le présent protocole d’entente, lesquelles sont conditionnelles à la disponibilité de ses effectifs et de ses ressources financières propres.
  • 3.3. Les participants s’efforceront d’entretenir une communication par téléphone ou par courriel et de se rencontrer en fonction des besoins, afin de déterminer les occasions à saisir en matière de partage d’information et de collaboration.
  • 3.4. Les participants encourageront leurs effectifs à poursuivre l’échange d’information de façon informelle au besoin, dans leurs sphères de responsabilité respectives.
  • 3.5. Les participants établiront conjointement, par écrit ou de manière officielle ou non, quelles activités seront menées aux termes du présent protocole d’entente avant leur réalisation, puis examineront et coordonneront ces activités ensemble.

4. Administration du présent protocole

  • 4.1. Les titulaires des postes ci-après sont les destinataires de tout document et les personnes-ressources aux fins de l’exécution du présent protocole.
POUR L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE
Jim Fox
Vice-président - Stratégie et analyse
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8
403-292-4800
POUR L’ORGANISME DE RÉGLEMENTATION DES TNO
Directeur administratif
C.P. C.P. 1320
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
X1A 2L9
867-920-6267

5. Communication et utilisation de l’information

  • 5.1. Les participants projettent de partager des renseignements sur les questions énergétiques qui sont du domaine public ou dont le partage est envisagé conformément aux lois.
  • 5.2. Les participants traiteront les renseignements échangés aux termes du présent protocole d’entente conformément à toutes les lois applicables et aux normes du gouvernement du Canada et du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest en matière de collecte, d’utilisation, de diffusion, de conservation et d’élimination.
  • 5.3. Les participants peuvent rendre publics le présent protocole et toute modification apportée à celui-ci.

6. Résiliation de l'entente

  • 6.1. Les participants peuvent mettre fin au présent protocole d’entente au moyen d’un avis écrit d’au moins 60 jours signifié à leur contrepartie.
  • 6.2. Le présent protocole peut être résilié en tout temps avec le consentement mutuel et écrit des participants.

7. Modification et surveillance

  • 7.1. Les participants ont l’intention de réviser le présent protocole d’entente tous les trois ans ou selon ce qu’ils conviennent.
  • 7.2. Les participants peuvent modifier le présent protocole d’entente en tout temps sous réserve d’une approbation par écrit de chacune des parties en ce sens, et, à moins d’indication contraire, toute modification prend effet le jour de la signature par le dernier des participants.
  • 7.3. Chaque participant doit aviser sa contrepartie de toute modification à sa loi habilitante ou aux règlements ou politiques afférents susceptibles d’influer sur le présent protocole d’entente, dès qu’il lui est raisonnablement possible de le faire après avoir pris connaissance du changement.

8. Langue

  • 8.1. Cette entente est rédigée en français et en anglais, chaque version du texte faisant foi.

9. Date de prise d’effet et signature

  • 9.1. Le présent protocole entre en vigueur le jour de sa signature par le dernier des participants.
  • 9.2 Le présent protocole d’entente peut être exécuté en plusieurs exemplaires, chacun étant réputé être un original et l’ensemble des exemplaires constituant un seul et même accord.
POUR L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L'ÉNERGIE


Peter Watson

Président et premier dirigeant

Date : _____________________
POUR L'ORGANISME DE RÉGLEMENTATION DES TNO


Hon. David Ramsay
Organisme de réglementation ou de contrôle


Date : _____________________
Date de modification :