Memorandum of Understanding between Transport Canada and the National Energy Board for Pipelines and Power Lines Subject to the National Energy Board Act and Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act

Memorandum of Understanding between Transport Canada and the National Energy Board for Pipelines and Power Lines Subject to the National Energy Board Act and Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act [PDF 3898 KB]

BETWEEN: Transport Canada (TC)

AND: National Energy Board (NEB)

WHEREAS, the National Energy Board is a quasi-judicial administrative tribunal that has regulatory responsibilities for inter-provincial and international natural gas, oil and commodity pipelines, international power lines and designated inter-provincial power lines pursuant to the National Energy Board Act (NEBA) and for Environmental Assessment (EA) pursuant to the NEBA and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act 2012 (CEAA 2012); and

WHEREAS, the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure, and Communities has responsibilities, including the protection of navigation and the promotion of safe navigation under the Navigable Waters Protection Act (NWPA); which pursuant to amendments to the NWPA contained in the Jobs and Growth Act, 2012, will be renamed the Navigation Protection Act (NPA); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act, the responsibilities for approving pipelines and power lines subject to the NEBA that pass in, on, over, under, through or across navigable waters was transferred to the NEB; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act, the responsibilities for approving pipelines subject to the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA), that pass in, on, over, under, through or across navigable waters, which were previously approved under the NWPA, was transferred to the NEB; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the CEAA 2012, the NEB is a Responsible Authority, and TC is a Federal Authority for a project, and an EA is required for designated projects listed in the Regulations Designating Physical Activities; and

WHEREAS, the Government of Canada is committed to undertaking a process of early, effective and meaningful consultation with Aboriginal groups concerning contemplated Crown conduct that may adversely affect potential or established Aboriginal and treaty rights under section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982; and

WHEREAS, under Canada’s Economic Action Plan, Responsible Resource Development involves the streamlining of reviews of major projects, continuous improvement in coordination and avoiding duplication to unleash Canada’s resource potential; and

WHEREAS, the Parties are committed to protecting navigation and promoting safe navigation and will work to coordinate an effective and efficient transfer of responsibilities, for the approval of pipelines and power lines subject to the NEBA and pipelines subject to the COGOA that pass in, on, over, under, through or across navigable waters, from the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities to the NEB;

NOW THEREFORE, the Parties to this Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) agree to pursue effective and where appropriate, coordinated, discharge of responsibilities in respect of projects and to this end agree to the following provisions:

1. PURPOSE

The purpose of this MOU is to:

  • Coordinate an effective and efficient transfer of responsibilities (Transitional Items);
  • Outline roles and responsibilities between the two Parties (Roles and Responsibilities);
  • Outline the manner in which information will be shared between the NEB and TC (Sharing of Information); and
  • Outline the process for NEB to obtain TC’s expertise.

2. INTERPRETATION

2.1. This MOU:

  • is a public document that is to be read with and interpreted in a manner consistent with all applicable law;
  • does not create any new legal powers or duties, nor alter in any way the jurisdiction, powers and duties of the Parties;
  • applies only to pipelines and power lines subject to the NEBA; and
  •  applies only to pipelines subject to COGOA.

3. CONTEXT

3.1. As a result of changes to the NEBA, the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure, and Communities will no longer have the responsibility to approve pipelines and power lines subject to the NEBA that pass in, on, over, under, through or across navigable waters; and, as result of changes to COGOA, the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure, and Communities will no longer have the responsibility to issue approvals under the NWPA for pipelines subject to COGOA that pass in, on, over, under, through or across navigable waters. The NEB’s role relates to environmental protection and the safety, security and economic efficiency of the pipelines and power lines it regulates. This includes balancing the need to construct pipelines and power lines that pass in, on, over, under, through or across navigable waters while ensuring  the protection of  navigation and promoting safe navigation. TC’s role in this context is to support the NEB, through its public application review process or at the request of the NEB, by sharing expertise on complex scenarios regarding the placement, construction and marking of works in, on, over, under, through or across navigable waters.

3.2. The NEB’s Filing Manual provides guidance to applicants as to the type of information the NEB’s Board Members typically need to make decisions.

4. TRANSITIONAL ITEMS

4.1. Annex A defines the procedures and processes to be utilized over the course of the transition period to effect the transfer of responsibilities from the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities to the NEB for the administration of navigation matters under the NEBA and the COGOA.

5. SHARING OF INFORMATION

5.1. Annex B outlines the process for the exchange of information between the Parties related to navigational issues following the transfer of responsibilities.

6. ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES and SUPPORT ARRANGEMENT

6.1. Annex C outlines the specific roles and responsibilities related to various project scenarios.

7. COST RECOVERY AND SUPPORT ARRANGEMENT

7.1. Nothing in this MOU or any Annex is intended to impose any funding obligations on either of the Parties above and beyond the fulfillment of each organization’s mandated responsibilities.

7.2. Subject to sub-sections 7.3 and 7.4, each Party will be responsible for their respective costs incurred related to the implementation of the MOU.

7.3. Subject to resource availability, TC will provide assistance to the NEB for the purposes of training or other navigation associated needs.  The NEB agrees to pay TC the costs for TC employees to travel for these purposes.

7.4. Where technical advice or support from TC is required by the NEB on an extended basis, the Parties may enter into an interchange agreement or other cost recovered assignment. Interchanges and assignments will be of a mutually agreed to duration and may continue for brief or extended periods.

8. DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE

8.1. For administrative purposes, the designated representatives of each Party are listed below.

National Energy Board

Jamie Kereliuk
Business Leader, Applications
444 Seventh Avenue, SW
Calgary, Alberta
T2P 0X8

Transport Canada

Catherine Higgens
Director General, Stewardship and Sustainable Transportation Programs Directorate
Transport Canada
330 Sparks Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0N5

Donald Roussel
Director General, Marine Safety and Security
Transport Canada
330 Sparks Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0N5

9. EFFECTIVE DATE, AMENDMENT AND TERMINATION

9.1. This MOU will be effective as of the date of final signature by both of the Parties and will remain in effect until terminated by either Party. Either Party may terminate this MOU upon 60 days written notice to the other Party.

9.2. This MOU may be amended or modified at any time by mutual written agreement between the designated representatives.

9.3. Any annex to this MOU may be added, amended or modified at any time by mutual written agreement between the designated representatives.

9.4. The Parties will review this MOU following the first year of its application and at least once every three years thereafter, or more often as required or if there are amendments to relevant applicable law.

Approved By:

_______________________________
Sandy Lapointe
Strategic Leader, Regulatory
National Energy Board
_____________________
Date
_______________________________
Helena Borges
Assistant Deputy Minister
Programs Group
Transport Canada
_____________________
Date
_______________________________
Gerard McDonald
Assistant Deputy Minister
Safety and Security
Transport Canada
_____________________
Date

ANNEX A
TRANSITIONAL ITEMS

The purpose of Annex A is to coordinate the effective and efficient transfer of responsibilities from the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities to the NEB.

1. TC and the NEB agree to:

  1. 1.1. Continue to fulfill their respective mandates and to effectively communicate throughout the transition of responsibilities; and
  2. 1.2. Examine and pursue areas or opportunities where training and technical cooperation and collaboration would be beneficial.

ANNEX B
SHARING OF INFORMATION

The purpose of Annex B is to facilitate the ongoing sharing of information between the NEB and TC following the transfer of responsibilities from the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities to the NEB.

1. To the extent it is permitted by law, including the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act:

  1. 1.1 TC agrees to retain and, on an as requested basis, provide the NEB with copies of records related to watercourse crossings by NEB regulated facilities, including past decisions issued by TC under sections 58.29 and 108 of the NEBA, as well as past decisions issued by TC under the NWPA for pipelines subject to the COGOA.
  2. 1.2 TC and the NEB agree to consult the other Party prior to any change in established policies, and procedures as they relate to pipelines and power lines that pass in, on, over, under, through or across navigable waters, as applicable.

ANNEX C
ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES
and SUPPORT ARRANGEMENT
FOR PIPELINES AND POWER LINES
SUBJECT TO THE NEBA

The purpose of Annex C is to outline the roles and responsibilities for NEB and TC in various project scenarios for pipelines and power lines subject to the NEBA following the transfer of responsibilities from the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities to the NEB.

1. TC and the NEB agree to:

  • 1.1. Work collaboratively to resolve questions concerning potential regulatory overlap.
  • 1.2. Refer stakeholders and Aboriginal groups to convey Project-related concerns to the NEB.
  • 1.3. The NEB’s role and responsibilities are outlined generally in the following scenarios:

    Construction of a temporary or permanent work (i.e. bridge, or water intake structure) associated with, but not necessarily physically connected to, the construction of a pipeline or power line; or

    Construction of a temporary or permanent work (i.e. bridge, or support structure) connected to a pipeline or power line that is under the responsibility of the NEB.
    • If a work is proposed by the pipeline or power line proponent and is physically or operationally connected to the pipeline or power line, it is under the responsibility of the NEB.
  • Works at a Marine Terminal
    • If a work at a Marine Terminal is proposed by the pipeline proponent and is physically or operationally connected to the pipeline it is under the responsibility of the NEB.

2. The NEB agrees to:

  • 2.1 Notify TC of projects received by NEB that involve the following issues:
    • Non Horizontal Directional Drilling (HDD) crossings on waterbodies with known commercial traffic; and
    • Other maritime matters under the responsibility of TC.
Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l'Office national de l'énergie est devenu la Régie de l'énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d'information sur la mise en oeuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l'énergie

Protocole d’entente entre Transports Canada et l’Office national de l’énergie concernant les pipelines et lignes de transport d’électricité assujettis à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada

Protocole d’entente entre Transports Canada et l’Office national de l’énergie concernant les pipelines et lignes de transport d’électricité assujettis à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada [PDF 4604 ko]

ATTENDU QUE l’Office national de l’énergie est un tribunal administratif quasi judiciaire qui a des compétences de nature réglementaire à l’égard des productoducs, oléoducs et gazoducs interprovinciaux et internationaux, des lignes de transport d’électricité internationales et des lignes de transport d’électricité interprovinciales désignées en vertu de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (LONÉ) et relatives aux évaluation environnementales selon la LONÉ et la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) [LCÉE (2012)];

ATTENDU QUE le ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités a des compétences, dont celles d’assurer la protection de la navigation et de promouvoir la navigation sécuritaire en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables (LPEN) qui, par suite de modifications apportées par la Loi sur l’emploi et la croissance économique de 2012, sera renommée la Loi sur la protection de la navigation (LPN);

ATTENDU QUE, conformément à la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable, les compétences relatives à l’autorisation des pipelines et des lignes de transport d’électricité assujettis à la LONÉ qui passent dans, sur, au-dessus, en-dessous ou à travers les eaux navigables sont transférées à l’Office;

ATTENDU QUE, conformément à la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable, les compétences relatives à l’autorisation des pipelines assujettis à la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada (LOPC) qui passent dans, sur, au-dessus, en-dessous ou à travers les eaux navigables qui étaient auparavant autorisés en vertu de la LPEN sont transférées à l’Office;

ATTENDU QUE, conformément à la LCÉE (2012), l’Office est une autorité responsable et TC, une autorité fédérale à l’égard d’un projet et qu’une évaluation environnementale est requise à l’égard des projets désignés dans le Règlement désignant les activités concrètes;

ATTENDU QUE le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à entreprendre un processus de consultation précoce, efficace et significatif des groupes autochtones au sujet de la conduite que l’État entend adopter et qui est susceptible d’avoir des incidences négatives sur des droits ancestraux ou issus de traités potentiels ou établis en vertu de l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982;

ATTENDU QU’aux termes du Plan d’action économique du Canada, le Développement responsable des ressources comprend la simplification des examens des grands projets, l’amélioration constante de la coordination et l’élimination des doubles emplois afin d’exploiter le potentiel des ressources du Canada;

ATTENDU QUE les parties se sont engagées à assurer la protection de la navigation et à promouvoir la navigation sécuritaire et s’emploieront à coordonner d’une manière efficace et efficiente le transfert des compétences relatives à l’autorisation des pipelines et des lignes de transport d’électricité assujettis à la LONÉ et des pipelines relevant de la LOPC qui passent dans, sur, au-dessus, en-dessous ou à travers les eaux navigables, du ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités à l’Office;

À CES CAUSES, les parties au présent protocole d’entente s’engagent à s’acquitter d’une manière efficace et, s’il y a lieu, coordonnée de leurs responsabilités à l’égard des projets, et conviennent à cette fin de ce qui suit :

1. OBJECTIFS

Les objectifs du présent protocole d’entente sont de :

  • Coordonner d’une manière efficace et efficiente le transfert des compétences (Dispositions transitoires);
  • Définir les compétences des deux parties (Compétences);
  • Établir le mode de partage de l’information entre l’Office et TC (Partage de l’information);
  • Définir le processus permettant à l’Office de bénéficier des connaissances spécialisées de TC.

2. INTERPRÉTATION

2.1. Le présent protocole d’entente :

  • est un document public qui doit être lu et interprété conformément à toutes les lois applicables;
  • ne crée pas de nouveaux pouvoirs ou obligations et ne modifie en rien la compétence, les pouvoirs et les obligations des parties;
  • vise uniquement les pipelines et les lignes de transport d’électricité assujettis à la LONÉ;
  •  vise uniquement les pipelines assujettis à la LOPC.

3. CONTEXTE

3.1. Par suite de modifications apportées à la LONÉ, le ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités n’aura plus la compétence pour autoriser les pipelines et les lignes de transport d’électricité assujettis à la LONÉ qui passent dans, sur, au-dessus, en-dessous ou à travers les eaux navigables et, par suite de modifications apportées à la LOPC, le ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités n’aura plus la compétence pour accorder des autorisations, en vertu de la LPEN, à l’égard des pipelines assujettis à la LOPC qui passent dans, sur, au-dessus, en-dessous ou à travers les eaux navigables. Le mandat de l’Office se rapporte à la protection de l’environnement ainsi qu’à la sûreté, la sécurité et l’efficience économique des pipelines et des lignes de transport d’électricité qu’il réglemente. Cela consiste à établir un équilibre entre la nécessité de construire des pipelines et des lignes de transport d’électricité qui passent dans, sur, au-dessus, en-dessous ou à travers les eaux navigables tout en assurant la protection de la navigation et faisant la promotion de la navigation sécuritaire. Dans le contexte du présent protocole d’entente, le mandat de TC consiste à apporter son soutien à l’Office, par l’entremise de son processus d’examen public des demandes d’autorisation ou à la demande de l’Office, en partageant ses connaissances spécialisées sur des scénarios complexes relatifs à l’emplacement, à la construction et à la signalisation des ouvrages dans, sur, au-dessus, en-dessous ou à travers les eaux navigables.

3.2. Le Guide de dépôt de l’Office renferme des indications à l’intention des demandeurs sur les types d’informations dont les membres de l’Office ont besoin pour rendre des décisions.

4. DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES

4.1. L’annexe A établit les procédures et les processus qui doivent être appliqués durant la période de transition pour réaliser le transfert de compétences du ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités à l’Office en vue de l’administration des questions touchant la navigation en vertu de la LONÉ et de la LOPC.

5. PARTAGE DE L’INFORMATION

5.1. L’annexe B expose la marche à suivre qui sera adoptée pour assurer le partage de l’information entre les parties une fois le transfert des compétences effectués.

6. COMPÉTENCES et ACCORD DE SOUTIEN

6.1. L’annexe C définit les compétences à l’égard des divers scénarios entourant les projets.

7. ACCORD DE RECOUVREMENT DES FRAIS ET DE SOUTIEN

7.1. Le présent protocole d’entente ou ses annexes n’imposent aucune obligation de fournir un financement à l’une ou l’autre des parties au-delà de l’acquittement des attributions de chaque organisation.

7.2. Sous réserve des paragraphes 7.3 et 7.4, chaque partie assume les frais qu’elle a engagés pour la mise en œuvre du présent protocole d’entente.

7.3. Sous réserve de la disponibilité des ressources, TC prêtera assistance à l’Office en matière de formation ou pour d’autres besoins liés à la navigation. L’Office s’engage à payer à TC les frais de déplacement engagés par des employés de TC à cette fin.

7.4. Lorsque des conseils techniques ou un soutien de TC sont exigés par l’Office pour une longue période, les parties peuvent conclure un accord d’échange ou autre affectation aux fins du recouvrement des frais. Les parties s’entendent sur la durée de ces échanges et affectations et peuvent les prolonger pour des périodes plus ou moins longues.

8. REPRÉSENTANT DÉSIGNÉ

8.1. Aux fins d’administration, les représentants désignés de chacune des parties sont les personnes ci-dessous.

Office national de l’énergie

Jamie Kereliuk
Chef de secteur, Demandes
444, Septième Avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta)
T2P 0X8

Transports Canada

Catherine Higgens
Directrice générale, Programmes de gérance et de transport durable
Transports Canada
330, rue Sparks
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0N5

Donald Roussel
Directeur général, Sécurité et sûreté maritimes
Transports Canada
330, rue Sparks
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0N5

9. DATE DE PRISE D’EFFET, MODIFICATION ET RÉSILIATION

9.1. Le présent protocole d’entente prend effet à la date de sa signature par les deux parties et demeure en vigueur jusqu’à ce qu’il soit résilié par l’une des parties. Les parties peuvent résilier le présent protocole d’entente au moyen d’un avis écrit de 60 jours signifié à l’autre partie.

9.2. Le présent protocole d’entente peut être modifié en tout temps avec l’accord mutuel écrit des représentants désignés.

9.3. Tout annexe au présent protocole d’entente peut être ajouté ou modifié en tout temps avec l’accord mutuel écrit des représentants désignés.

9.4. Les parties réviseront le présent protocole d’entente un an après sa prise d’effet et au moins une fois tous les trois ans par la suite, ou plus souvent si des modifications sont apportées aux lois applicables pertinentes.

Approuvé par :

_______________________________
Sandy Lapointe
Chef de la stratégie, Réglementation
Office national de l’énergie
_____________________
Date
_______________________________
Helena Borges
Sous-ministre adjointe
Programmes
Transports Canada
_____________________
Date
_______________________________
Gerard McDonald
Sous-ministre adjoint
Sécurité et sûreté
Transports Canada
_____________________
Date

ANNEXE A
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES

L’annexe A vise à coordonner de manière efficace et efficiente le transfert des compétences du ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités à l’Office.

1. TC et l’Office s’engagent à ce qui suit :

  1. 1.1. Continuer de remplir leurs mandats respectifs et communiquer de manière efficace tout au long du transfert de compétences;
  2. 1.2. Examiner et exploiter les domaines ou occasions où la coopération et la collaboration en matière de formation seraient avantageuses.

ANNEXE B
PARTAGE DE L’INFORMATION

L’annexe B vise à faciliter le partage continu de l’information entre l’Office et TC après le transfert des compétences du ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités à l’Office.

1. Dans la mesure permise par la loi, ce qui comprend la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels :

  1. 1.1 TC s’engage à conserver et, sur demande, à fournir à l’Office des copies de ses dossiers sur les franchissements de cours d’eau par des installations réglementées par l’Office, y compris des décisions passées rendues par TC en vertu des articles 58.29 et 108 de la LONÉ, ainsi que des décisions passées rendues par TC aux termes de la LPEN à l’égard de pipelines assujettis à la LOPC.
  2. 1.2 TC et l’Office s’engagent à se consulter avant de modifier leurs politiques et leurs procédures établies qui touchent les pipelines et les lignes de transport d’électricité passant dans, sur, au-dessus, en-dessous ou à travers les eaux navigables, le cas échéant

ANNEXE C
COMPÉTENCES ET ACCORD DE SOUTIEN
À L’ÉGARD DES PIPELINES ET
LIGNES DE TRANSPORT D’ÉLECTRICITÉ
ASSUJETTIS À LA L'ONÉ

L’annexe C vise à définir les compétences de l’Office et de TC relativement aux divers scénarios visant les pipelines et les lignes de transport d’électricité assujettis à la LONÉ après le transfert des compétences du ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités à l’Office.

1. TC et l’Office s’engagent à ce qui suit :

  • 1.1. Collaborer en vue de résoudre les enjeux soulevés relativement à un possible chevauchement de la réglementation.
  • 1.2. Consulter les parties prenantes et les groupes autochtones pour qu’ils puissent faire part à l’Office de leurs préoccupations à l’égard des projets.
  • 1.3. Le rôle de l’Office et ses responsabilités sont définis de façon générale dans les scénarios suivants

    La construction d’un ouvrage temporaire ou permanent (c.-à-d. un pont ou une prise d’eau) se rattachant à la construction d’un pipeline ou d’une ligne de transport d’électricité, mais pas nécessairement raccordé physiquement à ceux-ci;


    La construction d’un ouvrage temporaire ou permanent (c.-à-d. un pont ou une structure de soutien) raccordé à un pipeline ou à une ligne de transport d’électricité réglementé par l’Office.
    • Si un ouvrage est proposé par le promoteur du pipeline ou de la ligne de transport d’électricité et qu’il est raccordé, physiquement ou au plan opérationnel, au pipeline ou à la ligne de transport d’électricité, il relève de l’Office.

  • Ouvrages à un terminal maritime
    • Si un ouvrage à un terminal maritime est proposé par le promoteur du pipeline et qu’il est raccordé, physiquement ou au plan opérationnel, au pipeline, il relève de l’Office.

2. L’Office s’engage à ce qui suit :

  • 2.1 Informer TC des projets qui lui sont soumis comportant les éléments suivants :
    • les croisements sans forage directionnel à l’horizontale (FDH) de cours d’eau où il est connu qu’il y a un trafic commercial;
    • d’autres enjeux maritimes de la responsabilité de TC.
Date de modification :