On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Frequently Asked Questions: Filing Requirements for Onshore Drilling Operations Involving Hydraulic Fracturing

The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) published the Arctic Offshore Drilling Review (Arctic Review) report in December 2011 after consultation with Northerners, environmental groups, industry and other stakeholders. During the course of the Arctic Review, the NEB heard that additional clarity was sought on the issue of Hydraulic Fracturing in regions covered by the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA).

These Filing Requirements address the unique aspects of hydraulic fracturing within the NEB’s mandate under the COGOA to promote safety, environmental protection, and the conservation of oil and gas resources for onshore drilling and production in the North.

  1. What is hydraulic fracturing?
  2. What is the role of the National Energy Board when it comes to regulating hydraulic fracturing in Canada?
  3. Why have these Filing Requirements been created?
  4. Does the NEB conduct an environmental assessment (EA) for applications involving hydraulic fracturing?
  5. What additives are typically used in hydraulic fracturing?
  6. Does the NEB expect applicants to disclose the chemicals used during the hydraulic fracturing process?
  7. Were any public consultations conducted in the development of these Filing Requirements?
  8. Did the NEB consider similar guidelines already in place when developing these Filing Requirements?
  9. When will these Filing Requirements begin to take effect?

1. What is hydraulic fracturing?

Hydraulic fracturing typically includes a well-stimulation process in which fluids (typically water), proppant (typically sand) and additives are pumped under high pressure into a hydrocarbon-bearing formation. The fluid pressure creates fractures in the formation and the fluid transports the proppant into the fractures. The proppant keeps the fractures open and allows the hydrocarbons to flow from the formation to the wellbore.

2. What is the role of the National Energy Board when it comes to regulating hydraulic fracturing in Canada?

The National Energy Board has regulatory responsibilities for oil and gas exploration and production activities under the COGOA. This includes the drilling, completions, hydraulic fracturing and formation flow testing and production from onshore unconventional reservoirs.

The NEB does not administer:

  • Exploration licenses, significant discovery licenses, or production licenses;
  • Royalty management; and/or
  • Benefit plans.

Applicants should contact Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada or Natural Resources Canada for further information on these processes.

The NEB does not have jurisdiction over onshore hydraulic fracturing in any of the provinces. Questions relating to provincial hydraulic fracturing requirements and regulations should be directed to the appropriate provincial authority.

3. Why have these Filing Requirements been created?

These Filing Requirements outline the information an Applicant will need to provide in order for the Board to assess applications for hydraulic fracturing. They should be used in all cases where proposed work or activity requiring an Operations Authorization (OA) involves hydraulic fracturing.

The Board may also ask for any additional information it deems relevant over and above the Filing Requirements. It may exclude certain sections of the Filing Requirements that don’t apply to a particular project.

The Board is committed to continually improving its regulatory process and does not view these requirements to be static. The Filing Requirements will be updated periodically to reflect any relevant changes around the practice of hydraulic fracturing so that Board decisions on COGOA-regulated activities continue to promote safety, protection of the environment and conservation of oil and gas resources in the North.

4. Does the NEB conduct an environmental assessment (EA) for applications involving hydraulic fracturing?

The NEB conducts its own assessment of applications involving hydraulic fracturing. An EA must be completed before a COGOA authorization can be issued. The NEB also coordinates EAs with the northern boards or committees established by the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act, the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, and the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.

A company’s application for an OA involving hydraulic fracturing contains information that the NEB uses to conduct its EA. This includes:

  • The project development;
  • Potential impacts to the environment;
  • Potential impacts from accidents and malfunctions;
  • Consultation with Aboriginal groups and the public;
  • Socio-economic impacts arising from environmental impacts; and
  • Mitigation measures that will be in place to protect the environment.

The Board has the authority to reject an application or ask for additional detail if they feel the information submitted as a part of the project description is inadequate or incomplete.

5. What additives are typically used in hydraulic fracturing?

Typical additives used could include:

  • friction reducers to allow fracture fluids to be injected at optimum rates and pressures by minimizing friction;
  • biocides to prevent growth of microorganism;
  • corrosion inhibitors to protect the wellbore;
  • gelling agent to increase fracturing fluid viscosity, allowing the fluid to carry more proppant into the fracture; and
  • clay stabilizer to prevent swelling.

6. Does the NEB expect applicants to disclose the chemicals used during the hydraulic fracturing process?

Yes. The NEB expects companies to disclose the chemicals they use. Companies must indicate their willingness to publicly disclose the chemical composition of hydraulic fracture fluids as a part of any application for an OA involving hydraulic fracturing.

7. Were any public consultations conducted in the development of these Filing Requirements?

The National Energy Board undertook extensive engagement in the past two and a half years. This engagement focussed on how the NEB regulates hydraulic fracturing. NEB staff participated in over 20 sessions with communities, land claim organizations, elders, youth, legislators, federal and territorial government departments and regulated companies.

Throughout our northern engagement activities, the Board found themes of concern regarding hydraulic fracturing that fall under its jurisdiction including:

  • Groundwater contamination (Section 4.4.1);
  • Surface water contamination (Section 3.10);
  • Reluctance of industry to disclose chemical additives (Section 3.10);
  • Inter-well communication and spill risk (Sections 4.5.2 and 6.0);
  • Air emissions as a result of development (Section 3.10);
  • Induced earthquakes (Section 4.3.4);

All of the concerns outlined above are all addressed in these Filing Requirements.

8. Did the NEB consider similar guidelines already in place when developing these Filing Requirements?

Unconventional oil and gas exploration and development, including horizontal, multi-stage hydraulic fracturing, occur regularly in Canadian jurisdictions including British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan. Some other jurisdictions currently have moratoriums on the practice pending further studies.

In preparing the Filing Requirements for Onshore Drilling Operations Involving Hydraulic Fracturing, the NEB reviewed a number of studies and regulatory documents from different jurisdictions.

9. When will these Filing Requirements begin to take effect?

Companies will be required to begin following these Filing Requirements immediately when applying for any operations authorization involving hydraulic fracturing. The Board expects Applicants to clearly demonstrate how they meet all the requirements prior to issuing an authorization.

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Foire aux questions : Exigences de dépôt relatives aux opérations de forage sur terre utilisant la fracturation hydraulique

Après sa revue des forages extracôtiers dans l’Arctique, au cours de laquelle il a consulté les gens du Nord, les groupes environnementaux, l’industrie et d’autres parties prenantes, l’Office national de l’énergie a publié un rapport en décembre 2011. Au cours de la revue du dossier Arctique, des intervenants ont dit à l’Office qu’il fallait être plus clair au sujet de la fracturation hydraulique dans les régions visées par la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada (LOPC).

Ces exigences de dépôt, visant certains aspects propres à la fracturation hydraulique, s’inscrivent dans le mandat conféré à l’Office par la LOPC, qui consiste à promouvoir la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et la conservation des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord dans le contexte de forages de production sur la terre ferme.

  1. Qu’est-ce que la fracturation hydraulique?
  2. Quel est le rôle de l’Office lorsqu’il s’agit de fracturation hydraulique au Canada?
  3. Pourquoi avoir créé ces exigences de dépôt?
  4. Est-ce que l’Office effectue une évaluation environnementale en présence de demandes prévoyant la fracturation hydraulique?
  5. Quels sont les additifs habituellement utilisés en fracturation hydraulique?
  6. Est-ce que l’Office s’attend que le demandeur rende publics les produits chimiques utilisés pendant le processus de fracturation hydraulique?
  7. Y a-t-il eu des consultations publiques pour l’élaboration de ces exigences de dépôt?
  8. Est-ce que l’Office a consulté des lignes directrices semblables qui existaient déjà au moment d’élaborer ces exigences de dépôt?
  9. À quel moment ces exigences de dépôt entreront-elles en vigueur?

1. Qu’est-ce que la fracturation hydraulique?

La fracturation hydraulique est une méthode comportant généralement un processus de stimulation de puits qui consiste à pomper des fluides (habituellement de l’eau), un agent de soutènement (habituellement du sable) et des additifs sous haute pression dans une formation pétrolifère. La pression du fluide crée des fractures dans la formation alors qu’il achemine l’agent de soutènement dans ces fractures. L’agent de soutènement maintient les fractures ouvertes et permet l’écoulement des hydrocarbures de la formation jusqu’au trou de forage.

2. Quel est le rôle de l’Office lorsqu’il s’agit de fracturation hydraulique au Canada?

L’Office a des responsabilité de nature réglementaire à l’égard des activités d’exploration et de production de pétrole et de gaz en vertu de la LOPC, notamment pour ce qui est des forages et de la complétion des puits, de la fracturation hydraulique et des essais d’écoulement de formation ainsi que de la production en ce qui concerne les gisements d’hydrocarbures non classiques sur la terre ferme.

Il n’incombe pas à l’Office d’administrer les aspects suivants :

  • les licences d’exploration ou de production et les attestations de découverte importante;
  • les redevances;
  • les plans de retombées économiques.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ces aspects, les demandeurs sont priés de communiquer avec Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada ou Ressources naturelles Canada.

La fracturation hydraulique sur la terre ferme dans les différentes provinces n’est pas du ressort de l’Office et les questions sur les exigences à ce niveau doivent être adressées aux autorités provinciales compétentes.

3. Pourquoi avoir créé ces exigences de dépôt?

Ces exigences précisent les informations que le demandeur devra fournir pour que l’Office examine son projet de fracturation hydraulique. Elles devraient toujours être consultées quand des travaux nécessitant une autorisation d’opérations avec fracturation sont proposés.

L’Office peut aussi demander des renseignements complémentaires à ceux prévus dans les exigences de dépôt s’il le juge approprié. Il peut aussi exclure certaines sections des exigences qui ne s’appliquent pas au projet.

L’Office est déterminé à sans cesse améliorer ses processus réglementaires et ne considère pas ses exigences comme statiques. Les exigences de dépôt seront mises à jour périodiquement pour tenir compte de l’évolution des pratiques en fracturation hydraulique afin que les décisions de l’Office visant des activités réglementées aux termes de la LOPC continuent de promouvoir la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et la conservation des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord.

4. Est-ce que l’Office effectue une évaluation environnementale en présence de demandes prévoyant la fracturation hydraulique?

L’Office mène sa propre évaluation des demandes prévoyant la fracturation hydraulique. Un projet ne peut être autorisé suivant la LOPC tant qu’une évaluation environnementale n’a pas été effectuée. En outre, l’Office coordonne les évaluations environnementales avec les organismes ou les comités du Nord créés en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie, de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit et de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut.

Une demande d’autorisation d’opérations prévoyant la fracturation hydraulique doit nécessairement comprendre l’information dont l’Office a besoin pour effectuer son évaluation environnementale, notamment :

  • le plan de mise en valeur du projet;
  • les incidences éventuelles sur l’environnement;
  • les incidences éventuelles à la suite d’un accident ou d’une défaillance;
  • les résultats des consultations menées auprès des groupes autochtones et du public;
  • les répercussions socioéconomiques des incidences environnementales;
  • les mesures d’atténuation qui seront mises en place pour protéger l’environnement.

L’Office a le pouvoir de rejeter une demande ou de demander des détails supplémentaires s’il est d’avis que l’information produite dans la description de projet ne répond pas à ses besoins ou est incomplète.

5. Quels sont les additifs habituellement utilisés en fracturation hydraulique?

Les additifs suivants comptent parmi ceux typiquement utilisés :

  • des agents réducteurs de frottement pour permettre aux fluides de fracturation d’être injectés de la meilleure façon possible aux pressions optimales;
  • des biocides pour empêcher la croissance de micro-organismes;
  • des inhibiteurs de corrosion pour protéger le trou de forage;
  • des gélifiants pour accroître la viscosité des fluides de fracturation et leur permettre d’acheminer une plus grande quantité d’agent de soutènement dans la fracture;
  • un stabilisateur argileux pour éviter l’expansion.

6. Est-ce que l’Office s’attend que le demandeur rende publics les produits chimiques utilisés pendant le processus de fracturation hydraulique?

Oui, l’Office s’attend des sociétés qu’elles rendent publics les produits chimiques utilisés. Elles doivent préciser dans leur demande d’autorisation d’opérations qu’elles sont disposées à dévoiler la composition chimique des fluides de fracturation hydraulique, le cas échéant.

7. Y a-t-il eu des consultations publiques pour l’élaboration de ces exigences de dépôt?

L’Office a favorisé une participation à grande échelle depuis deux ans et demi, en particulier sur la façon dont il devrait réglementer la fracturation hydraulique. Des membres de son personnel ont pris part à plus de 20 rencontres avec différentes collectivités et des organisations de revendication territoriale, des aînés, des jeunes, des législateurs, des ministères des gouvernements territoriaux et fédéral et des sociétés réglementées.

Dans le cadre des rencontres précitées dans le Nord, l’Office a pu dégager certaines préoccupations récurrentes par rapport à la fracturation hydraulique de son ressort, notamment :

  • la contamination des eaux souterraines (section 4.4.1);
  • la contamination des eaux de ruissellement (section 3.10);
  • l’hésitation de l’industrie à rendre publics les additifs chimiques utilisés (section 3.10);
  • la communication entre les puits et le risque de déversement (sections 4.5.2 et 6.0);
  • les émissions atmosphériques découlant des activités de mise en valeur (section 3.10);
  • le déclenchement de tremblements de terre (section 4.3.4).

Les exigences de dépôt tiennent compte de toutes ces préoccupations.

8. Est-ce que l’Office a consulté des lignes directrices semblables qui existaient déjà au moment d’élaborer ces exigences de dépôt?

L’exploration et la mise en valeur de gisements de pétrole et de gaz non classiques, notamment en ayant recours à la fracturation hydraulique horizontale en plusieurs étapes, est déjà pratique courante au Canada, notamment en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, alors que dans d’autres provinces, des moratoriums ont été imposés en attendant les résultats de nouvelles études.

Au moment de préparer les Exigences de dépôt relatives aux opérations de forage sur terre utilisant la fracturation hydraulique, l’Office s’est penché sur un certain nombre d’études et de documents de réglementation produits en divers endroits.

9. À quel moment ces exigences de dépôt entreront-elles en vigueur?

Les sociétés devront respecter ces exigences de dépôt au moment de tout dépôt de demande d’autorisation d’opérations prévoyant la fracturation hydraulique. Avant d’accorder son autorisation, l’Office s’attend des demandeurs qu’ils fassent clairement la preuve que toutes les exigences imposées sont respectées.

Date de modification :