National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations

The National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR) are made under the National Energy Board Act. Companies are responsible for meeting the requirements of the OPR to manage safety, security and environmental protection throughout the entire lifecycle of their facilities, from design, through to construction, operation and abandonment.

Regulations

National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations - SOR/99-294

New: Section 47.2 Damage Prevention Program and related amendments to section 55(1) (in force on 19 June 2016).

Related Orders

Guidance

OPR Guidance Notes

The OPR Guidance Notes are provided to assist interested parties in understanding the requirements of the OPR.

Audit Protocol

The NEB utilizes an audit protocol when conducting audits of a company’s obligations pursuant to the NEB Act and related regulations.

Accountable Officer Appointment and Notification

Pursuant to section 6.2 of the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR), a company must appoint an accountable officer who has the authority over the company’s human and financial resources required to establish, implement and maintain its management system and protection programs, and to ensure that the company meets its obligations for safety, security and protection of the environment.

A company has 30 days to notify the NEB of the name of its accountable officer after the appointment is made. The accountable officer must also submit a signed statement accepting the responsibilities of the position. This requirement is in effect for all NEB-regulated companies. For information on how to select the accountable officer, and suggested template letters, please see Company Submission Requirements.

Forms and Templates

Pressure Vessels and Equipment

Decommissioning

ARCHIVED - Onshore Pipeline Regulations

Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur les pipelines terrestres, ordonnances et orientation

Le Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (le RPT) est pris aux termes de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie. Les sociétés doivent répondre aux exigences du RPT en matière de gestion de la sécurité, de la sûreté et de la protection de l’environnement à toutes les étapes du cycle de vie de leurs installations, de la conception, en passant par la construction et l’exploitation, jusqu’à la cessation de cette exploitation.

Règlements

Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur les pipelines terrestres - DORS/99-294

Nouvel article 47.2 Programme de prévention des dommages et amendement à l’article 55 (en vigueur en date du 19 juin 2016).

Ordonnances connexes

Orientation

Notes d'orientation sur le RPT

Les Notes d'orientation du RPT à aider les parties intéressées à comprendre les exigences du RPT.

Protocole d'audit

L’ONÉ utilise un protocole d’audit lorsqu’il effectue des vérifications quant à la conformité d’une société aux obligations découlant de la Loi et de ses règlements d’application.

Nomination d’un dirigeant responsable et notification

Selon l’article 6.2 du RPT, la société doit nommer un dirigeant responsable ayant autorité sur les ressources humaines et financières qui sont requises pour établir, mettre en œuvre et maintenir le système de gestion et les programmes de protection de la société et pour faire en sorte que la société respecte ses obligations en matière de sécurité, de sûreté et de protection de l’environnement.

La société doit communiquer à l’Office le nom du dirigeant responsable dans les 30 jours suivant la nomination. Le dirigeant responsable doit en outre présenter à l’Office une déclaration signée par laquelle il accepte les responsabilités de son poste. Cette exigence vise toutes les sociétés réglementées par l’Office. Pour obtenir des renseignements au sujet de la façon de choisir le dirigeant responsable et pour consulter les modèles de lettre proposés, voir les Exigences pour le dépôt par une société.

Formulaires et modèles de lettres

Équipement et appareils sous pression

Désaffectation

ARCHIVÉ - Règlement sur les pipelines terrestres

Date de modification :